To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.
See also LGBTQ+ - Streaming Guide
Gaming in color: A documentary exploring the queer side of gaming. 1 videodisc (62 min.). Explores the LGBTQ video game community, "gaymer" culture, and role of video games in the lives of sexual minorities. DVD 13201
GBF. 2013, 1 videodisc. (93 min.). Tanner and Brent go through high school being secretly in the closet. Brent longs for the spotlight and plans to come out in order become popular as the newest must-have 'accessory': The G.B.F. (Gay Best Friend). Tanner would rather fly under the radar, but when he is outed instead of Brent, the two boys become frenemies. The three most popular girls in school launch an all-out social war to win Tanner's status-enhancing friendship and Tanner must choose between popularity and true friends. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14916
Gender me: Homosexuality in the world of Islam. 1 streaming video file (52 min.). Filmed in Istanbul and Oslo, this artistic documentary by Turkish/Norwegian filmmaker Nefise Ozkal Lorentzen openly explores what it is like to be both gay and Muslim. Through the interrelated stories of a gay rights activist, a gay imam, drag artists, and others, Gender Me gently denounces homophobia in general, encourages discourse and engagement within Islam as a positive societal approach to coming to terms with sexual otherness, and seeks to advance a loving appreciation of the oneness of all humankind. Streaming video.
Geschlecht in fesseln=Sex in chains. 2004. Gay-themed films of the German silent era. 1 videodisc (90 min.). When Sommer accidentally kills a nightclub patron harassing his wife Helene, he's sentenced to three years in prison. Denied the comforts promised in their marriage, the young newlyweds risk their future and find release where they can -- Sommer in the arms of a handsome fellow prisoner and Helene with the boss whose kindness becomes her only solace. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2452
Give me your hand. 2009. 1 videodisc (77 min.). Antoine and Quentin are 18-year-old twins who live with their father in France. When their estranged mother dies in Spain, they set off to attend the funeral, without telling their father. The journey turns out to be more difficult than either had anticipated and a rift threatens to split the brothers apart. The brothers must struggle to accept each other as individuals, and to find their places in an uncertain world. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14910
Global Gay. 1 streaming video file (59 min.). Whether it be regarding legalization in the Middle-East and Africa or the focus of gay marriage laws in the West, after years of long diplomatic struggle, several world leaders have declared themselves in favor of the universal decriminalization of homosexuality. But victory won't come easily. The countries that still punish homosexuality refuse to give in to international pressure. This film follows this battle for decriminalization through the lives and work of some of its fearless pioneers. Filmed in Russia, Cuba, Cameroon, Nepal and South Africa. Homosexuality is forbidden in almost half of the world and a global revolution is underway to obtain what UN Secretary General Ban Ki Moon and Barack Obama call "the final frontier in human rights": the universal decriminalization of homosexuality. Streaming video.
God loves Uganda. 1 online resource (84 minutes). This film explores the role of the American Evangelical movement in fueling Uganda's terrifying turn towards biblical law and the proposed death penalty for homosexuality. Thanks to charismatic religious leaders and a well-financed campaign, these draconian new laws and the politicians that peddle them are winning over the Ugandan public. But these dangerous policies and the money that fuels them aren't coming from Africa; they're being imported from some of America's largest megachurches. Using vérité, interviews, and hidden camera footage, the film allows American religious leaders and their young missionaries that make up the "front lines in a battle for billions of souls" to explain their positions in their own words. Shocking and enlightening, touching and horrifying, God Loves Uganda will leave you questioning just how closely this brand of Christianity resembles the one you think you know. DVD 5063 and Streaming video.
Growing Up Trans. 1 online resource (1 video file (86 min.). Go on an intimate and eye-opening journey inside a new frontier. Told from the perspective of parents, doctors, and, most revealing of all, eight transgender kids themselves, ranging in ages from 9 to 19, FRONTLINE takes a powerful look at this new generation, exploring the medical possibilities, struggles, and choices transgender kids and their families face today. DVD 12646 and Streaming video.
