Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Education: Lives of students and their parents

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011

K-12 Lives of students and their parents

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org).

 

 

Bowling for Columbine. 2004. 1 videodisc (119 min.). The United States of America is notorious for its astronomical number of people killed by firearms for a developed nation without a civil war. With his signature sense of angry humor, activist filmmaker Michael Moore sets out to explore the roots of this bloodshed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 616

Consuming kids: The commercialization of childhood. 2008. 1 videodisc (72 min.). "Consuming Kids throws desperately needed light on the practices of a relentless multi-billion dollar marketing machine that now sells kids and their parents everything from junk food and violent video games to bogus educational products and the family car. Drawing on the insights of health care professionals, children's advocates, and industry insiders, the film focuses on the explosive growth of child marketing in the wake of deregulation, showing how youth marketers have used the latest advances in psychology, anthropology, and neuroscience to transform American children into one of the most powerful and profitable consumer demographics in the world. Consuming Kids pushes back against the wholesale commercialization of childhood, raising urgent questions about the ethics of children's marketing and its impact on the health and well-being of kids."--Container. DVD 5987

Emotional Development of Children. 1992. (17 min.). Parents and caregivers not only need to nurture the physical and intellectual development of young children, but their emotional development as well. Each stage of emotional development provides children with opportunities to explore new feelings as they grow. This program focuses on the importance of emotional education during the various stages of childhood development and explains how caregivers and parents can monitor this vital growth. A Meridian Production. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=11005

Frontrunners. 2008. 1 videodisc (81 min.). "The campaign for student body president at Stuyvesant, perhaps the most prestigious public high school in the country, is almost as sophisticated as any presidential election. Candidates must choose running mates, navigate primaries, write political platforms, perform in televised debates, shake as many hands as possible, and win newspaper endorsements. But unlike presidential candidates, they also have to do their homework, take their SATs, and write their college applications." -- Container. DVD 1754

The Gifted Child. 1997. (24 min.). When a child displays advanced skills in one or more areas of development, a special challenge is set before teachers, parents, and childcare providers alike. This program seeks to foster an understanding of gifted children by identifying their characteristics, addressing their educational needs, and recommending ways to enhance their development. A Meridian Production. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=11160

Hoop dreams. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2005. 1 videodisc (171 min.). This documentary follows two inner-city basketball phenoms' lives through high school as they chase their dreams of playing in the NBA. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1890 and HOME USE COLLECTION VHS 3425

Identity Crisis: Self-Image in Childhood. 2005. (60 min.). What shapes a child's identity-situation and surroundings, or unchangeable factors within the child? This program weighs in on that question by capturing the emotional and psychological development of 25 boys and girls at age five. In fascinating and sometimes disturbing scenes, the children reveal clear signals about their self-worth and their expectations for the future that bear strong connection to nationality, gender, skin color, economic class, and the presence or absence of either parent. Powerful in its social implications as well as its emotional impact, Identity Crisis brings vital documentation to the nature vs. nurture debate. A BBC/Open University Co-production. Original broadcast title: Identity Crisis. Part of the series Child of Our Time 2005. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=34648

It's elementary: Talking about gay issues in school ; includes new retrospective documentary It's still elementary. 2007. 2 videodiscs (115 min.). An exploration of what happens when experienced teachers talk to their students about lesbians and gay men. Students are asked to consider issues related to homosexuality at six elementary and middle schools. Footage of classroom activities and discussions are presented with students exploring questions and issues presented to them by teachers and guest lecturers who come into their classes. School-wide presentations, activity-days, and how these events affect faculty, parents and teachers are also discussed. DVD 4050 and VHS 4531

Killing Creativity: Are Schools or Parents to Blame? 2007. 1 (60 min.). If we're all born with creative potential, why do many children lose their inventive tendencies as they grow older? What role does organized education play? This program observes a group of 25 seven-year-olds and their families in order to study childhood creativity, why it frequently fades, and why it matters. Exploring the impact of school and whether or not it dampens the creative impulse, the program looks at ways adults can encourage and promote imagination, curiosity, and originality. In addition, the children take part in activities that reveal the precarious state of their natural ingenuity. They are asked to draw a man who could not possibly exist, to address Santa Claus through a live web link, and to examine, if they dare, a monster in a box.A BBC/Open University Co-production. Original broadcast title: Killing Creativity. Part of the series Child of Our Time 2007. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=39227

