Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - French Language Cinema: G-L

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012

French Language Cinema

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

Gabrielle. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Jean is a successful publisher. He has refined tastes and abundant material possessions, among which he seems to include his wife, Gabrielle. But in a single afternoon, Gabrielle decides to leave him for another man and then abruptly reverses her decision. Now, everything that Jean believed to be true about his life and marriage falls apart.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2345

Germinal. 2003.  1 videodisc (160 min.). The story of a coal mining town in northern France during the mid-19th century. The coal miners go on strike against the exploitive mine owner, then the authorities repress them. The strike destroys one family, yet plants the seeds of change for future generations.  DVD 1077

Gigi. 2008.  2 videodiscs (115 min.). A wealthy Gaston finds out he prefers a young Parisian girl to be his wife rather than his mistress.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7255

Les glaneurs et la glaneuse = The gleaners and I. 2002.  1 videodisc (82 min.). "Varda's most recent effort-- the first filmed with a digital videocamera-- focuses on gleaners, those who gather the spoils left after a harvest, as well as those who mine the trash. Some completely exist on the leavings; others turn them into art, exercise their ethics, or simply have fun. The director likens gleaning to her own profession-that of collecting images, stories, fragments of sound, light, and color."--www.imdb.com.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 417*

Les go ut des autres = The taste of others . 2000.  1 videodisc (112 min.). The lives and loves of several completely opposite men and women artfully intersect in what becomes a delightfully funny web of romantic entanglements! While negotiating differences in wealth and status, style, and taste, this vivid collection of characters mix and match in outrageously volatile combinations! Internationally acclaimed for its sexy comic sophistication-- expect the unexpected from this uncommonly entertaining motion picture!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 313

Le gone du Châaba. 97.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Set in 1956 France in a city slum outside of Lyons, a poor Algerian father wants his son to be the best in school, although the boy is not very gifted.  DVD 2127

Goto, l'ãile d'amour = Goto, island of love. 2005.  Walerian Borowczyk collection.  1 videodisc (90 min.). A surreal fairy tale that takes place on the island of Goto, where a prisoner saved from execution desires the ruler's wife and his throne.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3141

La graine et le mulet = The secret of the grain. 2010.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 2 videodiscs (154 min.). When the patriarch of a French-Arab family, Slimane, acts on his wish to open a portside restaurant specializing in his ex-wife's fish couscous, the extended clan's passions and problems explode.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7648

La grande bouffe = The big feast. 2009.  1 videodisc (124 min.). In the work of art decadent and depraved Ferreri, four friends with three prostitutes and a local schoolteacher in a villa in Paris dedicated to eat themselves to death.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9708

La grande illusion = Grand illusion. 87.  2 videodiscs (114 min.). Classic French film that is considered a brilliant expose of the senselessness of war even as it  highlights the brotherhood of men in wartime no matter what their race or class. Two French Air Corps officers, Fresnay (an aristocrat) and Marechal (a mechanic), are shot down and captured during World War I. Imprisoned in a fortress commanded by the aristocratic Van Rauffenstein, they must deal not only with the enemy but with class conflicts as well. In spite of their different backgrounds, they are finally drawn together in an escape attempt.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 213*

La grande séduction = Seducing Doctor Lewis. 2005.  1 videodisc (109 min.). St. Marie-La-Mauderne is a tiny fishing village. For eight years the locals have stood in line for weekly welfare checks, remembering the good old days when the catch was good. A small company wants to build a factory on the island, but only if a full-time doctor lives in St. Marie. The situation seems hopeless until a young doctor in Montreal has an unfortunate incident with a traffic cop and finds himself on a boat to the faraway village. In order to convince Dr. Lewis to stay, the town resorts to just a bit of seductive subterfuge.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4063

La haine = Hate. 2007.  Criterion collection.  2 videodiscs (97 min.). Three young, unemployed Frenchmen living in the ghettos surrounding Paris get embroiled in a violent conflict with the local police.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1639

Henri-Georges Clouzot's Diabolique. 98.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (116 min.). The story of a sadistic headmaster who brutalizes his fragile wife and his headstrong mistress. The two women murder him and dump his body in a swimming pool; when the pool is drained, no corpse is found.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4673

Hiroshima mon amour.  2003.  Classic collection: Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (90 min.). A Japanese architect and a French actress engage in a brief intense affair in Hiroshima in 1959. Both deal with their personal memories of World War II--he by articulating his firsthand experience with nuclear disaster, she by remembering her traumatic affair with a German soldier.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1337