Holding the man. 2016. 1 videodisc (128 min.). The love story of two high school boys, one the hunky captain of the football team and the other sensitive drama student. After a sweet courtship, the two fall madly in love and traverse an enduring relationship over fifteen years. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14912
How Gay Is Pakistan? 1 online resource (51 min.). Being gay is illegal in Pakistan. But, despite this, the country has a growing gay scene. So why are gay rights not being addressed here? This is a complicated place, where homosocial behavior, like men holding hands, is common and accepted. In this revealing journey to the country of his birth, presenter Mawaan Riswan talks to the people struggling to assert their sexuality against a complex backdrop. From the activists campaigning for gay rights despite the threat of violence, to the transgender sex worker considering surgery, and the men who identify as straight but enjoy gay sex, Mawaan discovers a fascinating world hidden from public view. Streaming video.
Huhoe haji ana = No regret. 2008. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Su-min is a poor laborer and a gay bar host. Chae-min is from rich family and about to marry a woman. Su-min and Chae-min fall in love and this is their love story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3465
Hustler white. 2002. 1 videodisc (81 min.). A gay romantic comedy about male hustling in Los Angeles. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4495
I can’t think straight. 2009. 1 videodisc (80 min.). While preparing for her wedding, Tala meets Leyla, a shy Muslim. Although they come from different worlds, the attraction is immediate, and Tala must decide whether to stay true to her culture or to her heart. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14913
I'm Coming Out. 1 streaming video file (45 min.). Ahmad is a 24-year-old gay man who is comfortable with his sexual identity. Neil is a 55-year-old gay man hoping to overcome a lifetime of hiding who he really is. This program accompanies the two when they return home with the idea of coming out to family members. Though their lifestyles are different, Neil and Ahmad share the same fears and sensitivities as they consider the impact their news will have on loved ones. Ironically, Neil is the one who eventually reveals his sexuality; Ahmad cannot bear the pain he imagines he might inflict. Filmed with respect for the feelings of both the men and those they come out to, the video provides a candid glimpse into a long struggle for acceptance and stands as encouragement to those in a similar place. Streaming video.
Io e lei = Me, myself and her. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Marina and Federica have lived together as a couple for five years in their gorgeous Rome apartment. Beautiful, funny, and independent, Marina has no doubts about her sexuality or her love for Federica. Federica, a respected architect with a marriage behind her and a grown son, has never declared herself a lesbian and is discreet about her relationship with Marina. When Federica runs into a man she once had a crush on, she starts asking what she really wants from life and love. Feature film. DVD 13858
Jenny's wedding. 2015. 1 videorecording (94 min.). When Jenny decides to marry a woman, her conventional family is forced to accept who she is or risk losing their daughter and their self respect. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14914
Jin nian xia tian=fish and elephant. 2006. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Xiao Qun works at the Beijing Zoo as an elephant keeper, while her lover, Xiao Ling runs a clothes stall in an indoor market. Their relationship comes under fire; however, with the arrival of Qun's divorced mother who, unaware that her daughter is gay, tries to set her up with a man. Further complicating matters is the appearance of Qun's ex-girlfriend, Junjun, now wanted by the police for killing her abusive father. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9137
Kaboom. 2011, 1 videodisc (86 min.). Smith is an 18-year-old living the life of a college freshman who is lusting after his straight roommate, hanging out with his lesbian bestie, and trying to decide, if he can, whether he digs boys or girls. Feature film. DVD 9321
Kaboom. 2011. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Smith is an 18-year-old living the life of a college freshman who is lusting after his straight roommate, hanging out with his lesbian bestie, and trying to decide, if he can, whether he digs boys or girls. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9321
