Subject Guides: International Business: Core Databases

Business Librarian

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Core Databases

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.
Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Our subscription provides access to a suite of products from EIU, including Country Data, Country Analysis Reports, and Market Indicators and Forecasts.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.

Major NEWS Sources

Bloomberg.com This link opens in a new window
First time users: Create an account by visiting the Bloomberg registration page. Enter your @american.edu email address, then enter the verification code.
Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Registration required. Only current AU students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com **
** Note: There is a known issue where some registered users are unable to log in with SSO. In that case, visit ft.com in a clean browser, click on 'Sign In', enter your email address, then click on the 'Having problems logging in?' link. **
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Most recent 2 months of over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, many in foreign languages. All newspapers are in their entirety and are available on the day they are published.

Historic NEWS Sources

Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times provides international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis. This archive is a complete, fully searchable facsimile edition of the FT. It offers the complete run of the London edition of the newspaper, from its first issue to the end of 2021.
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.