Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Women Directors: R - Z

Titles available on DVD and streaming as of Sept. 2014.

Women Directors

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2014.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings on prison topics (including VHS tapes) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

Ramsay, Lynne
Morvern Callar. 2001, 1 videodisc (97 min.).  Morvern Callar is greeted with a startling surprise, her boyfriend has committed suicide. He has left her a cryptic message on his computer and a manuscript for a novel. She changes the author's name to her own and begins a re-birth of self discovery.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1909 

Ramsay, Lynne
Ratcatcher. 1999, 1 videodisc (94 min.).  A haunting evocation of a troubled Glasgow childhood. Set during Scotland's national garbage strike of the mid-1970's, Ratcatcher explores the experiences of a poor adolescent boy as he struggles to reconcile his dreams and his guilt with the abjection that surrounds him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1938

Ramsay, Lynne
We need to talk about Kevin. 2011, 1 videodisc (112 min.).  "Kevin's mother struggles to love her strange child, despite the increasingly vicious things he says and does as he grows up. But Kevin is just getting started, and his final act will be beyond anything anyone imagined."--Imdb. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10252

Reichardt, Kelly
Meek's cutoff. 2010, 1 videodisc (104 min.).  A wagon train of three families has hired mountain man Stephen Meek to guide them over the Cascade Mountains. Claiming to know a shortcut, Meek leads the group on an unmarked path across the high plain desert, only to become lost in the dry rock and sage. Over the coming days, the emigrants face the scourges of hunger, thirst, and their own lack of faith in each other's instincts for survival. When they encounter a Native American, they must choose between following their guide or an 'enemy.'.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8985 

Reichardt, Kelly
Wendy and Lucy. 2008, 1 videodisc (80 min.).  Wendy is a down-on-her-luck girl who's hoping to turn things around for herself with a summer job in Alaska, but finds herself stranded with no money in a small Oregon town. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5763 

Reiniger, Lotte
Die abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed = The adventures of Prince Achmed
. 1926, 1 videodisc (67 min.).  The Milestone collection. Premiered in Germany in 1926 and is based on the stories from "The Arabian nights", this movie has been hailed as the first full-length animated film. This is the story of a wicked sorcerer who tricks Prince Achmed into mounting a magical flying horse that sends the rider off on a flight to his death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 565 

Riefenstahl, Leni
Olympia. 1936, 1 videodisc (165 min.).  Commissioned by the 1936 Olympic Committee as a documentary on the Berlin Olympics, Riefenstahl combines the poetry of bodies in motion with close-ups of athletes in the heat of competitioon, including American track star Jesse Owen's sprint races. Some say that the production tends to glorify the young male body and express the Nazi attitude toward athletic prowress.  DVD 1663 

Riefenstahl, Leni
Triumph des Willen = Triumph of the will. 1935, 1 videodisc (120 min.).  This film, commissioned by Adolf Hitler to record the 1934 Nazi party rally in Nuremberg, is the "most powerful piece of propaganda ever produced". Included are many scenes of gatherings, marches, and parades. The viewer will also hear speeches given by Hitler, Goering, Goebbels, and Hess as well as samples of monumental architecture designed by Albert Speer. DVD 351 

Rozema, Patricia
I've heard the mermaids singing. 1987, 1 videodisc (81 min.).  Comedy about an organizationally impaired temporary assistant who gets her first pemanent job at the age of 31 working for a curator of an art gallery.
HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6107

Rozema, Patricia
Mansfield park. 1999, 1 videodisc (ca. 112 min.).  This fun and sexy comedy tells a timelessly entertaining story where wealth, secret passions, and mischievous women put love to the test, with delightfully surprising results! When a spirited young woman, Fanny Price, is sent away to live on the great country estate of her rich cousins, she's meant to learn the ways of proper society. But while Fanny learns 'their' ways, she also enlightens them with a wit and sparkle all her own!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10370 

