Subject Guides: COMM 575: Advanced Writing for Documentary Film (Stogner): Background & Overview Sources

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

(202) 885-3787

Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Film, Media, and Television, Journalism, News & Newspapers

Hudson's Washington News Media Contacts Directory
The most important directory for media contacts in the Washington area. Includes: news services and newspapers; news service syndicates; DC newspapers, foreign newspapers; radio and TV; magazines and newsletters; freelance writers and photographers.
Gale Directory Library
Collection of directories, including the Encyclopedia of Associations, the Encyclopedia of Government Advisory Organizations, the Directory of Early Stage Investment, the Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, the Medical and Health Information Directory, and the National Faculty Directory.
Gale Literature Criticism
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works.
Includes:
Literature Criticism featuring Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, and more

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography are no longer be available as of October 31, 2025.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Gallup Brain
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll from 1935 to 2016.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection. Unfortunately, Gallup Brain is no longer available as of November 11, 2025.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
Hoover's
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**