Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - French Language Cinema: M-Q

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012

French Language Cinema

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

Ma nuit chez Maud = My night at Maud's. 2006.  Criterion Collection.  1 videodiscs [111 min.]. Jean-Louis Trintignant plays an engineer seeking the perfect mate. Just when he thinks he has found her, he finds himself accidentally spending the night sharing the bed of a seductive divorcee, Maud.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2423

Ma saison préférée = My favorite season. 2008.  Andre Techine : 4 film collector's edition: Andre Techine : 4 film collector's edition.  1 videodisc (122 min.). Set in beautiful southwest France and marked by the symbolic passage of seasons, this film explores the turbulent relationship between Emilie and her brother Antoine during a particularly emotional eruption of their long-time dysfunctional family.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3582

Ma vie en rose = My life in pink. 99.  1 videodisc (88 min.). Ludovic is waiting for a miracle. With six-year-old certainty, he believes he was meant to be a little girl and that the mistake will soon be corrected. But where he expects the miraculous, Ludo finds only rejection, isolation and guilt--as the intense reactions of family, friends, and neighbors strip away every innocent lace and bauble.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5315

Madame de-. 2008.  The Criterion collection.  1 videodisc (100 min.). The wife of a 19th century General sells the earrings her husband gave her on their wedding day to pay off debts, which sets off a chain reaction of deceit that includes her husband, his mistress, and her lover.  HOME USE COLLECTION VHS 5076

La maman et la putain = The mother and the whore. 98.  International cinema.  1 videodisc (210 min.). Story of the obsessive sexual relationship between an intellectual, his lover, and a kinky nurse. Explores the cultural phenomenon of sex without love.  DVD 9627

La mariée était en noir = The bride wore black. 93.  1 videodisc (108 min.). Truffaut pays homage to Hitchcock. After a bridegroom is shot on the steps of the church on his wedding day, his widow traces the group of men responsible and eliminates them one by one.  VDD 189

Marius. 2007.  The Fanny trilogy.  1 videodisc (112 min.). This is the first film of Pagnol's eventual trilogy. Marius, son of Cesar, the owner of a cafe, is drawn to the sea, filled with dreams of faraway lands. He loves Fanny, but even this love is not as strong as his wanderlust. Fanny turns him loose to follow his dream, and then, finding she is pregnant, marries Panisse, a rich widower. Pagnol's main cast was from the original stage production.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7001

Masculin feminin. 2005.  Criterion Collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (105 min.). Dramatizes the ferment of the 1960's, exploring the reactions of youth to violence, political protest, suicide, birth control and other issues prevalent during the Vietnam era.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1802*

Mauvais sang = The night is young. 2001.  1 videodisc (125 min.). A fictional AIDS-like plague called STBO is infecting adolescents, and the only known serum is locked away at the top of a skyscraper.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 435

Le mépris = Contempt. 2002.  The classic collection: The Criterion collection.  2 videodiscs (104 min.). Asked to write a screenplay for an American producer, a young French dramatist and his wife visit the producer's villa in Capri. There the wife and producer engage in an affair, and she decides to leave her husband. However, something quite unexpected happens.  DVD 537

Michel Brault, oeuvres 1958-1974 = Michel Brault, works 1958-1974. 2005.  La collection Memoire.  1 videodisc (164 min.). Entre la mer et l'eau douce: Claude is a young man who  leaves his small town on the North Shore for the big city, Montreal. He meets Geneviáeve, a young waitress, and they fall in love. Claude enters a singing contest that launches his music career. As he becomes more famous, he must work out how Geneviáeve will fit into his new life. Geneviáeve: Describes the elation and disillusionment of first love as experienced by two girls who are infatuated with the same boy at a Quâebec winter carnival. Le temps perdu: A glimpse into the private world of young people. Informal discussion shows that they are involved in the frivolity of youth, but are also concerned with the adult world of religion, sex and interpersonal relationships. Les enfants du silence: A film about children suffering from deafness, and the importance of early detection.  DVD 4341 - 4345

Le million. 2000.  Criterion collection.  1 videodisc (81 min.). A musical comedy about a pair of young lovers who lose a lottery ticket worth a million francs and chase it frantically across Paris. Considered one of the very first musical films.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 394