Rozema, Patricia
When night is falling. 1995, 1 videodisc.  A love triangle between an English professor, a theologian, and a circus performer. Camille, a classical mythology professor at a Christian college, must choose between her fiance, Martin, a fellow theologian, and her new love, Petra, a flamboyant and daring circus performer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4348

Satrapi, Marjane
Persepolis. 2007, 1 videodisc (95 min.).  In 1970s Iran, Marjane 'Marji' Statrapi watches events through her young eyes and her idealistic family. Their long dream is realized when the hated Shah is defeated in the Iranian Revolution of 1979. Now ruled by Islamic fundamentalists, Marji grows up to witnesses first hand how the new Iran has become a repressive tyranny on its own. With Marji dangerously refusing to remain silent at this injustice, her parents send her abroad to Vienna to study. This change proves an equally difficult trial for Marji and finds herself in a different culture loaded with abrasive characters and profound disappointments that deeply trouble her. Even when she returns home, Marji finds that both she and her homeland have changed too much and the young woman and her loving family must decide where she truly belongs. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4498 

Satrapi, Marjane and Vincent Paronnaud
Chicken with plums
. 2011, 1 videodisc (ca. 91 min.).  Nasser-Ali Khan appears to care more about his career than his family, but there is more to him than just the surface. After his beloved violin breaks, he sets out to replace it with his son's help. But when he cannot replace the instrument, he decides that the only solution to his sorrow is death. As he lies in bed waiting to die, his wife provides him with delicacies, such as chicken and plums, to help him find a reason to live again. Along the way, the family explores life with a view of beauty and humor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11035 

Seidelman, Susan
Desperately seeking Susan
. 2000, 1 videodisc (104 min.).  A bored New Jersey housewife who fantasizes about the ads in the personal section of the newspaper want ads shows up at a rendezvous between two lovers. She gets bumped on the head, which leads to a case of amnesia and opens the door to intrigue and love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8372 

Shum, Mina
Double happiness
. 1994, 1 videodisc (87 min.).  Jade must choose between family and personal happiness. Her parents want her to marry a successful Chinese man and she wants to make her own decisions. When she falls in love with a white university student, the façade of the perfect Chinese daughter begins to crack. A story about pursuing your dreams while living up to everybody else's. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5787

Spheeris, Penelope
Wayne's world. 1992, 1 videodiscs (94 min.).  Wayne's world: Wayne & Garth go from basement to big time when a sleazy TV exec offers them a network show. Wayne's world 2: Wayne & Garth try to produce their own rock festival - Waynestock. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3579 

Springer Berman, Shari
American splendor
. 2003, 1 videodisc (101 min.).  Pekar is a frustrated file clerk working at the local V.A. Hospital. He is also a comic book fan who befriends the young illustrator Robert Crumb and is soon inspired to create comic books based on his own life. Along his bumpy journey he meets, marries and falls in love with Joyce, an admiring comic book seller. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 847

