|
|
"The capstone project is the culmination of the master’s degree program in public communication at American University." - AU School of Communication website, 2012 Different capstone projects required different core sets of resources, from scholarly article databases and historical newspaper archives to statistical publications and Internet resources. Get to know your core resources early in the capstone process. |
For more database suggestions, see the News & Newspapers guide.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
Most recent 2 months of over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, many in foreign languages. All newspapers are in their entirety and are available on the day they are published.
Searches several Newsstream databases containing US, Canadian, and international newspapers from the 1980s to the present. Full-text articles from over 1,200 newspapers worldwide, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Also includes 85 newspapers from the company Gannett.
Updated daily.
For more database suggestions, see the Industry Research guide.
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Digital archive of facsimile editions of major trade and consumer magazines related to film, theater, music, television, and general entertainment industry.
Includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000; 10 long-running and highly influential magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture between 1905 and 2000; and 12 further major consumer and trade publications from the US and the UK on film and television, from 1907 to 2015.
Provides complete runs of magazines from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and Broadcasting & Cable, and the Hollywood Reporter to 2015.
For subject-specific database suggestions, browse the Library's databases by subject page.
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Indexing and abstracting of over 1800 journals in psychology, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations.
Note: To link out to ProQuest dissertations from search results, use the OpenURL link rather than 'Find It @ AU Library'.
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