Karmen Geï. 2005. Library of African cinema: New African cinema: Library of African cinema (Videodisc): New African cinema (Videodisc). 1 videodisc (82 min.). Karmen escapes prison through her lesbian relationship with the warden. She then wrecks the marriage and career of a police corporal by making him her lover and co-conspirator in a smuggling ring. She abandons the corporal who, in a fit of jealous rage, stabs her. Contains much singing and dancing. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6650
Kiss of the spider woman. 2008. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). Luis, a homosexual, and Valentin, a political prisoner are mismatched cell mates in a South American prison. To escape reality Luis invents romantic movies, while Valentin tries to keep his mind on the situation he's in. Eventually, the two men come to understand and respect one another. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5187
Kissing Jessica Stein. 2002. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Fed up with her fruitless search for "Mr. Right" and tired of blind dates from hell, attractive journalist Jessica Stein whimsically responds to a classified ad-- from Helen! Making and breaking new rules of dating as they go, the two women muddle through an earnest but hilarious courtship that blurs the lines between friendship and romantic love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1986
Kumu Hina: The true meaning of aloha. 1 videodisc (77 min.). "Kumu Hina is a powerful film about the struggle to maintain Pacific Islander culture and values within the westernized society of modern day Hawai'i. It is told through the lens of an extraordinary Native Hawaiian who is both a proud and confident mahu, or transgender woman, and an honored and respected kumu, or teacher, cultural practitioner, and community leader."--Container. DVD 13285
La bocca del lupo = The wolf's mouth. 2010, 1 videodisc (76 min.). A touching tale of an enduring love found in the most improbable of places, Pietro Marcello's award-winning docufiction hybrid charts the life and relationship of Enzo and Mary, a couple living in the slums of the Italian city of Genoa. The unlikely romance begins in prison, where Enzo, a macho hardman serving a long stretch for shooting a police officer, meets Mary Monaco, a transsexual inmate serving time for prostitution, who works in the laundry repairing clothes. Falling for each other very quickly, Mary promises to wait for Enzo once she gets out of prison. When she is released, Mary finds a home for them to share, but in the meantime, she becomes addicted to heroin. DVD 10524
La bocca del lupo The wolf's mouth. 2010. 1 videodisc (76 min.). A touching tale of an enduring love found in the most improbable of places, Pietro Marcello's award-winning docufiction hybrid charts the life and relationship of Enzo and Mary, a couple living in the slums of the Italian city of Genoa. The unlikely romance begins in prison, where Enzo, a macho hardman serving a long stretch for shooting a police officer, meets Mary Monaco, a transsexual inmate serving time for prostitution, who works in the laundry repairing clothes. Falling for each other very quickly, Mary promises to wait for Enzo once she gets out of prison. When she is released, Mary finds a home for them to share, but in the meantime, she becomes addicted to heroin. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10524
La otra familia. 2012, 1 videodisc (128 min.). When Nina, a drug addict is sent to prison, her young son Hendrix is left to fend for himself. The boy winds up in the custody of Jean Paul and Chema, a gay couple. After their initial misgivings, the couple end up loving Hendrix, whose innocence captures their hearts. Unfortunately, Nina wants her son back, but Jean Paul and Chema are determined to fight for the boy's well being. Feature film. DVD 3901
Lady valor: The Kristin Beck story. 1 videodisc (84 min.). Former U.S. Navy SEAL Christopher Beck embarks on a new mission as Kristin Beck. Kristin’s journey in search of the American ideals that she protected has a whole new meaning as she lives her life truthfully as a transgender woman. After a lifetime of service, Kristin has learned that her fight for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness did not end on the battlefield. DVD 7106
Laurence anyways. 1 online resource (168 minutes). The third film from Canadian wunderkind Xavier Dolan (I Killed My Mother, Heartbeats) is an epic, visually stunning romance featuring the soundtrack of the year. Laurence, a high school literature teacher and soon-to-be-published author, enjoys an intense and mutually loving relationship with his girlfriend Frédérique. But on the day after his 35th birthday, Laurence confesses to Fred that he longs to become a woman, asking her to support his transformation. The film follows the course of the couple's on-again, off-again relationship throughout the 1990s. DVD 4030 and Streaming video.