L'histoire d'Adèle H = The story of Adele H. 2001.  World films: World films (MGM Home Entertainment Inc.).  1 videodisc (98 min.). Based on the true story of Adele Hugo's obsessive love affair which led her to run away from home to follow her womanizing lover across an ocean to Halifax, Nova Scotia.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5176

Histoires extraordinaires = Spirits of the dead. 2001.  Classic collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.).  1 videodisc (121 min.).  Metzengerstein is the tale of a young woman who believes the spirit of the cousin she loved, killed in a stable fire she started, is in a horse that escaped. William Wilson is the story of a mean-spirited Austrian officer who kills his doppelgänger in a duel. Toby Dammit is about a film star who takes off on a drunken spree after his film is completed.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7559

The holes = Les gaspards. 2001.  1 videodisc (ca 95 min.). What would you do if your daughter, two policemen, a bus load of American tourists and some of the world's most famous landmarks were "swallowed" up by the city of Paris? A bookshop owner finds himself going "underground" to find his daughter.  DVD 2234

Hors de prix = Priceless. 2008.  1 videodisc (102 min.). Irene is with her elderly paramour, on the Riviera, to celebrate her birthday. When he falls asleep on her, she decides to slip down to the hotel bar. There, she mistakes barman Jean for a wealthy guest. He encourages the deceit by taking her up to the Royal Suite for the night. The following year, the same thing happens. This time her lover finds out and disowns her. Knowing Jean is a barman of little means doesn't stop her from wanting to be with him. Jean soon finds himself in Irene's shoes with an older and worldly-wise Madeleine. Even though they both have paramours, the two keep in increasingly close touch.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7829*

Hotel des Ameriques = Hotel America. 2008.  Andre Techine: 4 film collector's edition: Andre Techine : 4 film collector's edition.  1 videodisc (211 min.). Hotel des Ameriques: Hâeláene, a distracted anesthetist, almost runs down Gilles one evening on a Biarritz street. She is still numb from the drowning death earlier that year of her lover, a visionary architect. Gilles presses for a relationship, then backs away, deciding she could never love someone of lower class and limited prospects. But she does fall in love with him and gradually her depression eases. As she heals, he becomes obsessed with her lover's talents and his own limitations, behaving bizarrely and pushing her away. J'embrasse pas: A young man leaves his small town in southern France to discover Paris. Being inexperienced and naive, he must give up his dream of becoming an actor and prostitutes himself to men for money and survival. Throughout all these encounters, he keeps his innocence but becomes very emotionally detached.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3581

L'humanité. 2000.  1 videodisc (148 min.). Pharaon de Winter is a police detective who lives with his mother in a working-class town in northern France. He agonizes over the evil he confronts every day during the course of his work. The brutal rape and murder of an 11-year-old girl tests Pharaon's profound humanity to its limits as the investigation proceeds to its climax, and as Pharaon struggles to grasp the crime's meaning.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3983

L'hypothèse du tableau volé = The hypothesis of the stolen painting. 2006.  Blaq out collection: Blaq out collection.  1 videodisc (63 min.). L'hypothèse du tableau volé: A bumbling art collector attempts to reconstruct the content of a painting missing from a series of seven painted 100 years earlier by an eccentric artist.  To help him in his task, a group of actors pose as the figures in the paintings to create a series of human tableaux.  The collector makes far-fetched thematic connections between the tableaux as a way to figure out what the missing artwork might look like while alluding to the scandals, mysteries, and conspiracies surrounding the paintings. La vocation suspendue: A critical examination of the mysteries of the Catholic Church.  DVD 9164

Incendies. 2011.  1 videodisc (130 min.). After the death of their mother, a set of twins make a life-altering discovery. The pair travels to the Middle East on a mission to uncover the truth about the father they thought was dead who is still very much alive, and the brother they never knew existed. Along the way they will piece together the story of the woman who brought them into the world, discovering a tragic fate as well as the courage of an exceptional woman.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3563

Indigènes = Days of glory. 2007.  1 videodisc (120 min.). The tale of a 1943 WWII French Algerian Unit facing discrimination by its European counterparts due to prejudice and ignorance. The French armed forces are preparing to land troops in Europe to win back their homeland from the Axis Powers, but they cannot accomplish their task without recruiting men from their African colonies. The Africans themselves start their long journey full of hope and anticipation, but as they get closer to their goal they realize that their enemy is not necessarily the Germans.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2907*