Stern Winters, Nancy & Lisa Lax
Nine for IX
. 2013, 4 videodiscs (630 min.).  Nine for IX. From the award-winning producers of 30 for 30, this exceptional set celebrating the 40th anniversary of Title IX features nine documentary films about women in sports , directed by an extraordinarily diverse group of female filmmakers. Executive produced by Jane Rosenthal (co-founder, Tribeca Film Festival) and Robin Roberts (co-anchor, Good Morning America), these critically-acclaimed films highlight Pat Summitt's remarkable story, Venus Williams fight for equal pay and the 1999 US Women's World Cup team, among others. An inspirational collection of remarkable and moving films, Nine for IX is certain to appeal to all independent film fans. Venus VS.: Why was Venus Williams the key catalyst in getting Wimbledon to finally award equal prize money to women players? She was the right player at the right time to lead the charge. Directed by Ava DuVernay. Pat XO: This raw, authentic portrait of legendary basketball coach Pat Summitt takes the camera from the filmmaker's hands and places it into those who know her best. Directed by Lisa Lax/Nancy Stern Winters and Produced by Robin Roberts. Let Them Wear Towels: When a female journalist was sexually harassed by New England Patriots players in 1990, it set off a national debate about women in men's locker rooms. In Let Them Wear Towels, you'll hear stories of raw behavior and remarkable resolve. Directed by Annie Sundberg and Ricki Stern. No Limits: Through her battle with scoliosis, Audrey Mestre discovered a passion for the ocean that led her to competitive free diving. No Limits looks at the human quest to push beyond our limits, a quest that can sometimes be fatal. Directed by Alison Ellwood. Swoopes: Sheryl Swoopes has struggled with love, family and money, but she has never lost her spirit. In Swoopes, you will meet someone who is not your everyday superstar, but a woman who has defied many labels. Directed by Hannah Storm. The Diplomat: Katarina Witt may have been one of East Germany's most famous athletes at the height of the Cold War, but The Diplomat shows how the figure skater ended up being a beneficiary and victim of the socialist regime. Directed by Jennifer Arnold and Senain Kheshgi. Runner: Mary Decker was supposed to finally have her Olympic moment at the 1984 Games. But that moment turned to heartbreak after a collision with Zola Budd produced one of the most infamous moments in sports history. Directed by Shola Lynch. The '99ers: With candid, behind-the-scenes footage, The '99ers offers a unique look at the U.S. soccer team that changed the face of women's sports, reuniting key players from the squad to examine how the stage has changed since then. Directed by Erin Leyden; Produced by Julie Foudy. Branded: There is a double standard placed on women in sports -- they have to be the best players on the field and the sexiest off of it. Can female athletes ever gain equal footing with their male counterparts? Directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8530 

Streisand, Barbra
Yentl. 1983, 2 videodiscs (137 min.).  Set in Eastern Europe in the early 1900's. Yentl is the daughter of a kindly scholar, a man able to instill in his daughter a love of learning as deep as his own.  However, in the world of Eastern Europe at the turn of the century, higher education is denied women so Yentl disguises herself as a man in order to gain entrance to an orthodox Jewish school.             HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5790

Taymor, Julia
Frida
. 2002, 2 videodiscs (122 min.).  The life of artist Frida Kahlo, from her humble upbringing to her worldwide fame and controversy that surrounded both her and her husband, Diego Rivera. DVD 707

Taymor, Julie
Across the universe
.  2007, 2 videodiscs (133 min.).  Jude is a dock worker from Liverpool who travels to the United States in the 1960s to find his estranged father. There, he falls in love with sheltered American teenager Lucy. When her brother, Max, is drafted to fight in the Vietnam War, they become involved in peace activism. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3985* 

Taymor, Julie
The tempest. 2010, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  This modern retelling of William Shakespeare's final masterpiece is an exciting, mystical, and magical fantasy. Exiled to a magical island, the sorceress Prospera conjures up a storm that shipwrecks her enemies, and then unleashes her powers for revenge. DVD 9489 

Taymor, Julie
Titus. 1999, 2 videodiscs (162 min.).  Presents the story of a victorious Roman general whose rigid code of honor and duty proves to be his downfall. A shocking journey into the depths of the human heart, a place where vengeance and passion reign supreme. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 197 

Trinh, T. Minh-ha
Surname Viêt, given name Nam. 1989, 1 videodisc (108 min.).  Trinh T. Minh-ha's film looks at the many faces of culture of Vietnamese women as seen in staged interviews, dance footage, and manipulated archival images. Also questions the politics of interviewing and the problems of translation in filmmaking. 

