Subject Guides: Government and Political Science: U.S. Congress

Related Guides

Text: (571) 248-7542

Email Me

Subjects: International Studies

Congressional Roll Call
AU Library has PRINT editions from 1969 to present. Updated: Annually.
Call number: JK1001 .C6.
Present the summary of each member's vote in every roll call vote taken in the U.S. House and Senate for that year. From CQ Press.

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
CQ Almanac provides narrative accounts of significant legislation considered by the United States Congress. Coverage begins in 1945 (79th Congress) and included roll call votes for all major legislation.
CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
Profiles of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior and interest group ratings,as well as information on key votes, the legislative process, and public policy legislation.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press books: Politics in America (2000 to 2018); Washington Information Directory; Congress and the Nation (1945 to present); Political Handbook of the World (2005 to present); Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 to present); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Historic Documents (1972 to present).
CQ Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new window
Analysis and statistics on U.S. presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Formerly CQ Weekly. Comprehensive source for coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon.

FollowTheMoney (free resource)
Shows the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states. From the National Institute on Money in State Politics.
GovTrack.us (free resource)
Web site tracking the activities in the U.S. Congress,

National Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Web-enhanced premier journal on public policy and politics covering all branches of government with past issues back to 2008. Includes the National Journal Daily, The Hotline, Daybook, [Election] Race Tracker, and an Almanac of American Politics,

OpenSecrets.org (free resource)
Web site tracking the influence of money on U.S. politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives. From the Center for Responsive Politics.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Contains documents published by Congress including hearings, floor debates, bill text, legislative histories, and reports from the Congressional Research Service. Dates vary by publication and range from 1789-present.
This resource was made possible in part through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.

Congress.gov (free resource)
Official website for the status of legislation run by the Library of Congress.