Les Misérables. 2007.  Eclipse. Series 4, Raymond Bernard.  2 videodiscs (281 min.). The story of Jean Valjean, the ex-convict who rises against all odds from galley slave to mayor, and the fanatical police inspector, Javert, who dedicates his life to recapturing Valjean.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9817

Le moine et la sorcière = The sorceress . 2008?  1 videodisc (96 min.). A drama set in 13th century France revolving around Étienne de Bourbon, a Dominican friar sent by the pope to seek out heretics and a forest woman who performs ancient healing rituals. An historically accurate dramatization of the conflict between ancient customs and religious dogma.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6503

Molière. 2008.  1 videodisc (121 min.). Molière is a down-and-out actor and playwright who is up to his ears in debt. The wealthy Jourdain offers to cover that debt so that Molière's theatrical talents might help Jourdain win the heart of a certain widowed marquise.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6599*

La Môme La vie en rose. 2007.  1 videodisc (141 min.). A dramatic retelling of the life of Edith Piaf, considered one of the great performers of France. Raised in a brothel, taken to work in a circus by her father, and eventually abandoned by her parents, she spent her teen years on the streets. Eventually "rescued" by a crime figure who gives her career a start, she makes her way to international success, despite recurring frailty, illness, wild moods, drug and alcohol problems.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4228*

Mon oncle Antoine = My uncle Antoine. 2008.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 2 videodiscs (104 min.). In a rural Quebec mining village at Christmas time, we follow the coming of age of a fifteen-year-old boy, the aunt and uncle who are raising him and the people they encounter through their general store and undertaking business.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 457*

Mon oncle = My uncle. 2001.  The Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (116 min.). Slapstick prevails when Jacques Tati's eccentric hero Monsieur Hulot is let loose in the ultramodern home of his brother-in-law, and in an antiseptic factory that manufactures plastic hose. Tati directs and stars in the second entry of the Hulot series, a delightful satire of mechanized living.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3749

Monsieur Hire. 2007.  1 videodisc (79 min.). "In a provincial French apartment block, Monsieur Hire endures a solitary life of dulling work as a tailor and vitriolic scorn from his neighbors. Hire's only solace is an occasional night out bowling and the voyeuristic admiration of his neighbor. ... When police discover the nude body of another young woman in a nearby vacant lot, Hire becomes the prime suspect in a murder investigation."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4819

Mouchette. 2007.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (81 min.). One of the most searing portraits of human desperation ever put on film, as Mouchette a teenage girl must deal with tragic events and a broken family.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2719

La moustache. 2007.  1 videodisc (84 min.). When a man shaves off his mustache, a trademark he's had for years, no one around him notices, instead insisting he's never even had one. Is he going insane, or is this some kind of strange conspiracy?  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2520

Ne le dis à personne = Tell no one. 2006.  1 videodisc (125 min.). "Eight years ago, Margot Beck was murdered by a serial killer. Though the killer has confessed to eight of these murders, he has always denied to be responsible for Margot's death. However, the specific mutilations found on her body seem to remove all doubts over his guilt. Today, Alexandre Beck, her husband, is still deeply psychologically injured by the loss of Margot. He temporarily escapes his memories during the day by immersing himself completely in his work as a pediatrician. Outside of that, only the friendship he has formed with Helene Perkins saves him from total isolation from the rest of the world. But when two new bodies are uncovered near where Margot's body was discovered, Margot's case is reopened." -- IMDB .  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5595

No et moi = No and me.  2011.  1 videodisc (98 min.). A lonely, precocious 13-yr-old girl forges a friendship with an 18-yr-old homeless woman, while doing research for a school project on homelessness.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9740

Les noces de papier = The paper wedding. 2000.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Bored with her work and her long term affair with a married man, a professor is persuaded to enter into a marriage of convenience with a Chilean political refugee.  DVD 516

La noire de = Black girl. 2005.  1 videodisc (80 min.). Borom Sarret follows a cart driver as he meets an unfortunate array of people in Dakar. In La noire de ..., a Senegalese maid goes to the Riviera with her employers and gains a new perspective on what it means to be African outside of Africa. A story of exile and despair.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1953