Trinh, T. Minh-Ha
Naked spaces Living is round. 1985, 1 videodisc (137 min.).  Explores the rhythm and ritual life in the rural environment of six West African countries: Mauritania, Mali, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin, and Senegal.  DVD 10457 

Trinh, T. Minh-Ha
Reassemblage. 1982. 1 videodisc (40 min.).  A complex visual study of the women of rural Senegal. Shows documentary filmmaking and the ethnographic representation of cultures.  DVD 10455

Troche, Rose
Go fish
. 1994, 1 videodisc (88 min.).  Avant-garde cinema: Avant-garde cinema. "Feisty, beautiful Max is an outgoing young woman looking for romance. Tired of hearing her whine about the missing 'X' factor in her life, Max's roommate sets her up with a bashful, older, but homely, Ely. Needless to say, there's no sign of fireworks. But just as Max begins to think that she is destined to be alone forever, she discovers that some of life's best surprises come in plain, brown paper packages"--DVD sleeve. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8473

Troche, Rose
The safety of objects. 2001, 1 videodisc (120 min.).  Once an up-and-coming singer/songwriter, Paul Gold now lies in a coma. He is attentively nursed by his mother Esther, who dotes on her son to the point that her husband and daughter, Julie, feel very left out. Meanwhile, Jim Train is a workaholic lawyer who is closer to his tortes than to his spouse Susan. Their son Jake has taken a morbid fascination with his sister's baby doll. At the same time, Paul's former lover Annette Jennings is trying to pull her life and her family back together after a particularly brutal divorce. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3948 

Varda, Agnès
Cinevardaphoto
. 2004, 1 videodisc (92 min.).  "From Agnès Varda comes the wonderful Cinevardaphoto, a triptych of short films exploring the power and vitality of the photograph. In Ydessa, the bears, and etc., Varda discovers a haunting exhibit of found photos; in each one, a teddy bear. With Ulysses, she deconstructs a picture from her early career as a photographer, while ... Salut les cubains uses still photos to capture the spirit of the Cuban Revolution's early days."--Container. DVD 9127

Varda, Agnès
Cléo de 5 à 7 = Cleo from 5 to 7
. 1962, 1 videodisc (90 min.).  The Criterion collection. Varda captures the look and feel of Paris as she covers 2 hours in the life of Cleo, a pop singer, who is waiting for the results of medical tests for cancer - which she believes she has. She spends the time consulting a fortune teller, visiting friends, rehearsing a song, spending money and crying. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4151* 

Varda, Agnès
Jacquot de Nantes
. 2008, 1 videodisc (118 min.).  The Agnes Varda collection: Agnes Varda collection. Set at the end of the 1930s, Jacquot is a boy who is so fascinated with movies that he trades his toys for his first movie camera at the age of seven. Based on the life of filmmaker Jacques Demy, portions of his motion pictures are used to narrate his early interest in the cinema.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7521 - 7524 

Varda, Agnès
Daguerréotypes
. 1976 1 videodisc (75 min.). Portraits of the shopkeepers along the Rue Daguerre, an average street in Paris, provide an informal investigation into French culture and society. After studying the different stores and what they sell, and interviewing the owners about their childhoods and marriages, the film concludes with a series of static "daguerreotypes," in the style of pioneer photographer Louis Daguerre. DVD 9187 

Varda, Agnès
Le Bonheur. Happiness.
1965, 4 videodiscs (354 min.).  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). Cléo from 5 to 7. A girl waiting for the result of a medical examination wanders around Paris thinking she has cancer; the film focuses on her ever-changing moods, and her search for answers. La Ponté Courté. A film about a fishing town and a couple who are evaluating their changing relationship. Varda juxtaposes the two tales to create a unique perspective on life. Le bonheur. Though married to the good-natured, beautiful Thérèse young husband and father François finds himself falling unquestioningly into an affair with an attractive postal worker. Vogabond. Mona, an aimless drifter in the French countryside, deeply touches the lives of the people she meets and confronts them with her own ideas of freedom. DVD 415

Varda, Agnès
Les glaneurs et la glaneuse = The gleaners and I
. 2000,  1 videodisc (82 min.).  "Varda's most recent effort-- the first filmed with a digital videocamera-- focuses on gleaners, those who gather the spoils left after a harvest, as well as those who mine the trash. Some completely exist on the leavings; others turn them into art, exercise their ethics, or simply have fun. The director likens gleaning to her own profession-that of collecting images, stories, fragments of sound, light, and color." DVD 417

