Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Women Directors: H - Q

Titles available on DVD and streaming as of Sept. 2014.

Women Directors

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2014.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings on prison topics (including VHS tapes) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

Haines, Randa
Children of a lesser god
. 1986, 1 videodisc (118 min.).  Widescreen DVD collection. A love story about John Leeds, an idealistic special education teacher, and a headstrong deaf girl named Sarah. At first, Leeds sees Sarah as a teaching challenge. But soon their relationship blossoms into a love so passionate it shatters the barrier of silence that keeps them apart. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5040

Hardwicke, Catherine
Thirteen. 2003, 1 videodisc (100 min.).  Los Angeles teenager and overachiever Tracy is an excellent student in her seventh grade class and gets along well with her mother, Melanie. She fears that she's not cool enough to be friends with Evie, the most popular girl in school. Fueled with genuine adolescent energy, Tracy follows Evie's lead into the harsh realities of sex, drugs, and hard-edged adventure. Consumed with temptations and conflicting desires, Tracy loses her good-girl identity, greatly affecting her relationship with her mom. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 759 

Hardwicke, Catherine
Twilight. 2008, 2 videodiscs (122 min.).  Isabella Swan moves to gloomy Forks, Washington to live with her father. She begins her junior year in high school and becomes fascinated by Edward Cullen. He holds a dark secret which is only known by his family. To Edward, Bella is what he has waited 90 years for, a true soul mate. But he knows the further they progress in their relationship the more he is putting Bella and those close to her at risk. Edward tries to warn Bella that she should leave him, but she refuses. James, a new vampire, finds it a challenge to hunt Bella down for her irresistible blood. Now, the game is on and James will not stop until she is killed.                HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6891 

Harron, Mary
American psycho
. 2000, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  A young, handsome man with a Harvard education and success on Wall Street has terrible urges that take him in pursuit of women, greed, and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 418*

Harron, Mary
I shot Andy Warhol. 1995, 1 videodisc (103 min.).  Avant-garde cinema. A journey into the cultural whirlwind of events surrounding Valerie Solanas' shooting of pop-art superstar Andy Warhol.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5546 

Harron, Mary
The notorious Bettie Page., 2005, 1 videodisc (90 min.).  Bettie Page grew up in a conservative religious family in Tennessee and became a photo model sensation in 1950s New York. Bettie's legendary pin-up photos made her the target of a Senate investigation into pornography, and transformed her into an erotic icon who continues to enthrall fans to this day.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3822 

Heckerling, Amy
Clueless
. 1995, 1 videodisc (97 min.).  Still as smart and charming as ever, Clueless gets a fresh, sassy makeover for this new 'Whatever!' Collector's Edition. Alicia Silverstone sparkles as Cher, the matchmaking 15-year-old Beverly Hills High schooler who has shopping and boys on her mind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1844 

Heckerling, Amy
Fast times at Ridgemont High
. 1982, 1 videodisc (90 min.).  A comedy that chronicles the trials and tribulations of several high school students.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6470

Holland, Agnieszka  
Europa Europa
. 1990, 1 videodisc (114 min.).  The true story of a Jewish teenager who survived World War II by living as a Nazi for 7 years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4959

Holland, Agnieszka
Shot in the heart. 2001, 1 videodisc (97 min.).  Its January 1977 and Gary Gilmore is about to become the first convicted murderer to be executed in a decade. Gary's youngest brother, Mikal, can help prevent the execution, but first he has to get to know the brother he barely remembers. Born of a brutal father, raised in a family haunted by death, religion and superstition, the brothers discover their shared past. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10054 

Holland, Agnieszka
Total eclipse
. 1995, 1 videodisc (112 min.).  Paul Verlaine, a writer, is torn between his growing infaturation with the genius poet Arthur Rimbaud and the domestic demands of his patient wife. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7120