Noirs et blancs en couleur = Black and white in color. 2003.  1 videodisc (92 min.). Black and white in color: A French colony in Africa's Ivory Coast discovers months after the fact that World War I has begun. Spurred on by a capricious patriotism, they figure they'll do their part by attacking the German colony up the river. After all, they have six rifles, and one of them is an automatic. So off to war they march -- or rather, their servants do, carrying the white folk on palanquins. They soon stop for a lovely picnic. When machine gun fire is heard in the distance, they run back to the safety of the colony. All goes well until a young geographer becomes the key strategist for the French, working with the local tribal chief and turning the old colonial social hierarchy on its head. The sky above, the mud below: Long before PBS, National Geographic, and the Discovery Channel made documentaries ubiquitous, films like this seminal if straightforward work were only available via local art house theaters. One of the earliest looks into native life on Papua New Guinea, this documentary follows a group of Europeans on a seven-month trek to bisect the island. During the perilous expedition (450 miles, as a crow flies) through jungle and across high altitudes, the group encounters tribes of headhunters and cannibals, observing and filming their rituals and ceremonies.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7067

Le nom des gens = The names of love. 2011.  1 videodisc (102 min.). Baya is a young, extroverted liberal who lives by the old hippie slogan 'Make love, not war'. She seduces right-wing men to convert them to her political causes - and so far she's gotten exceptional results. That is, until she meets Arthur, a middle-aged, middle-of-the road scientist, and the sparks fly.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9500

Notre musique = Our Music. 2005.  1 videodisc (79 min.). "Part poetry, part journalism, part philosophy, master filmmaker Jean-Luc Godard's NOTRE MUSIQUE is a witty and lyrical reflection on war through the ages. The film is structured into three Dantean Kingdoms: Hell, Purgatory and Heaven. The journey begins in Hell (represented by modern war) and then moves to Purgatory (set in Sarajevo). Finally, Paradise is conceived as a small beach guarded by Marines from the United States. At the same time, the film also follows the parallel stories of two Israeli Jewish women, one drawn to the light and one drawn towards darkness"--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9420

A nous la liberté. 2002.  Criterion collection: Classic collection.  1 videodisc (83 min.). A satire on factory life centering on the activities of a couple of ex-prisoners, one of whom, an ambitious crook, becomes the boss of a large factory while the other, a sentimental old tramp, becomes a worker there. Eventually both discover that happiness and peace of mind cannot be bought with money and revert to their former life as vagabonds. This film inspired Charlie Chaplin's Modern times.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 978

La nuit américaine = Day for night. 2003.  1 videodisc (116 min.). Frictions and personality clashes beset the making of a romantic film in Nice.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 549*

La nuit de la verité = The night of truth. 2007.  1 videodisc (100 min.). In an unspecified country in Africa, after ten years of bloody war, the Nayaks, the President's ethnic group, and the Bonandes, rebels supporting Colonel Theo, come together to celebrate the peace agreement. But the reconciliation festivities are overshadowed by the terrible barbarities that have been committed on both sides.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8046

Les nuits de la pleine lune = Full moon in Paris. 99.  World class cinema collection: Comédies et proverbes .  1 videodisc (101 min.). A young woman in Paris moves out on her lover in order to experience freedom and finds it brings only misery.  DVD 4483

Omaret yakobean Yacoubian building. 2006.  1 videodisc (162 min.). We meet the residents of the Yacoubian building and through them learn something about the city of Cairo, albeit the more disturbing side of corruption, fundamentalism, prostitution, sexuality, and drugs.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3279

Onegin. 2000.  1 videodisc (106 min.). After inheriting his uncle's country estate, playboy Evgeny Onegin travels there and meets a beautiful, passionate young girl, Tatyana. But their relationship sparks a series of events so horrifying they threaten to destroy everything the two have ever known.  DVD 517

Les parapluies de Cherbourg = The umbrellas of Cherbourg. 97.  1 videodisc (91 min.). A tender, bittersweet love story, sung throughout in French.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 302

Parfait amour! = Perfect love. 2001.  1 videodisc (110 min.). "Follows the relationship between Frédérique and Christophe. 37 years-old and twice divorced, Frédérique meets 28 year-old Christophe at a wedding. What starts off as a happy relationship quickly turns tumultuous, as both give in to jealousy and fighting. Ultimately, their relationship goes tragically awry ending in a final crime of passion."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3832