Lead with love: Strengthening families through the coming out process. 2010, 1 videodisc (35 min.). Lead with love follows four families' experiences in learning that they have a lesbian, gay, or bisexual child. Created for parents who are working through this news themselves, this poignant and informative film shares real stories from parents and children, factual information from psychologists, educators, and clergy, and concrete guidance to help parents keep their children healthy and safe during this sometimes challenging time. DVD 12372
Leading ladies. 2011, 1 videodisc (102 min.). An infectious comedy about two sisters, their gay best friend, and their overzealous stage mom. The Campari family's life revolves entirely around ballroom dancing, so when one sister gets pregnant and the other plans to waltz out of the closet, their mom's vicarious pursuit of the Midwest Regional Ballroom Competition is in severe jeopardy. Find out what happens, however, as they learn to 'let love lead'. DVD 12392
Leave it on the floor because we all need a place to belong. 2012, 1 videodisc (105 min.). In this high energy, smash hit musical, black gay teen Brad is taken in by the ragtag members of the struggling House of Eminence (led by aging ball-legend and house mother Queer Latina). Featuring music by Beyonce music director Kim Burse, and choreography by Beyonce dance master, Fran Gaston Jr., this exuberant musical directed by Sheldon Larry was inspired by Paris is Burning, and is an uplifting ode to the wild, funky and heart-aching life of this underground subculture. DVD 11197
L'inconnu du lac = Stranger by the lake. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Franck spends his summer vacation searching for companionship and sexual encounters at a popular cruising spot on the shores of a picturesque lake in rural France. One day, he meets Michel, an attractive yet darkly mysterious man and falls blindly in love. When a death occurs, Franck and Michel become the primary suspects but they choose to ignore the dangers and instead continue to engage in their passionate and potentially lethal relationship. Feature film. DVD 11623
Looking both ways: H.I.P.S. syringe exchange. 2009, 1 streaming video file (11 min). A profile piece on H.I.P.S., a D.C. non-profit that is fighting the AIDS epidemic among transgender citizens. DVD 2869 and Streaming video.
Love and sex in China. 1 online resource (50 min.). As China changes at an awesome rate, becoming more industrialized, urban and westernized, this film explores how this has impacted traditional relationships between men and women. Our guide is a young journalist, Yang Li Ne, whose parents have just divorced and whose own marriage is unraveling. She speaks about love and sex with young Bejingers, as well as older couples from the villages. Many of the young are afraid of commitment and are cynical about love and marriage. Money, not love, they say, is the basis for marriage. Prostitution is rampant; an estimated 6% of the national revenue comes from prostitution. Older couples reflect on the vanishing traditions that have given their marriages stability. A young gay man who was hesitant to be identified describes the homophobia in Chinese society and the secrecy with which gay and lesbians must lead their lives. He talks about the difference between making love and having sex. Examples of China's traditional erotic art, which was nurtured by the imperial court, are laced through the film. This documentary would be rated R. Streaming video.
Love free or die. 2012, 1 videodisc (82 min.). "This documentary tells the story of Gene Robinson, the first openly gay Bishop in Christendom. Gene has stood firmly by both his sexuality and his religion, and in the process of asserting himself and his civil rights has sparked worldwide controversy. This film addresses issues of institutionalized homophobia, social injustice, and the importance of refusing to be anything but oneself; even in the face of contempt." -- Kino Lorber Education. DVD 9070
Loving Annabelle. 2006. 1 videodisc (79 min.). The controversial story of Annabelle, a precocious Senator's daughter, who falls in love with her Catholic school teacher, Simone. After Simone is assigned to control the rebellious student, she instead finds herself drawn into Annabelle's world. As their attraction builds, the two women must cope with the reactions of those around them. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14911
Making the boys. 2011, 1 videodisc (93 min.). "Explores the drama, struggle, and enduring legacy of the first-ever gay play and subsequent Hollywood movie to successfully reach a mainstream audience. The boys in the band sparked heated controversy that still exists four decades later. Featuring anecdotes from the surviving cast and filmmakers"--Container. Streaming video.