Holofcener, Nicole
Enough said
. 2013. 1 videodisc (93 min.).  Divorced mom Eva may be falling for Albert, a sweet, funny, like-minded divorced man. But as their relationship blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, who's always complaining about her ex-husband. When Eva realizes that Albert is the target of Marianne's rants, she begins to question her own perceptions about first impressions and second chances. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11110

Holofcener, Nicole
Please give. 2010, 1 videodisc (90 min.).  Kate has a lot on her mind. There's the ethics problem of buying furniture at estate sales and marking it up at her Manhattan store. There's the materialism problem of not wanting her teenage daughter to want the expensive things that she wants. There's the marriage problem of sharing a partnership in parenting, business, and life with husband Alex but sensing doubt nibbling at the foundations. And worst of all are the neighbors, cranky, old Andra and the two granddaughters who look after her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8006 

Holofencer, Nicole
Friends with money
. 2006, 1 videodisc (88 min.).  A story of four best friends whose comfortable lives are thrown off balance as the realities of middle age set in. DVD 8647 

Hunt, Courtney
Frozen river
. 2009, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  Takes place in the days before Christmas near a little-known border crossing on the Mohawk reservation between New York State and Quebec. Ray, a white woman, and Lila, a Mohawk, both single mothers facing desperate circumstances, are drawn by the lure of fast money into the world of border smuggling across the frozen water of the St. Lawrence River. DVD 5921

Jenkins, Patty
Monster. 2003, 1 videodisc (109 min.).  Based on the true story of Aileen Wuornos, a prostitute who was executed in 2002 for the brutal murders of at least 6 men in Florida. Homeless most of her life, Wuornos subsisted by working as a prostitute. In Florida, down to her last five dollars and pondering suicide, she stopped into a bar for a beer where she meets Selby. One night, after a john attacks her, Aileen pulls a gun and kills the man. Aileen's loathing for the men who pay her for sex becomes so extreme that she begins killing her customers regardless of their behavior.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 876 

Jenkins, Patty
The killing. 2011, 4 videodiscs (587 min.).  Following a shocking murder, the lives of the police, suspects and victim's family are intricately woven together in this 'spellbinding' (TV Guide) series. This engrossing series has earned huge acclaim, as well as a Golden Globe nomination and multiple Emmy nominations in its first season.                    HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4311 

Jolie, Angelina
In the land of blood and honey. 2011, 1 videodisc.  Danijel is a soldier fighting for the Serbs, and Ajla is a Bosnian held captive in the camp he oversees. They two knew each other before the war, and could have found love with each other. But as the armed conflict takes hold of their lives, their relationship grows darker, their motives and connection to one another ambiguous, and their allegiances uncertain.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10303

July, Miranda
Me and you and everyone we know. 2005, 1 videodisc (92 min.).  A lonely shoe salesman and an eccentric performance artist struggle to connect in this unique take on contemporary life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2480 

July, Miranda
Miranda July videoworks. 1996, 1 videodisc (57 min.).  Atlanta: Interview of a 12-year-old Olympic swimmer and her mother (both played by July) during the athlete's preparation for the 1996 summer Olympic Games in Atlanta. The amateurist: A video about surveillance, identity, watching and being watched. Nest of tens: children and adults in unusual scenarios, linked by a lecturer enumerating phobias. Getting stronger everyday: an abstract representation of two boys who have been abducted and then returned to their families and their inability to reintegrate into those families.  DVD 11003 

July, Miranda
The future
. 2011, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  The story of a thirtysomething couple whose decision to adopt a cat changes their perspective on life, literally altering the course of time and testing their faith in themselves and each other. DVD 9323

Kelly Reichardt
Old joy. 2006, 1 videodisc (76 min.).  Friends, Kurt and Mark, reunite for a weekend camping trip in the Cascade mountain range east of Portland, Oregon. For Mark, the weekend outing offers a respite from the pressure of his imminent fatherhood; for Kurt, a long series of carefree adventures.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4129 

Knowles, Julia
We are the future. 2007, 1 videodisc (119 min.).  Nearly two decades after producing the historic 'We Are the World' recording, Quincy Jones gathers many of the world's best-recognized artists and personalities for a global concert marking the launch of a worldwide humanitarian effort. DVD 8816