Les perles de la couronne = The pearls of the crown. 2010.  Eclipse series 22, Presenting Sacha Guitry.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Tells the story of seven pearls; four which made it to England and were incorporated into the crown, and three that went missing along the way.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9879

Le petit soldat = Little soldier. 2001.  1 videodisc (88 min.). "Set during the Algerian War, [the film] follow Bruno Forestier, a disillusioned young deserter who becomes involved in the French nationalist movement. He is ordered to kill an Algerian sympathizer, and although he does not hold deep political beliefs, commits the murder and undergoes torture when captured. At the same time, he meets and falls in love with a woman who he does not know is fighting for the other side."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6189

La petite voleuse = The little thief. 90.  1 videodisc (107 min.). In 1950, the 16-year-old Janine lives with her uncle and aunt somewhere in France. She steals everything that she can find, with a preference for fine lingerie and American cigarettes. She leaves school and goes to work as a maid for a middle-class family. She has an affair with an older married man as well as with a boy of her age, who is also a thief.  DVD 9403

La pianiste = The piano teacher. 2002.  1 videodisc (125 min.). Erika is a loner.  A middle aged piano teacher of some repute, she is unmarried, living with her mother in a small apartment in Vienna, her days an unending round of conservatory students, rehearsals, and dinner in front of the television.  Her sex life consists of visits to sex shops and voyeurism.  When she becomes involved with a student who has become infatuated with her, she tries to share her obsessions with him--with tragic results.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5147

Picture Claire. 2003.  1 videodisc (90 min.). In only a few hours, Claire's life will be turned upside-down. Escaping a group of vengeful drug dealers, she leaves town hoping to find Billy, the man of her dreams. Unfortunately, he is not everything he appears to be. Fighting against time, Claire must race to clear her name while trying to stay alive.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1427

Pièces d'identités = Identity Pieces. 2007?  1 videodisc (93 min.). A Congolese king searches for his daughter in Brussels where for a time he loses his royal fetishes, his identity, but finds a friend, a local cabdriver with a secret identity. With his help and a chain of coincidence (it must be destined), Mani Kongo is reunited with his daughter and his regalia and returns to Africa with a circle of friends.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5966*

La piel que habito = The skin I live in. 2012.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Since his wife was burned in a car crash, Dr. Robert Ledgard, an eminent plastic surgeon, has wanted to create a new skin with which he could have saved her. After twelve years, he cultivates a skin that is a real shield against every assault. Now, besides the years of study and experimentation, the unscrupulous doctor needs to find an accomplice, and a human guinea pig. Marrilia, the woman who looked after him from birth, is his most faithful accomplice. But where will they find the human pig? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4319

Pierrot le fou = Pierrot goes wild. 2007.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 2 videodiscs (110 min.). Leaving his rich wife and their child behind, a man runs off on a wild adventure with the beautiful babysitter Marianne who is fleeing gangsters. As they become entangled with murder and the gangsters, mysterious events destroy their happiness and lead to an explosive finale.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 118*

Le placard = The closet. 2001.  1 videodisc (85 min.). François Pignon, a very bland sort of man who works as an accountant in a condom factory, is about to be fired. His new neighbor comes up with an idea to prevent such a thing from happening: he creates photos and then spreads the rumor that François is gay so that the factory management might be afraid they'll be sued for sexual discrimination. Of course, nothing happens as it should, but the changes in François Pignon's life-- and other people's too - is drastic!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4054

Playtime. 2006.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 2  videodiscs (124 min.). Modern Paris, a city of glass, steel and the encroaching age of technology. Amidst the babble of tourists, the endearingly clumsy Monsieur Hulot tries to reconcile the old-fashioned ways with the confusing new ways.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3072

La Pointe-Courte. 2007.  4 by Agnáes Varda: The Criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (80 min.). "The great Agnes Varda's film career began with this graceful, penetrating study of a marriage on the rocks, set against the backdrop of a small Mediterranean fishing village. Both a stylized depiction of the complicated relationship between a married couple and a documentary-like look at the daily struggles of the locals, Varda's discursive, gorgeously filmed debut was radical enough to later be considered one of the progenitors of the coming French new wave."--Container.  DVD 4153