Indochine. 99.  1 videodisc (ca. 156 min.). Set in French Indochina in the 1930s as the Vietnamese begin to rebel against French colonialism. Dramatizes the last years of French rule through the relationship between plantation owner Éliane, French by birth but born and raised in Indochina, and her adopted daughter Camille, an orphaned Annamese princess who becomes a Vietnamese revolutionary and representative at the Geneva Conference after having a child by French officer Jean-Baptiste, Éliane's past lover.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2104

L'intrus = The intruder. 2006.  1 videodisc (130 min.). Louis lives an isolated existence on the French-Swiss border. When an ailing heart leads him to visit Geneva to pay for a replacement on the black market, he travels to his former home where he searches for his lost son.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7050

Les invasions barbares = Barbarian invasions. 2004.  1 videodisc (99 min.). Examines the varying personal politics - economic and sexual - at play among an aging group of friends, lovers, and ex-spouses. Remy and Louise are divorced. Their son Sebastien lives in capitalist splendor in London. Their estranged daughter sails boats throughout the world. But the slightly estranged family is brought together by Remy's losing battle with terminal cancer, and the hedonistic, ex-radical father and straight-laced son have to overcome their differences. It's not easy for a narrow-minded professor to reconcile with his equally stubborn son. But soon, father and son find themselves gathering with their wide and colorful circle of family and friends to confrom their differences, confess their secrets, and celebrate life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1228

Iskanderija, kaman oue kaman = Alexandria again and forever. 2000.  Alexandria trilogy.  1 videodisc (105 min.). In this autobiographical film, Yehia, the director's alter ego, joins a hunger strike which has rallied the Egyptian film industry. As the strike goes on, Yehia is overwhelmed by his infatuation with the young actor Amr, but this infatuation is soon overshadowed by his interest in Nadia, the young actress he wants to cast in his next feature. The last film in the director's Alexandria trilogy.  DVD 464

It all starts today = Ca commence aujourd'hui. 2002.  Accent Cinema collection.  1 videodisc (117 min.). "The compelling portrait of a teacher and administrator struggling to make a difference in a system plagued by institutional paralysis, blinded bureaucracy, and the desperate living conditions of his students' parents." -- from www.facets.org.  DVD 492

L'Italien = The Italian. 2010.  1 videodisc (99 min.). "Life smiles at Dino Fabrizzi, a cool forty-two-year old Italian. Not only is he the most successful salesman at the Maserati dealership in Nice but he has had a steady (and hot) relationship with Helene, his girlfriend, who is beginning to contemplate marriage. To crown it all he is nearly certain to land a senior position at the dealership. But there is a tiny wee problem. The funny Italian is not Italian at all! His real name is Mourad and he is actually of Algerian origin. So, when to please his father (who does not know his son pretends to be Italian), he promises him to celebrate Ramadan he is bound to get into serious trouble..."--Internet Movie Database.  DVD 8713

J'accuse! = I accuse. 2008.  Blackhawk Films collection: Flicker Alley collection.  2 videodisc (166 min.). J"Accuse is a World War I drama considered to be one of the most technically advanced films of the era and the first major pacifist film. It was referred to by Gance as "a human cry against the bellicose din of armies." Stars Marise Dauvray as Edith, a young woman who is unhappily married to an older man, Franðcois (Sâeverin-Mars), but is actually in love with a young poet Jean Diaz (Romuald Joubâe). Both Jean and Franðcois end up on the front lines of World War I while Edith is captured by German forces and suffers atrocities at the hands of the soldiers. Gance contrasts individual human suffering with the larger horrors of was, depicted with stark realism.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4748

J'irai comme un cheval fou = I will walk like a crazy horse. 2005.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Arrabal's second film forsakes the political allegory present in Viva La Muerte for a dramatic discovery of faith and organized religion. The story follows a man, Aden, played by the American George Shannon, who flees society after the death of his controlling mother. Out in the wilderness he encounters the beauty of nature, and under the tutelage of a hermit named Marvel, becomes a "normal homme." Aden falls desperately in love with Marvel, who can communicate with animals, the clouds, and the sun. Upon returning to civilization, Marvel in tow, Aden is more aware than ever of the hideous and hypocritical nature of human society. Long considered a masterpiece of surrealist film, it stands as Arrabal's most delirious and devlish picture, an outrageous portrait of both other-worldly beauty and inner torment.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4279