Kopple, Barbara and Cecilia Peck, Cecilia
Shut up & sing. 2006, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  Follow the Dixie chicks, the top selling female band of all-time, through the now infamous anti-Bush comment made by the groups lead singer Natalie Maines in 2003. Follow the lives and careers of the Dixie Chicks over a period of three years during which they were under political attack and received death threats, while continuing to live their lives, have children, and make country music. At a time when the United States is fighting for democracy and freedom in another country, it raises questions about our own right to freedom of speech and the negative consequences it sometimes has. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2704 

Kopple, Barbara
American dream
. 1990, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  American dream: True story of a workers 1985-1986 strike against Geo. A. Hormel & Company in Austin, Minnesota. When the company made $2 million in profits and then cut their worker's salary by $2 an hour, the workers had only one option: strike. Children of the night: "More than a million Jewish children died in the Holocaust. This brief film is the result of a world-wide search for archival material showing some of these children. The footage we discovered - in the U.S.A., Israel, Britain, France and Germany - was often in extremely poor condition and always silent. It reveals the barest trace of what was lost."--Title screen. 18 min.  DVD 6051

Kopple, Barbara
Harlan County, USA. 1976, 1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.).  In 1973, when the Brookside coal miners voted for the United Mine Workers union, the Duke Power Company refused it. Barbara Kopple documented the struggle between the miners and the company, causing a big uproar.  DVD 2032 

Kudlacek, Martina
In the mirror of Maya Deren
. 2001, 1 videodisc (103 min.).  Interweaves excerpts from some of Maya Deren's films with archival footage and commentary by acolytes and contemporaries, such as Stan Brakhage and Jonas Mekas. Includes excerpts from the films: At land, Ritual in transfigured time, and Meshes of the afternoon.  DVD 1269 

Kusan, Karyn
Girlfight
. 2001, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  Diana Guzman is always fighting, whether at home in the housing projects with her abusive dad or at high school. She finds a new outlet for her anger at her brother's boxing gym. With hard-core training from veteran boxing coach Hector, Diana learns she has the guts and talent to be a contender. DVD 204 

Lax, Lisa; Stern, Nancy and Kopple, Barbara
Unmatched directed by Lisa Lax and Nancy Stern; The house of Steinbrenner directed by Barbara Kopple ; Into the wind. 2010,  1 videodisc (157 min.).  Unmatched: No individual sports rivalry can boast the intensity and impact of the one between Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova. Fierce competitors, the two lifted each other to heights that each couldn't have reached without the other. On the court, their battles were fought hard. But even more remarkable is what happened off the court, as they formed a strong and lasting friendship, bonding them to this day. Pull up a chair and join an intimate one-on-one conversation between Chris and Martina. The House of Steinbrenner: Love them or hate them, the Yankees remain the most successful team in American sports history. Behind George M. Steinbrenner, a man who with his passing in July 2010 proved to be as iconic to the team as its pinstripes, the Yankees restored their storied sports stature with 7 World Championships. Through all the ups and downs of his reign,  “The Boss” managed to link the legends and legacy of Yankees past to Yankees present, and in so doing assured the heritage of older generations of Yankee fans would be carried on by younger generations well into the 21st Century. An essential part of that accomplishment included the demolition of the old Yankee Stadium to the construction of the new one, and the hand over of ownership from George himself to his heirs, led by his youngest son, Hal.  Two time Oscar winning filmmaker Barbara Kopple documents this historic moment of transition for the team, the family and its fans -- from the final day at the old Yankee Stadium, to the opening of the new Stadium, and from passage of the George Steinbrenner era to the Hal Steinbrenner era, all of which was magnificently capped off with the Yankees' 27th World Championship. Into the wind: Three years after having his right leg amputated six inches above the knee, Terry Fox set out to spread awareness and raise funds for cancer research by running across Canada. Anonymous at the start of his journey, Fox steadily captured the heart of a nation with his marathon of hope. After 143 days and two-thirds of the way across Canada, Fox's journey came to an abrupt end when newly discovered tumors took over his body. Two-time NBA MVP Steve Nash shares Fox's incredible story of hope. 