Mala mala. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Explores intimate moments, performances, friendships and activism of trans identifying people, drag queens and other who defy typical gender identities in Puerto Rico. DVD 12965
Memories of a penitent heart = Memorias de un corazón penitente. 2 videodiscs (72 min.). "Twenty five years after Miguel died from AIDS, his niece, filmmaker Cecilia Aldarondo, embarks on an excavation into a quagmire of unresolved family drama. Like many gay men in the 1980s, Miguel moved from Puerto Rico to New York City; he found a career in theater and a rewarding relationship. Yet, on his deathbed he grappled to reconcile his homosexuality with his Catholic upbringing. Now, decades after his death, Cecilia locates Miguel's lover Robert, who has been shunned and demonized by the family, in order to understand the whole story. Braiding recently discovered home movies, interviews, and contemporary vérité footage, Memories of a Penitent Heart dissects a family secret while exploring the AIDS crisis and the rarely heard story of Latino artists who died in the early days of the epidemic. This is a moving story about mistakes of the past and second chances that also questions how faith is used in times of crisis."--Tribeca Film Festival website, viewed December 28, 2016. DVD 13826
Milk. 2009, 1 videodisc (129 min.). His life changed history. His courage changed lives. Harvey Milk is a middle-aged New Yorker who, after moving to San Francisco, became a Gay Rights activist and city politician. On his third attempt, he was elected to San Francisco's Board of Supervisors in 1977. His election makes him the first openly gay man to be elected to public office in the United States. The following year, both he and the city's mayor, George Moscone, were shot to death by former city supervisor, Dan White, who blamed his former colleagues for denying White's attempt to rescind his resignation from the board. Based on the inspiring true story of Harvey Milk. Feature film. DVD 5460
Misfits. 1 online resource (73 minutes). In Tulsa, Oklahoma, a tiny youth center called OpenArms Youth Project is squeezed in between two of the city's two thousand churches. The center welcomes young LGBT kids between thirteen and nineteen, who have decided to come out in a very religious society. But the prize for being yourself is high - and you end up becoming a MISFIT. The three main characters: Larissa, Benny and “D” all go to the center, where they find love and support to confront the daily drama they are facing. While the general public opinion towards gays in the USA is slowly changing, this coming-of-age story closely follows the three young protagonists as they struggle to achieve a sense of self in a community that still widely condemns homosexuality. Streaming video.
Mississippi Queen: The GLBT Community and Ex-gay Ministries in the South. 1 streaming video file (63 min.). This critically acclaimed documentary by gay filmmaker Paige Williams explores the complex relationship between the GLBT community and ex-gay ministries in the South. Her personal struggle to reconnect with her parents, Judy and Jerry-devout Southern Baptists and founders of Mississippi's only ex-gay ministry-forms the core of a gentle yet probing film that challenges stereotypes, homophobia, the concept of identity, and collective shared beliefs about sexuality and religion. Mississippi Queen is "even-keeled and two-sided," says Paige, and "looks at both sides of the coin-homosexuality is a sin and homosexuality is not a sin." Additional commentary is provided by ex-gay ministers Wendy Leger and Sarah Cart, Love in Action's John Smid, and others who offer their opinions, reactions, and insights. Streaming video.