Jacquot de Nantes. 2010.  The Agnes Varda collection: Agnes Varda collection.  1 videodisc (118 min.). Set at the end of the 1930s, Jacquot is a boy who is so fascinated with movies that he trades his toys for his first movie camera at the age of seven. Based on the life of filmmaker Jacques Demy, portions of his motion pictures are used to narrate his early interest in the cinema.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7523

Je rentre a la maison = I'm going home. 2003.  1 videodisc (83 min.). Gilbert Valance is a successful theater actor who learns that his wife, daughter, and son-in-law have been killed in a car accident. Over time, Valence's life regains a semblance of normalcy - he takes care of his orphaned grandson, strolls the streets of Pairs, frequents his favorite cafe and returns to the stage. But when an American film director casts him against type in an English-language production of Ulysses, Valance struggles to master the dialogue and his own emotions.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 682

Je, tu, il, elle = I you he she. 2009.  Eclipse series 19, Chantal Akerman in the seventies: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)): Eclipse series.  1 videodisc (86 min.). An aimless young woman leaves self-imposed isolation to journey on a trip that ultimately leads her to lonely love affairs. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9868

Je vous salue, Marie Hail Mary. 86.  1 videodisc (108 min.). Je vous salue, Marie: A teenage virgin who plays on a basketball team becomes pregnant. The girl, her fiancé, family and friends struggle to cope. Le livre de Marie: Story of a young girl who must learn to cope when her parents separate.  DVD 9625

Jean de Florette Manon des sources : Jean de Florette 2eÌ me partie. 2007.  World films double feature.  1 videodisc (235 min.). Jean de Florette: Set amidst the rugged hills of Provence, this epic saga follows the heroic efforts of Jean Cadoret, who inherits a farm from his mother, Florette, and leaves his city job behind, hoping to create a "new Eden" with his wife and daughter. But, unbeknownst to Jean, his greedy neighbor, César Soubeyran, is plotting to steal the land out from under him with a wicked scheme that drives Jean to the brink of madness. Manon of the spring: In this sequel to Jean de Florette, ten years after her father's death, Manon has no idea that her neighbor cheated her out of her father's land. But when she discovers that Soubeyran was directly responsible for her father's death, Manon goes after him with a vengeance.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4490

Jean Renoir. 2007.  3 videodiscs (580 min.). Charleston parade: shows the journey of a man in blackface to a post-Apocalyptic Paris, where he meets a girl who teaches him the Charleston, and they leave together in his spaceship. La Marseillaise: a dramatization of the French Revolution, from the period immediately preceding it in 1789 up to the first bloody confrontation. Nana: A women rises from poverty to become a dance hall queen and courtesan in 1860s Paris, destroying the lives of the men who fall in love with her. The doctor's horrible experiment: experimental fantasy about a Jekyll/Hyde-type psychiatrist/lunatic creating havoc in 1950s Paris. The elusive corporal: set in a German P.O.W. camp in 1940, this is the story of a French corporal who is determined to escape to return to Paris and fight once more. The little match girl: the visions seen by a poor match seller as she lights her matches one by one to keep from freezing to death. Whirlpool of fate: after the suspicious death of her father a young girl runs away from her brutal uncle and joins a gypsy camp.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4441 - 4443

Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles. 2009.  The Criterion collection.  2 videodiscs (201 min.). Evokes a sense of impending doom, the daily domestic routine of a middle-aged widow. Her chores include making the beds, cooking dinner for her grown son, and turning the occasional trick. Her life is beginning to break down.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6177

Jésus de Montréal = Jesus of Montreal. 2004.  1 videodisc (119 min.). A Montreal shrine seeks to inspire its congregants by modernizing its staging of the Passion play. A promising cast of vibrant young actors are signed on - one fresh from perfume commercials, another from the pornographic film industry, and another who had an affair with the basilica's priest - quickly drive the production on to become a smash hit. But as the play enjoys the success, the actors become more and more challenged to seperate their real lives from their lives onstage.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1210

Jeux interdits = Forbidden games. 2005.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (85 min.). A timeless evocation of the loss of innocence, Rene Clement's devastating Forbidden games tells the story of a young orphan and her friend forced to fend for themselves in World War II France.   DVD 1649 

Le jour se lève = Daybreak. 2006.  1 videodisc (90 min.). French melodrama that projects a vision of a world in which love is inevitably crushed by the blind forces of evil. A man is tormented by the seduction of his lover and becomes a murderer through a series of tragic circumstances. Barricaded in his apartment, the man kills himself at daybreak rather than surrender to the police.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6275