Lemmons, Kasi and Samuel L. Jackson
Eve's bayou
. 1997, 1 videodisc (108 min.).  Roz Batiste is a beautiful and dedicated mother of three, who is forced to admit that her family is falling apart due to her philandering husband Louis. Her younger daughter, Eve, witnesses one of her father's infidelities. Struggling to make sense of what she has seen, Eve turns to her older sister Cisely, who dismisses her in fear of the truth, and then to her Aunt Mozelle, a known psychic and rumored black widow. Unable to find the understanding she is looking for Eve decides to take matters into her own hands. For the Batiste family, the ties that bind may not be strong enough to keep them together, and what they learn will change their lives forever. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 255 

Lemmons, Kasi
Talk to me. 2007, 1 videodisc (118 min.).  A look at the life and career of charismatic Washington D.C.-area radio personality Ralph "Petey" Green, who was renowned for his "tell it like it is" approach to politics and race. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4954

Lemmons, Kasi
The caveman's valentine
. 2001, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Homeless and misunderstood, Julliard-trained piano genius, Romulus, finds a frozen corpse outside his Manhattan cave. Romulus risks his remaining sanity to prove who committed the murder for the sake of justice. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 447 

Livingston, Jennie
Paris is burning. 1990, 1 videodisc (76 min.).  A documentary about the young homosexual men of Harlem who originated "voguing" and turned these stylized dance competitions into glittering expressions of fierce personal pride. A story of street-wise urban survival, gay self-affirmation, and the pursuit of a desperate dream.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1650 

Llosa, Claudia
La teta asustada = The milk of sorrow. 2009, 1 videodisc (94 min.).  Fausta suffers from 'The Milk of Sorrow, ' an illness transmitted through mother's milk by women who've been raped during Peru's civil wars. Stricken with the fear that she's contracted the illness from her mother's breast milk, Fausta goes to extreme lengths to protect her own sexuality and safety. After her mother's sudden death, she finds herself compelled to embark on a frightening journey for re-awakening, freedom, and wholeness. DVD 8084

Llosa, Claudia
Madeinusa
. 2006, 1 videodisc (108 min.).  Film Movement series. Madeinusa is a girl aged 14 with a sweet Indian face who lives in an isolated village in the Cordillera Blanca Mountain range of Peru. This strange place is characterized by its religious fervor. From Good Friday at three o'clock in the afternoon  to Easter Sunday, the whole village can do whatever it feels like. During the two holy days sin does not exist: God is dead and can't see what is happening. Everything is accepted and allowed, without remorse. Year after year, Madeinusa and her sister Chale, and her father Don Cayo, the Mayor and local big shot, maintain this tradition without questioning it. However, everything changes with the arrival in the village of Salvador, a young geologist from Lima, who will unknowingly change the destiny of the girl.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3052 

Lupino, Ida
The bigamist
. 1953, 1 videodisc (79 min.).  Timeless classics. A travelling salesman is caught between two spouses, one an upper-crust lady and the other a tough-talking waitress. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8945

Lupino, Ida
The hitch-hiker. 1953, 1 videodisc (70 min.).  Classic film noir that concerns two middle-class American family men (Edmond O'Brien and Frank Lovejoy) on vacation in Mexico on a long-awaited fishing trip.  Suddenly their car and their very lives are commandeered by a psychopathic serial killer who would not hesitate to shoot them down in cold blood.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7276 

Marshall, Penny
Awakenings
. 1990, 1 videodisc (ca. 120 min.).  Dr. Malcolm Sayer (Robin Williams) is a shy research physician who uses an experimental drug to "awaken" the catatonic victims of a rare disease. The awakening of the first patient proves a rebirth for the doctor, too, as the patient reveals life's simple but sweet pleasures to the introverted doctor. Encouraged by Leonard's stunning recovery, Sayer administers the drug to other patients. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8861 

Marshall, Penny
A league of their own. 1992. 1 videodisc (127 min.). In 1943, a washed-up ballplayer is hired to coach in the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League while the male pros are at war. Reluctant at first, he finds himself drawn back into the game by the heart and heroics of his team. Based on a true story.