The Learning Process. 2003. (52 min.). Eager for knowledge, a child is by nature curious about everything. Why, then, is school such an unpleasant place for some children? In this program, teachers, researchers, a psychoanalyst, a neurologist, a neurobiologist, a psychomotor specialist, and others examine the process of learning and the classroom as a learning center. Mastery of reading and writing-the key to unlocking all forms of communication and the entry point to many other exciting domains-is emphasized. In addition, the concept of multiple intelligences is explored. Not available in French-speaking Canada.  Streaming video. http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=39227

Mickey Mouse monopoly Disney, childhood and corporate power. 2002. 1 videodisc (52 min.). This program takes a close and critical look at the world Disney films create and reaches disturbing conclusions about the values propagated under the guise of innocence and fun. DVD 2242 and VHS 6802

Misunderstood minds: Searching for success in school. 2004. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Follow the compelling personal stories of five children and their families, struggling with learning differences. As the kids receive help they are able to gain strategies and solutions that lead toward success both in and out of the classroom. DVD 6236

Parent Involvement. 1993. (20 min.). The battle to promote academic success cannot be won solely by administrators, principals, and teachers. This program examines how parents can become a driving force for school reform by increasing their involvement in their children's instruction both at school and at home-and why it is imperative for parents to communicate with schools on a continuing basis about their children's progress, discipline, and achievements. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=9091

Punishing Parents: Who Is Responsible for Delinquent Kids? 2000. (38 min.). In the eyes of the law, how wide are the parameters of parental responsibility? And how aware are parents and teachers of what goes on when they are not around? In this program, ABC News correspondent John Stossel gathers opinions in the heated debate over accountability for a child's delinquent actions by talking with parents, children, survivors, and the judges who are handing down rulings on where exactly to place the blame. Suits against parents for alleged criminal negligence in cases of school shootings, underage drinking and drug use, DWI-related deaths involving minors, and acts of vandalism are addressed. Indecent behavior on and off school grounds is also discussed. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=11903

Reunion. 2008 American University School of Communication MFA Thesis Projects. 2008. 1 videodisc (25 min.). A group of friends get together 10 years after high school and discover how they have all changed. DVD 6377

Shades of youth: Youth speak on racism, power & privilege. 2008. 1 videodisc (26 min.). "Shades of Youth  was filmed at The White Privilege Conference Youth Institute where 100 high school students gathered from across the United states to seriously engage in issues of race, power, identity, oppression and social change. This film and accompanying curriculum, offer multiple views and experiences around race and privilege, giving youth and adults entry points to discuss and better understand how institutional racism affects all our lives." -- Antiracism.com Web site. DVD 5024

Teens Dealing with Death. 2004. (29 min.). Maybe it's hearing about friends, driving home from a dance, who get into a car wreck that no one survives. Or a fellow student-the one who wears a bandanna to hide what chemotherapy has done to her hair-one day fails to show up for homeroom. Or an announcement over the school's PA system: There will be a memorial service this afternoon...For many young people, this will be their first exposure to death. How can teachers and school administrators help guide them through the experience? This program features Camp Comfort Zone, in Virginia, where viewers meet teens who have come to spend a weekend of talking, enjoying the outdoors, and sharing their grief over someone they've lost. The stories range from suicide, to sudden death, to terminal illness, and as the camp weekend progresses, viewers see how veteran campers help first-timers release their feelings. As healing and personal growth continue, an amazingly positive spirit, in most cases, actually overshadows the sadness. Teens Dealing with Death includes expert advice from Dr. Elena Lister, clinical assistant professor of psychiatry at Cornell University Medical College, New York City, and the collaborating psychoanalyst at the Columbia Psychoanalytic Center as well as the co-author of I Will Remember You: A Guidebook Through Grief For Teens. Dr. Lister shares her own personal experience of losing her daughter and offers suggestions on where teens can go for support and help in their communities. A viewable/printable instructor's guide is available online. Correlates to the National Health Education Standards. A Cambridge Educational Production. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=32319