Finance and Real Estate

Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.

This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Bringing together two formerly separate products - Accounting & Tax and Banking Information Source – this database provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more.

American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.

arXiv is an open access repository of pre-print (aka e-print) and white paper publications, primarily within physics, mathematics, statistics and computer science. Coverage dates back to 1991 and contains over 1 million e-print articles.

Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science, social science, and humanities books and their scholarly impact and influence. Book Citation Index has citation data from 2005 to present.

Full-text research reports, executive summaries, webcasts and podcasts on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. These reports include studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, and more. Full-text coverage begins with 1995 to the present.

Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.

Helps authors find information about journals in many science and social science fields. It includes two products, Journalytics and Predatory. Journalytics includes information about academic journals to help authors select a journal to publish in. Predatory includes information about possible predatory journal publishers to avoid.

Provides abstracts and full text from more than 500 full-text magazine, journal, and trade titles addressing all aspects of career studies.

Provides online access to full-text reviews and advice on consumer products and services. It is the online version of the print Consumer Reports magazine.

Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.

Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
 

Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.

The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Our authentication has been updated to SSO.  ** When visiting ft.com directly, click 'Sign In', and enter your @american.edu email address. Click 'Next' then 'SSO Sign In' and you will be routed through the AU Sign In page. **

Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.

Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**

Developed by the Cleantech Group, it provides updates on clean technology investments, IPOs, mergers, acquisitions, business relationships, and other financing activity.

Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.

Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.

American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.

Provides access to industry benchmarking data based on aggregated financial statements of public and private companies in 800 lines of business in Dun and Bradstreet’s (D&B) database. Features 14 key business ratios for the critical areas of business performance – solvency, efficiency and profitability. Ratios are arranged by the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.

An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.

Contains:
Mergent Manuals - Corporate Manuals 1909 to 2018, and Municipal Manuals 1918-2018. These were print volumes with company descriptions.
D&B (Dun & Bradstreet) Manuals - Key Business Ratios 1979 to 2018. These were benchmarks for public and private companies.
Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) 1959 to 2019. These were directories of America's leading corporations.
Annual Reports - covering over 100 years dating back to 1844.
CRB Commodity Yearbook Collection - 1939 to present. This has historical commodity prices.

Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.

Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online, which was discontinued in August 2025.

Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.

U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.

Provides industry norms for over 600 industries. Reports are broken down by asset range and region. Provides five years worth of data.

Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.

Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a financial information resource with access to S&P industry surveys. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage gives users access to a number of S&P's research products, including: Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.

The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.

Presents, in a series of question and answer formats, financial analyst and company CEO perspectives on a range of industry sectors relative to investment outlooks and financial performance. 
** Access to full content available only when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **

A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.

WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.