Moonlight. 1 videodisc (approx. 111 min.). A young black man struggles to find his place in the world while growing up in a rough neighborhood of Miami. Feature film. DVD 13759
Mr. Angel. 1 videodisc (68 min.). Documentary shot over six years that chronicles the extraordinary life of transgender advocate, educator, and porn pioneer Buck Angel. Buck has survived addiction, homelessness, suicide, and relentless opposition to his gender expression. It explores his moving story to understand the complexities of someone who has overcome incredible obstacles, then shamelessly sought the spotlight and its backlash to share his message of empowerment. DVD 12493
Mutantes punk porn feminism. 1 online resource (92 min.). Is pornography an acceptable form of expression - and if so, can distinctions be drawn between different forms of pornography? This documentary raises all of these questions, seeking to provide the answers from the perspective of pro-sex feminism, which asserts that pornography must be wrested from patriarchal control, and that in the hands of women and sexual minorities, it can become a tool of liberation. Director Virginie Despentes (Baise-moi) takes a wide ranging look at the movement and maps the evolution of pro-sex, or "post-porn", from its pioneers like Annie Sprinkle to newer European work like Emilie Jouvet's Too Much Pussy! Filled with roughly two dozen interviews with the likes of B. Ruby Rich, Lydia Lunch, Annie Sprinkle, Catherine Breillat, Del La Grace Volcano, Maria Beatty, Coralie Trinh Thi, Carol Queen, Lynnee Breedlove, Norma Jean Almodovar, and other members of the post-porn movement, Mutantes is part of a very queer feminist revolution. Exploring in comprehensive fashion the various sexual niches of punk porn, queer porn, S and M, and transgender, the film goes a long way toward demystifying a movement that has been several decades in the making. Streaming video.
No Look Pass: The Story of Basketball Star Emily Tay. 1 streaming video file (87 min.). Balancing Hoop Dreams-style sports drama with a rich exploration of cultural and sexual identity, this film tells the story of Harvard point guard Emily Tay - specifically, her quest to play professionally in Europe, transcend the expectations of her conservative Burmese-born parents, and live openly and happily as a lesbian. While Tay's signature "no look pass" leaves no doubt as to her prowess on the court, she faces more difficulty with challenges like forestalling an arranged marriage or fitting into Harvard's daunting social and academic environment. Emily must discover her own American dream - which means moving to Germany, falling in love with a U.S. servicewoman living under the "don't ask, don't tell" policy, becoming a team leader, and telling her parents who she really is. In short, she must find the courage to live her own game plan, even if she has to improvise. Streaming video.
Off and Running. 1 online resource (75 min.). With white Jewish lesbians for parents and two adopted brothers - one mixed-race and one Korean - Brooklyn teen Avery grew up in a unique and loving household. But when her curiosity about her African-American roots grows, she decides to contact her birth mother. This choice propels Avery into her own complicated exploration of race, identity, and family that threatens to distance her from the parents she's always known. She begins staying away from home, starts skipping school, and risks losing her shot at the college track career she had always dreamed of. But when Avery decides to pick up the pieces of her life and make sense of her identity, the results are inspiring. Off and Running follows Avery to the brink of adulthood, exploring the strength of family bonds and the lengths people must go to become themselves. Streaming video.
One against one. 1 videodisc (32 min.). Student activist Jacob Tobias fights against North Carolina's anti-equality measure, Amendment One. DVD 74
Orange is the new black. 4 videodiscs (730 minutes). Brooklynite Piper Chapman, whose wild past comes back to haunt her and results in her arrest and detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper trades her comfortable New York life for an orange prison jumpsuit and finds unexpected conflict and camaraderie amidst an eccentric group of inmates. TV series. DVD 11416
Oscar Wilde: A Concise Biography. 1 streaming video file (36 min.). This introduction to the life and literature of Oscar Wilde from the Famous Authors series begins by introducing Wilde's passionately political, literary, and flamboyant parents and nineteenth century Dublin, the earliest and strongest influences on the writer. Wilde went on to study classics at Oxford and develop his talents. The film discusses Walter Pater's large influence on Wilde's philosophy, most importantly his idea that everything beautiful was good, and the cultivation of Wilde's theatrical and decadent persona. Eventually, Wilde married, began editing 'The Woman's World,' and garnering literary success for his novel The Picture of Dorian Gray and his plays. The film finally explores the major scandal of Wilde's life, when he was criminally charged for homosexual acts which, while not secret in society, were formally exposed by his lover Lord Alfred Douglas' father. Wilde went to jail for this offense, and there wrote The Ballad of Reading Gaol and De Profundis. Streaming video.
