Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index is an index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals from 1991 to present. Born of the New Left, it was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
The Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
To limit search to only one of the collections, once on the EBSCO search screen, click on the link above the search box to "Choose Databases", then deselect the other collection.
**Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 1,000+ film scripts from 1903 to 2006, with PDF versions as available. Includes the ability to search by writer, director, scene, race, nationality, age, subject, year of writing, and other elements.
American History in Video (North America) This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 5,700 documentaries and newsreels on American history, each accompanied by a transcript. There are film clippings from as early as 1898. Includes newsreels from United News (1942 to 1946) and Universal (1929 to 1967). Transcripts of all programs provided.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and citation information from over 1,700 scholarly arts and humanities journals from around the world.
Once on the Web of Science Core Collection page, select Arts & Humanities Citation Index in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
Atlanta Constitution - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.
BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Twenty Shakespeare plays available for instant streaming.
British Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
British Humanities Index covers more than 320 humanities journals, weekly magazines, and newspapers published in the United Kingdom and other English-speaking countries.
California Newsreel This link opens in a new window
110 films from the California Newsreel (CN) catalog. CN produces and distributes cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Founded in 1968, CN is the oldest non-profit, social issue documentary film center in the country, the first to combine media production and contemporary social movements. The streaming collection contains such high use titles as Color Adjustment, Ethnic Notions, and Race: The Power of an Illusion.
Chicago Tribune - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
Dissertations and Theses (American University-authored) This link opens in a new window
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of 25+ major trade and consumer magazines related to film, theater, music and general entertainment industry. Provides complete runs of magazines from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and Broadcasting & Cable.
Ethnographic Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 ethnographic films with transcripts. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Transcripts of all programs provided.
FIAF International Film Archive This link opens in a new window
The FIAF International Film Archive Database is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed, the Treasures from the Film Archives, the FIAF Affiliates Publications and the Film and TV Documentation Collections.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index (FLTI) is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more, as well as full text for more than 90 journals. The FLTI is a continuation of the Film Literature Index Online database and covers 1988 to the present.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
An index of articles from 150 film and television periodicals and 200 other periodicals. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Filmaker's Library This link opens in a new window
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 380 classic and contemporary feature films, spanning the silent era through contemporary international cinema. This collection of films covers classic and contemporary cinema from Africa, Asia (primarily China, Japan, and India), Europe (including Soviet films), Latin America, and the Middle East.
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This index of about 210 periodicals covers the variety of performing arts including dance, film, television, theater, and related subjects. As of Summer 2003, 36 of the periodicals contain full text articles back to 1998.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas.
Los Angeles Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Media History Digital Library contains digital scans of hundreds of thousands of magazine pages from thousands of issues from 1904 to 1963. This open-access collection is a rich resource for the study of the early years of film and radio, including practitioner and fan-oriented publications.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals, providing access to over 14 million article pages - representing over 2.8 million articles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online was formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). As of April 2010, Periodicals Index Online indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Published in 2000.
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
Washington Post - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2004.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.