Marshall, Penny
Big
. 1998, 1 videodisc (104 min.).  A 12-year-old boy's wish comes true when he asks a mechanical carnival genie to make him 'big'. He manages to land a job at a toy company where he experiences the complications of being an adult. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4644

Marshall, Penny
Renaissance man. 1994, 1 videodisc (128 min.). An unemployed advertising executive takes a job teaching Army recruits English. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1529

Matsumoto, Takako
Yayoi Kusama: I love me. 2008, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  New people artist series: Documentary showing Japanese avant-garde artist Yayoi Kusama at work.  DVD 8812

May, Elaine
A new leaf
. 1971, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  Henry Graham is a man with a problem: he has run through his entire inheritance and is completely unequipped to provide for himself. His childhood guardian, Uncle Harry, refuses to give him a dime, so Henry devises a plan with the help of his imaginative butler to make his money the old-fashioned way--he can marry it.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10696 

May, Elaine
Mikey & Nicky
. 1977, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Nicky has embezzled a fortune from his Mafia bosses and is on the run. Nicky's only friend, Mikey tries to help him escape; or will he lead him into a trap?  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8607 

May, Elaine
The heartbreak kid. 1972, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Lenny Cantrow, an ambitious 27-year-old sporting goods salesman, meets a girl named Lila in a Manhattan singles bar. Following a brief courtship, Lenny proposes marriage. On their honeymoon in Florida, Lenny decides that he's made a mistake. Lenny falls head over heels in love with a college student vacationing with her wealthy parents but there is one small complication-- he's a newlywed!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 409 

Mehta, Deepa
Earth
. 1998, 1 videodisc (101 min.).  A romantic drama set in 1947 in Lahore before India and Pakistan became independent, where Hindu, Sikh, Parsee, and Muslim share a peaceful co-existence. Events are seen from the point of view of eight-year-old Lenny, a girl from an affluent Parsee family. Lenny's nanny, Shantya, is involved with the Muslim Masseur. When a train of Muslims arrives at the local depot and all the passengers are found murdered, the various sects turn against each other, and the city is soon aflame. VHS 6718

Mehta, Deepa
Fire
. 1996, 1 videodisc (108 min.).  Banned in India, this film was the first to confront lesbianism in that country. Radha Kapur (Azmi) is in a barren, arranged marriage to an amateur swami who seeks enlightenment through celibacy. Her life takes an irresistible turn when Mundu (Chowdhry), her beautiful young sister-in-law, seeks to free herself from the confines of her own loveless marriage and they find solace and love in each other's arms.  DVD 184

Mehta, Deepa
Midnight's children. 2007, 1 videodisc (148 min.).  At the stroke of midnight on August 15, 1947, as India proclaims independence from Great Britain, two newborn babies are switched by a nurse in a Bombay hospital. Saleem Sinai, the illegitimate son of a poor woman, and Shiva, the offspring of a wealthy couple, are fated to live the destiny meant for each other. Their lives become mysteriously intertwined and are inextricably linked to India's whirlwind journey of triumphs and disasters.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2855 

Mehta, Deepa
Water. 2005, 1 videodisc (117 min.).  A Hindu widow in 1938 could throw herself on her husband's funeral pyre, marry her husband's younger brother or live in poverty and self-denial from then on. When eight-year-old Chuyia is widowed, she is sent to a home in the Holy City of Varanasi where Hindu widows live in penitence. Her feisty presence affects the other residents, forcing each to confront their faith and society's prejudices, especially a young woman who has fallen in love with a follower of Gandhi. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3498 