Varda, Agnes
Les plages d'Agnès = The beaches of Agnès. 2008, 1 videodisc (107 min.).  An autobiographical reflection on art, life and the movies from director Agnès Varda. Varda takes beaches as her point of departure, and weaves photographs, vintage footage, film clips, and present-day sequences into a memorable voyage through her life, during which she confronts the joy of creation and the pain of personal loss, death and aging. It is a singular trip played out against the exciting context of the postwar explosion of cultural expression in France. She knew everyone: her colleagues in the French New Wave, the Black Panthers in California and even Jim Morrison, who would visit when in Paris.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7524

Varda, Agnes
L'une chante, l'autre pas = One sings, the other doesn't. 1977, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  The Agnes Varda collection. Follows the lives and friendship of two women over a period of 14 years as each seeks to control her destiny and find contentment. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7521

Varda, Agnes
L'univers de Jacques Demy = The world of Jacques Demy. 1995,  1 videodisc (90 min.).  In an homage to her late husband Jacques Demy, Agnes Varda explores his universe, his films, and his influences. Includes clips from his films, interviews with colleagues, and home video footage. DVD 4254

Varda, Agnes
Sans toit ni loi = Vagabond
. 1985, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Mona, an aimless drifter in the French countryside, deeply touches the lives of the people she meets and confronts them with her own ideas of freedom. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7522 

Varda, Agnès
The Agnès Varda collection
. 2009, 4 videodiscs (449 min.).  Artificial eye : 473 DVD: Artificial eye. The Beaches of Agnès (2008): Autobiographical documentary on the life of acclaimed Nouvelle Vague director Agnès Varda. Garage Demy / Jacquot de Nantes (1991): A heartwarming tale of a young boy in the late 1930's who is fascinated with theatre and the cinema. Based loosely on the childhood of Jacques Demy. Vagabond (1985): The life of a young woman who is found frozen in a ditch, told through a series of flashbacks and interviews. One Sings, the Other Doesn't / L'une Chante, L'autre Pas (1977): Set against the backdrop of the women's movement in 1970's France, this film follows the lives of two women from differing backgrounds. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7521 – 7524

Varda, Agnès
The beaches of Agnès Les plages d'Agnès
. 2010, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  The Agnes Varda collection. An autobiographical reflection on art, life and the movies from director Agnès Varda. 

various
First works. 2002, 2 videodiscs (300 min.).  This documentary examines the first films of some successful Hollywood directors, featuring interviews with the filmmakers and clips of their early student films, as well as some of their commercial hits. The program explores how each director learned from early mistakes and seeks to illuminate the personalities and motivations of these successful "auteur" directors. The directors are: Richard Benjamin, John Carpenter, Roger Corman, Richard Donner, Taylor Hackford, Ron Howard, Spike Lee, Paul Mazursky, John Milius, Martin Scorcese, Susan Seidelman, Oliver Stone, and Robert Zemeckis. DVD 11146 

