Provides abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Working papers are drafts that have not yet been published. Authors typically release working papers before they're officially published to share information and/or invite feedback. Economists often use working papers to quickly communicate research findings, as the editorial cycle for a peer-reviewed article can be quite long.
On June 30, 2024, the World Bank eLibrary subscription platform was discontinued. Content is available open access on the following platforms:
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Banks official open access repository from which anyone can access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.
Documents and Reports
Access all publicly disclosed project and institutional documents since 1946 made available in compliance with the World Banks Access to Information Policy.
World Bank Open Data portal
Access to global development data including World Development Indicators and hundreds of datasets, including embeddable data visualizations.
World Bank Group (WBG) Archives
The institutional memory of the WBG providing public access to its documentary heritage. Digitized materials and engaging discovery tools including Country Historical Profiles.
A collection of research and analysis in international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.Types of publications include working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.