Meyers, Nancy
It's complicated. 2009, 1 videodisc (121 min.).  A hilarious look at marriage, divorce, and everything in between. With a thriving Santa Barbara bakery, a new romance heating up, and her divorce finally behind her, Jane Adler has her life all figured out, until she finds herself trapped between the perfect new beau and her philandering ex-husband who's determined to win her back. When opposites attract all over again, will love be sweeter the second time around? It's ... complicated!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8835 

Meyers, Nancy
Something's gotta give. 2003, 1 videodisc (128 min.).  A middle-aged womanizer falls in love with the mother of his latest youthful conquest, greatly complicating the lives of all involved. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5280

Meyers, Nancy
The holiday. 2006, 1 videodisc (136 min.).  Amanda lives in Los Angeles and is a movie trailer editor. Iris lives in Surrey, England and is a journalist. The two live five thousand miles apart and have never met, but both are dealing with the same problem: men. Amanda just broke up with her cheating boyfriend. Iris has pined for her ex. Amanda comes upon a website that advocates home exchange and the two decide to swap houses for two weeks at Christmas - both with a goal to forget their troubled love lives. Love ends up finding them anyways. Amanda starts a romance with Iris' older brother, Graham, a book editor and Iris starts a romance with a friend of Amanda's, movie composer Miles. With new found romance, both their lives change forever.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5407 

Meyers, Nancy
The parent trap. 1998, 1 videodisc (128 min.).  An updated version of the 1961 Disney classic about separated identical twins. Hallie and Annie meet accidentally at camp and decide to reunite their divorced parents. Bonus features: a gag reel, the making of the movie, visual effects, and commentary. 
HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5305

Meyers, Nancy
What women want. 2000, 1 videodisc (126 min.).  A cocky, chauvinistic ad agency exec magically acquires the ability to hear what women are thinking. He puts this to especially good use with his new superior, whose job he was in line to get. Then competition turns into romance. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5279 

Nair, Mira and Farhan Akhtar, Santosh Sivan and Vishal Bhardwaj
AIDS JaaGO
. 2009, 1 videodisc (80 min.).  "Under the auspices of Mirabai Films and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the AIDS JaaGO project presents four short dramatic films by cutting-edge Indian directors, Mira Nair, Vishal Bhardwaj, Santosh Sivan and Farhan Akhtar, who aim to dismantle myths and misconceptions about HIV / AIDS." -- Container. "Mira Nair's Migration deals with the AIDS virus as the great class leveler in society by following its transmission through interweaving stories linking urban and rural India.  Blood Brothers, directed by award-winning new wave director Vishal Bhardwaj stars Siddhartha (Rang De Basanti) as a young man who gets a positive HIV diagnosis and subsequently allows his life to fall apart.  Farhan Akhtar's Positive follows the story of a young boy and his parents and how they cope with the devastation that AIDS can visit on the family.  Prarambha - The Beginning, directed by renowned cinematographer and director Santosh Sivan, features South Indian superstar Prabhudeva as a truck driver who discovers a young boy stowed away in his vehicle. Sivan explores the question of how society deals with those who are infected." -- Container.  DVD 4908

Nair, Mira
Mississippi masala. 1991, 1 videodisc (ca. 118 min.).  In this exotic and erotic interracial love story, an African American businessman falls for a beautiful Indian immigrant, only to encounter shock and outrage from both families.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1413 

Nair, Mira
Monsoon wedding. 2002, 1 videodisc (115 min.).  Love, lust and hope envelop an upper middle-class Indian family and their world-wide guests as they celebrate for four days the arranged marriage of their daughter to an East Indian man from Texas.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1414

Nair, Mira
Salaam Bombay! 1988, 1 videodisc (116 min.).  Krisha, a ten year old boy, has been abandoned in Bombay by his mother. He tries to earn money to go home while he lives in the streets. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4789 

Nair, Mira
So far from India. 1982, 1 videodisc (49 min.).  This film describes the experiences of a recently arrived Indian immigrant in America, contrasting them with the traditional world of his new bride whom he left behind in India. It seeks to explore the conflicts that arise when Indian culture meets American society. DVD 2517