various
World short films. 2008?, 2 videodiscs (ca. 303 min.).  Sixteen short films by international filmmakers, some of which are very rare. Disc 01. Wasp (c2003, 24 min., col., in English) / Filmfour and UK Film Council present ; a Cowboy Films production ; director of photography, Robbie Ryan ; editor, Nicolas Chaudeurge ; producer, Natasha Marsh ; writer & director, Angela Arnold -- Simpan = Judgement (1999, 26 min., col., in Korean) / production, Cine City, Studio Box! ; written, directed and produced by Park Chanwook ; director of photography, Park Hyunchui ; film editor, Kim Sangbum ; music composed by Choi Hyuck -- Sikumi = On the ice (c2007, 15 min., col., in Inupiat) / Kiuguya Productions presents ; written & directed by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean ; produced by Cara Marcous ; director of photography, Cary Fukunaga ; score, Andres Martinez -- Doäna Lupe (1984, 33 min., col., in Spanish) / Necropia, Centro de Cine y Critica de Occidente y Kinam presentan ; editor, Luis Kelly ; director de fotografia, Jose A. Ascencio ; producida, escrita y dirigida por Guillermo del Toro ; musica original, Rodrigo A. Patiäno, Jorge Estrada -- La vieille dame et les pigeons (c1996, 22 min., col., in English) / Productions Pascal Blaus et Les Armateurs avec Club d’investissement Mâedia prâesentent ; une production de Productions Django Inc., Les Armateurs et Odec Kid Cartoons ; producteurs, Bernard Lajoie, Didier Brunner ; un film de Sylvain Chomet ; scâenario original, Sylvain Chomet ; musique originale, Jean Corti ; montage image, Hâelâene Girard, Chantal Colibert -- Panya shugeki = Attack on the bakery (1982, 17 min., col., in Japanese) / [directed by Naoto Yamakawa] -- Two cars, one night (c2003, 12 min., b&w, in English) / Defender Films Limited with Blueskin Films Ltd. [present] ; written and directed by Taika Waititi ; producers, Ainsley Gardiner, Catherine Fitzgerald ; director of photography, Adam Clark ; editor, Owen Ferrier Kerr ; composer, Craig Sengelow -- Sonata dlya Gitlera = Die Sonate fâur Hitler (1989, 10 min., col., silent with musical accompaniment) / [directed by Alexander Sokurov]. Disc 02. My Dad is 100 years old (c2005, 17 min., b&w, in English) / The Documentary Channel presents ; written by Isabella Rossellini ; directed by Guy Maddin ; produced by Jody Shapiro ; editor, John Gurdebeke ; director of photography, Len Peterson ; score composed, conducted and orchestrated by Christopher Dedrick ; musicians, The Gryphon Trio ; produced in association with Sundance Channel -- Staplerfahrer Klaus : Der erste Arbeitstag = Forklift driver Klaus (2000, 9 min., col., in German) / ein Produktion der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Flurfèorderzeuge ; Regie und Drehbuch, Jèurg Wagner, Stefan Prehn ; Kamera, Matthias Lehmann ; Schnitt, Andrea Stabenow ; Produktion, Trigon Film, Michael Sombetzki -- Uncle (1996, 6 min., tinted b&w, in English) / written, directed, animated, constructed and edited by Adam Benjamin Elliot ; narrator, William McInnes -- Cuarteto para el fin del tiempo = Quartet for the end of time (1983, 18 min., b&w, in Spanish) / CUEC, UNAM presentan ; edicion, Ariel Velâazquez, Alfonso Cuarâon Orozco ; mâusica, Olivier Messian ; fotografia, Ariel Velâazquez ; guiâon y direcciâon, Alfonso Cuarâon Orozco -- Madame Tutli-Putli (c2007, 17 min., col., in English) / The National Film Board of Canada presents ; story and direction, Chris Lavis & Maciek Szczerbowski of Clyde Henry Productions ; producer, Marcy Page ; a production of The National Film Board of Canada -- A girl’s own story (c1983, 25 min., b&w, in English) / written and directed by Jane Campion ; photography, Sally Bongers ; editor, Chris Lancaster ; production, Patricia L’Huede ; song composer, Alex Proyas -- Borom Sarret (1963, 18 min., b&w, in French) / un film de Sembene Ousmane ; images de Christian Lacoste ; montage, Andrâe Gaudier -- Soft (c2006, 14 min., col., in English) / UK Film Council & Film4 present ; director of photography, Chris Ross ; editor, Simon Ellis ; original music, Tom Bailey ; producer, Jane Hooks ; written and directed by Simon Ellis ; a Bub production in association with Perfume Films. DVD 10070

