Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).
ArchiveGrid is a database of archival finding aids from libraries, museums, and archives. It helps identify archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories and where they are.
** Currently, this database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
A collection of more than 5,700 documentaries and newsreels on American history, each accompanied by a transcript. There are film clippings from as early as 1898. Includes newsreels from United News (1942 to 1946) and Universal (1929 to 1967). Transcripts of all programs provided.
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
For best results, use the advanced search and limit by dates.
A few examples of historical newspapers covered by the AU Library's electronic subscriptions.
Emphasis on 20th-century historic newspapers. Coverage includes major American newspapers and prominent publications from underrepresented voices such as African American news, Jewish news, and publications covering gender issues.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports are U.S. government transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign countries. Annexes comprise an additional 7,000 transcripts to the Daily Reports. The modern successor to the FBIS Daily Reports is the World News Connection.
AP Images: Over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840s through today. Also includes maps, timelines, logos and graphs.
** This interface will be discontinued. Access to the AP Newsroom platform continues unchanged. **
