Government and Political Science

Encyclopedias are an excellent source for providing an overview of a topic or field of study, factual information, and definitions of critical concepts. It is often a good starting point for research.

The links to some of the below titles will be added soon.

Political Theory

• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Critical Theory (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Governance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  SAGE, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. AU Library has online edition.

U.S. Politics and Government

• Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3 vols. Sharpe Reference, 2000. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Guide to the United States Government (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2002. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online and print editions.

World Politics and Government

• A Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 1998. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Oxford Companion to Australian Politics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• Political Parties of the World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6^th ed., John Harper, 2005. AU Library has online edition.