Pola X. 2000.  1 videodisc (134 min.). A young, successful author is haunted by a recurring dream of a woman obscured in darkness.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 413

Prénom Carmen = First name, Carmen: lain Sarde presente do re mi fa sol la co-production Sara Films, JLG Films [et] Films A2. 98.  1 videodisc (85 min.). The Carmen story of passion, jealousy and betrayal reworked into a comic strip version in modern day France. Carmen belongs to a gang of terrorists who are plotting a kidnapping. Her lover, Joseph, a young security guard whom she seduces during a bank hold-up, becomes unwittingly involved. The gang plan to use the making of a film by Carmen's director uncle as a cover for a kidnapping.  DVD 119

Presenting Sacha Guitry. 2010.  Eclipse. Series 22, Presenting Sacha Guitry.  4 videodiscs (378 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9878 - 9881

Presque rien = Come undone. 2001.  1 videodisc (98 min.). Come Undone tells the story of two young French boys who begin a passionate relationship that boils over and threatens to destroy both their lives. Mathieu is a quiet 18-year-old boy spending the holidays with his depressed mother. He gets involved with the more experienced Cdric. Their relationship sets off an emotional firestorm in Mathieu as he moves towards adulthood and independence.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 884

Princess Mononoke. 2000.  1 videodisc (ca. 134 min.). A young warrior searching for a cure for a deadly curse becomes entangled in a battle between a clan of humans and the forest's animal gods.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1206

La prise de pouvoir par Louis XIV = The taking of power by Louis XIV. 86.  1 videodisc (97 min.). A psychological drama which reveals both the arrogance and the self-doubts of the Sun King. Using a documentary approach, film dramatizes of the rise to power of King Louis XIV of France following the death of Cardinal Mazarin along with the attendant pomp and etiquette, and the intrigues and internal power struggles that complicated his rise to power.  DVD 9534

Prix de beauté = Beauty prize. 2006.  1 videodisc (88 min.). While André indeed loves Lucienne, a Parisian typist, he has conventional expectations for their life together. When the Miss Europe beauty contest comes to town, he warns her to "not even dream" of entering it but she ignores his advice and tries out for the contest.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3747

La promesse. 2001.  International cinema.  1 videodisc (93 min.). The life of a fifteen-year old changes forever when he makes a promise to a dying man.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1490

Quadrille. 2010.  Eclipse series 22, Presenting Sacha Guitry.  1 videodisc (95 min.). A Parisian magazine editor plans on proposing to his actress girlfriend, but she becomes intrigued with an American movie star. Meanwhile a woman reporter watches from the side.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9881

Le quai des brumes = Port of shadows. 2004.  The criterion collection: Criterion collection . 1 videodisc (90 min.). Down a foggy, desolate road to the port city of Le Havre travels Jean, an army deserter looking for another chance to make good in life. Fate, however, has a different plan for him, as both acts of revenge and kindness render him front-page news. Portrays an underworld of lonely souls wrestling with their own destinies. DVD 986

Les quatre cents coups = The 400 blows. 2006.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection.  1 videodisc (99 min.). Thirteen-year-old Antoine Doinet lives in a cramped apartment with his mother and stepfather, neglected by them and unlucky at school. Living an intensely imaginative life of his own he gets into trouble and is finally committed to reform school from which he escapes and runs towards the sea, which he has never seen.  DVD 5251

Queen Margot. 95.  1 videodisc (144 min.). Thrown into a political marriage of convenience by her ruthlessly power-hungry family, the beautiful Margot soon finds herself hopelessly drawn into their murderous affairs. It's then she realizes her only hope of escape lies somewhere between the heroic soldier who loves her and the enemy husband who could save her.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 778

Querelle. 2001.  1 videodisc (109 min.). Fassbinder's final film; a stylized, delirious interpretation of Genet's story of a proud and tough loaner, the sailor Querelle who becomes involved in drug-smuggling, sexual adventures and murder. Originally shot in English; also released in a German-dubbed print as "Querelle--ein pakt mit dem Teufel".  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3560

Qui ãetes-vous Polly Maggoo? = Who are you, Polly Maggoo? 2008.  Eclipse series 9, the delirious fictions of William Klein.  1 videodisc (102 min.). Satire of Parisian haute couture and modeling world.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9833