Out at work. 2009, 1 videodisc. [Original version] (56 min.) Looks at the lives of three gay workers as they struggle to gain equal rights and eradicate homophobic treatment in the workplace. [Out at work: America undercover] (ca. 58 min.) Includes two of the stories found in the orginal version of Out at work as well as the story of a stock trader who was maltreated and sexually harassed by his employers because of his sexual orientation. DVD 12043
Out in America. 1 streaming video file (57 min.). This critically acclaimed PBS documentary is an uplifting collection of unique, transformative stories and inspiring personal narratives told through the lens of the country's most prominent LGBT figures and pioneers, as well as many average, yet extraordinary, citizens from gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. The program weaves together diverse stories- from urban and rural America, from the heartland to New England, from San Francisco to Harlem. Deeply moving and often humorous, viewers will get a glimpse of awakenings, first crushes, unlikely soul mates, intimacy, and liberation. While separated by circumstance and upbringing, the film's subjects are all united in their shared experiences of self-discovery, coming out, pride and love as well as a triumph over adversity and a true sense of belonging. Against the backdrop of historical events, each also traces their own hopes, struggles, influences and contributions towards advancements in equality and broad social change. Streaming video.
Out in Mumbai: A Victory for India's LGBT Community. 1 online resource (52 min.). Established under British colonial rule, Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code criminalized consensual sex between adults of the same gender, declaring it "against the order of nature." On July 2, 2009, the Delhi High Court passed a landmark judgment repealing the antiquated clause, thus fulfilling a basic demand of gay rights activists and bringing closure to a decade-long legal battle. This film follows three members of Mumbai's LGBT community as they make their way through the city and celebrate the first anniversary of the historic verdict. Through their widely varied personal stories, the documentary explores the reality of living a queer identity in today's India - a struggle between tradition and change, and a journey towards true equality. Streaming video.
Out in the dark. 1 online resource (96 minutes). Nimer, an ambitious Palestinian student in the West Bank, dreams of a better life abroad. One fateful night in Tel Aviv, he meets Roy, an Israeli lawyer, and the two fall in love. As their relationship deepens, they are both confronted with the harsh realities of a Palestinian society that refuses to accept Nimer for his sexual identity, and an Israeli society that rejects him for his nationality. When Nimer s close friend is caught hiding illegally in Tel Aviv and sent back to the West Bank, where he is brutally murdered, Nimer is forced to choose between the life he thought he wanted and his love for Roy. Streaming video.
Out in the open. 1 online resource (89 minutes). Out in the Open will, once and for all, destroy the misconceptions, fears, and myths about the LGBTQ community. This uplifting documentary is geared towards at risk youth across the world, as well as their families, friends, and teachers. Featuring interviews with celebrities, politicians, and everyday allies who openly embrace the LGBTQ community, this feel-good film asserts that no single person is the same and that all people should be celebrated. DVD 12287 and Streaming video.
Out in the silence. 2010, 1 videodisc (56 min.). Filmmaker Joe Wilson returns to his hometown of Oil City, Pa., after his wedding announcement appears in his small hometown newspaper causes controversy, and he receives a plea for help from the mother of a gay teen who is being tormented in school. Challenges viewers to rethink their values and close the gaps that divide communities on this controversial issue. DVD 6508
Out Late. 1 online resource. (63 min.). Out Late is an inspirational and moving documentary about five individuals who made the courageous and life-altering decision to come out as lesbian, gay, or transgender, after the age of 55. Why did they wait until their 50's, 60's, or 70's to come out? And what was the turning point that caused each of them to openly declare their sexuality? From Canada to Florida to Kansas, we explore what ultimately led these dynamic individuals to make the liberating choice to live openly and honestly amongst their family, friends and community, perhaps for the first time in their lives. Their stories are "nothing less than extraordinary." Please preview prior to using this video as it contains adult content. Streaming video.
Outrage. 2010, 1 videodisc (89 min.). Reveals politicians who lobby for anti-gay legislation while leading secret lives, the double standards the media sets for these politicians, and the harm inflicted. Includes analysis from Congressman Barney Frank, former New Jersey Governor Jim McGreevey, activist Larry Kramer, and others. DVD 7189