Journal d'un curé de campagne = Diary of a country priest. 2004.  The Criterion collection.  1 videodisc (ca. 115 min.). A new priest arrives in the French country village of Ambricourt to attend to his first parish. The rural congregation rejects him immediately. Through his country diary entries, the suffering young man relays a crisis of faith that threatens to drive him away from the village and God.  DVD 1116

Le journal d'une femme de chambre = Diary of a chambermaid. 2001.  The Criterion collection: The Classic collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs): Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.).  1 videodisc (98 min.). A chambermaid with Paris flair gets a job at a country estate. The family she works for and the other staff members are a strange sort and she must learn the ways of country living and neighbor rivalry. After a child is murdered near the estate, she begins to have her suspicions as to whom may be responsible.  DVD 6700

Judex. 2004.  1 videodisc (110 min.). Favraux, a wicked banker, is warned by Judex, the righter of wrongs, that unless he reforms he will be punished. The banker is apparently struck dead during a masked ball; in actuality, he is held prisoner by Judex in his secret lair in order to trap Diana Monti, a mistress of disguise, and prevent her from getting the inheritance of the banker's daughter.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4745

Jules et Jim = Jules and Jim. 2005.  2 videodiscs. Story of friendship between two artists and their mutual love for the same woman. Considered Truffaut's greatest film.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2657

Karmen Geèi. 2005.  Library of African cinema: New African cinema: Library of African cinema (Videodisc): New African cinema (Videodisc).  1 video file (82 min.). Karmen escapes prison through her lesbian relationship with the warden. She then wrecks the marriage and career of a police corporal by making him her lover and co-conspirator in a smuggling ring. She abandons the corporal who, in a fit of jealous rage, stabs her. Contains much singing and dancing.  Streaming video http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=4122735

Laèicitâe, inch'Allah! = Neither Allah, nor master! 2011.  1 videodisc (71 min.). "[A] cinematic exploration of secularism in the Muslim country of Tunisia before and after the deposition of dictator Ben Ali. Made at the height of the 2010-2011 revolutions in North Africa, [this film] has proven it made the director the target of extremist death threats...Officially, Tunisia is not an Islamic nation. But over and over, [director] El Fani meets Tunisians who mistakenly believe that it is illegal to serve alcohol to Arabs, break the fast during Ramadan, or practice a religion other than Islam. In these encounters, she sees troubling signs that Tunisia may be becoming less tolerant of non-Islamic beliefs...[This film] documents Tunisians resisting religious ideology and fighting for a secular state in their everyday lives." -- Container.  DVD 10048

Laissez-passer = Safe conduct. 2004.  1 videodisc (163 min.). During the Nazi occupation of France during World War II, the nation's movie studios continued to operate. Jean Devaivre is an assistant director for Continental Pictures, a studio which has recently been taken over by the Germans and is headed by Dr. Greven. With a wife and son to support, Devaivre feels he has little choice but to continue with his work. Screenwriter Jean Aurenche, a man who lives for wine, women and song, refuses to work for Greven, and struggles to find a way to make a living with his words.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1309

La lengua de las mariposas Butterfly. 2000.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A shy young boy is brought out of his cocoon by a wise teacher who shows him the wonder of the natural world around him, amidst the growing tensions and chaos of the Spanish Civil War in Galicia.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 202

Léolo. 2005.  1 videodisc (107 min.). Léolo Lozone, a twelve-year old dreamer, uses his imagination to escape the realities around him through writing.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1684

Léon Morin, prêtre = Léon Morin, priest. 2011.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (117 min.). In Nazi-occupied France, a devoted priest is desired by all the women of his village, but finds himself most drawn to a religious skeptic who turns their relationship into a confrontation with both God and her own repressed desire.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8680

Lola Montès. 2009.  1 videodisc (110 min.). Depicts, through flashbacks, the life of a famous courtesan, recounted as part of a lavish circus act. The ringmaster introduces and displays Lola Montés who recalls her romances with Franz Liszt, a student, and Ludwig, King of Bavaria before she was reduced by scandal, poverty and ill fortune to her present life as a circus performer.  DVD 167

Love me if you dare = Jeux d'enfants. 2004.  1 videodisc (ca. 94 min.). A childhood game of 'dare' grows into a mad obsession for two friends, who, in adulthood, must choose between 'the game' and the love that has ignited between them.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1689

Lumumba. 2002.  1 videodisc (115 min.). Dramatizes the life of Congolese revolutionary, Patrice Lumumba, who lead his country to independence from Belgium in 1960.  He served, for less than a year, as the first elected prime minister until he was brutally assassinated.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 488