Nair, Mira
The namesake
. 2007, 1 videodisc (122 min.).  The son of Indian immigrants born in America wants to fit in with fellow New Yorkers, but his family is unwilling to let go of their traditional ways.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3499 

Nair, Mira
The Perez family. 1995, 1 videodisc (113 min.).  MGM DVD. Free-spirited Dottie Perez is leaving Cuba for America, her head filled with dreams of movies, mascara and dates with John Wayne. Strait-laced Juan Perez is headed for a reunion with Carmela, the wife he hasn't seen in 20 years. But when an overworked immigration officer mistakes Dottie and Juan for husband and wife, the stage is set for a merry marital mix-up, and some very unpredictable romances.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7196

Nair, Mira
Vanity fair. 2004, 1 videodisc (140 min.).  Becky is determined to make something of herself. She accepts a job as a nanny for the children of Sir Pitt Crawley. Becky catches the eye of Crawley's son Rawdon. Becky is introduced to London's most exclusive social circle, where she becomes re-acquainted with Amelia. Becky weds Rawdon, but the social and economic stability she dreamed of begins to collapse when he begins drowning his troubles, and soon she turns to the powerful Marquess of Steyne for support. Meanwhile, Amelia's fortunes fall even harder following the death of her husband. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1919

Palcy, Euzhan
A dry white season
. 1989, 1 videodisc (107 min.).  Teacher Ben du Toit sees himself as a caring and just person. When his gardener's son is beaten up by police at a demonstration by black children, he sees that society is built on a foundation of prejudice. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4788

Palcy, Euzhan
Rue Cases-Nègres = Sugar Cane Alley. 1983, 1 videodisc (107 min.).  The teenage life and adventures of young José, who lives in a shanty-town on Martinique in the mid-1930s, comprises the body of this film. José lives with his grandmother and is well aware of the French colonial presence. He gets into mischief, learns valuable lessons on living from an old former slave, drinks too much one time, and even sets fire to one of the run-down shanties. Regardless of his pranks, José never neglects his education. DVD 4893

Polley, Sarah
Away from her. 2006, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  Fiona and Grant are an Ontario couple who have been married for over 40 years. During the twilight of their years, Grant is forced to face the fact that Fiona's 'forgetfulness' actually is Alzheimer's. After Fiona wanders away and is found, the decision is made for her to go into a nursing home. For the first time in their relationship, they are forced to undergo a separation since this is the nursing home 'no-vistors, ' first 30 days policy of a patient's stay. When Grant visits Fiona after the orientation period, he is devastated to find out that not only has she seemingly forgotten him, but she has transferred her affections to another man. As the distance between husband and wife grows, Grant must draw upon his love for Fiona to perform an act of self-sacrifice in order to ensure her happiness. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5103

Polley, Sarah
Stories we tell. 2012, 1 videodisc (ca. 108 min.).  A "genre-twisting film by director Sarah Polley, who investigates the elusive truths of her eclectic family of storytellers as she playfully interrogates a cast of characters who each relate their version of the family mythology. Polley reveals the essence of family as she uncovers the secrets buried deep within-- "--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4623

Potter, Sally
Orlando. 1992, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  "Orlando, an English nobleman, defies the laws of nature with surprising results.  Immortal and highly imaginative, he undergoes a series of extraordinary transformations that humorously, hauntingly illustrate the eternal war between the sexes."—Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 31 

Potter, Sally
Rage. 2009, 1 videodisc (95 min.).  A student sneaks behind the scenes of a huge New York Fashion show and is witness to an accident on the runway that quickly turns into a murder investigation. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 458

Potter, Sally
The tango lesson. 1997, 1 videodisc (105 min.).   Autobiographical account of a filmmaker who abandons her hot Hollywood screenplay (dubbed "Carnage of the Catwalk" by a producer) when she meets a seductive, ambitious dancer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9601