 |
Archives & databases are excellent resources for collecting information related to U.S. immigration history. Because immigration is an interdisciplinary topic, be sure to consider how each resource might offer a different perspective on course themes and issues (e.g. primary vs. secondary; contemporary vs. historical, etc.). This page contains links to core resources for U.S. immigration research. |
Historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Strengths include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, gender, sexuality, and women's studies, the Holocaust, and modern history of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
ArchiveGrid is a database of archival finding aids from libraries, museums, and archives. It helps identify archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories and where they are.
AP Images: Over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840s through today. Also includes maps, timelines, logos and graphs. AP Interactives: A collection of multimedia content from the archives of the Associated Press. Interactives are fully-licensed for educational use.
Coverage: 1300 to present. Updated: Weekly, often daily.
A large collection of census records, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more from the U.S., Canada, U.K., Germany, Russia, eastern Europe, and China. From Ancestry.com.
The U.S. collections contain census records; birth, death, and marriage records including the Social Security Death Index; and U.S. border crossing and trans-ocean ship records.
Bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history, excluding the United States and Canada. Equivalent to the printed version of Historical Abstracts.
Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration. Covers publications from 1975 to the present. In most cases the abstracts are in English, and in some cases (non-English articles) in French. When the original article is not in English, the title in the record is in its own language, English and French.
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more, as well as full text for more than 90 journals. The FLTI is a continuation of the Film Literature Index Online database and covers 1988 to the present.