Von Trotta, Margarethe
Das zweite Erwachen der Christa Klages = The second awakening of Christa Klages
. 1978, 1 videodisc (ca. 93 min.).  The films of Margarethe von Trotta. Christa Klages is a young mother distraught at the prospect that her day care center is running out of money.  With her lover, Werner, and another friend, she robs a bank.  The friend is captured and Werner is killed while eluding the police, so Christa flees with her friend, Ingrid, who helps Christa escape to Portugal. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2319

Von Trotta, Margarethe
Hannah Arendt. 2012, 1 videodisc (113 min.).  A brilliant biopic of the influential German-Jewish philosopher and political theorist. Arendt's reporting on the 1961 trial of ex-Nazi Adolf Eichmann in The New Yorker, controversial both for her portrayal of Eichmann and the Jewish councils, introduced her now-famous concept of the 'Banality of Evil.' Using footage from the actual Eichmann trial and weaving a narrative that spans three countries, von Trotta beautifully turns the often invisible passion for thought into  dramatic cinema.  Home Use Collection DVD 9018

Von Trotta, Margarethe
Rosenstrasse. 2003, 1 videodisc (136 min.).  After the death of her father, Hannah becomes concerned with the strange behavior of her mother. Traveling to Berlin to interview a woman who knew her mother as a child, Hannah hears the story of a week in 1943 when the Aryan wives of Jewish men held captive in a building on Rosenstrasse protested in the name of love, and realizes how little she knew of her mother's troubled childhood. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5583 

Weber, Lois
The blot
. 1921, 1 videodisc (79 min.).  Scholarly and unpaid Professor Griggs and his family live in genteel poverty in a small college town. His beautiful daughter works at the library to help out and attracts attention from the minister and the laziest and naughtiest of her fathers students. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3737 

Wertmüller, Lina
Film d'amore e d'anarchia, ovvero Stamattina alle 10 in via dei fiori nella nota casa di tolleranza
.  2004, 1 videodisc (124 min.).  A country peasant goes to Rome with a plan to assassinate Benito Mussolini. His underground contact in the network of anarchists offers him a hideout in her brothel where he falls in love with a young prostitute. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3636

Wertmuller, Lina
Mimì metallurgico ferito nell'onore = Mimi, the metalworker, wounded in action. 1972, 1 videodisc (89 min.).  Mimi, a Sicilian laborer, refuses to vote for the Mafia's candidate and consequently loses his job, his wife, and his home. His efforts to defend his honor produce complex comical results.  DVD 231 

Wertmüller, Lina
Pasqualino settebellezze = Seven beauties. 1975, 2 videodiscs (116 min.).  Pasqualino is a lady's man living off his sisters' money until he is arrested and sent to the army. He is captured by the Germans and taken to a concentration camp where he plots his escape by seducing a German officer.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6225

Wertmüller, Lina
Swept away = Travolti da un insolito destino nell'azzurro mare d'agosto. 1997, 1 videodisc (116 min.).  A wealthy upper-class capitalist and the proletariat deckhand on her yacht are marooned together on an uninhabited island for several weeks.  The woman becomes totally dependent on the man for survival, falls in love with him, and the two temporarily reverse their roles.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 230

Wertmuller, Lina
Vivaldi. 2007, 1 streaming video file (55 min.).  This program retraces the life and places, the glories and despairs of Antonio Vivaldi, the red(haired) priest whose working relationship with a diva set tongues wagging and whose love for opera led to his downfall. And throughout and above all, of course, his music. Exquisite performances of the range of his work, from the "Estro Armonico" and other string masterpieces, pieces from some operas, "Juditha Triumphans," and examples of the sacred vocal music, are set against contemporary paintings and still-standing monuments and artifacts to show us the brilliant violin virtuoso who was said to be able to play on all four strings at once, to explain the qualities of Stradivarius' violins, and to trace the rise and fall of the inimitable Antonio Vivaldi. Written and directed by Lina Wertmuller. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=5873

Wheeler, Anne
Better than chocolate
. 1999, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  Free-spirited Maggie meets the woman of her dreams just hours before her mother Lila and brother Paul move in with her.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4346