Skip to main content

Curriculum Materials Center (CMC)

The CMC is the American University Library system's branch library that serves the School of Education community at AU's Spring Valley Building, Room 418, 4801 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20016. The phone number is 202-895-4904.

Spring 2020 Hours

*The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) will be closed for the duration of Spring 2020 due to COVID-19.*

Curriculum Materials & Education Librarian

Hannah Park's picture
Hannah Park
Contact:
202-885-3845
Subjects:Education

Getting access to E-books in light of COVID-19

The Internet Archive has created a National Emergency Library, which provides users free access to millions of ebooks to support emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

Hundreds of publishers are also providing free access to ebooks and digital content. Vital Source and Red Shelf are two platforms to check out for free ebooks, which publishers are providing access to until May 25, 2020.

A Note for Accessing Juvenile E-books:

AU Library subscribes to the database Teachingbooks, where you can find thousands of resources about children’s and young adult literature. There are book readings and “meet the author” type multimedia content, as well as reviews and lesson plans. You’ll just need to remember to sign in with your AU credentials to get access to the content.

You can also check out your local public library to see what e-book content they provide for children and young adults. Anyone who lives in the D.C. metropolitan area (including Virginia and Maryland) can get a free library card through D.C. Public Library. You will need to fill out an application online to get immediate access: https://www.dclibrary.org/getacard. DC Public Library provides quite a bit of electronic content for children through their various databases, including Book Flix, Just for Kids Access Video, Kanopy Kids, Learn Zillion, OverDrive Kids, Ready Rosie, Science Flix, and Tumblebooks for Children.

Finding Books and Materials

These are the types of materials you will find in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC):

  • Larissa Gerstel Critical Literacy Collection (multicultural children's and young adult literature)

  • Teaching Collection (textbooks, reproducibles, manipulatives, and teaching guides)

  • Education Reference Collection (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies)

To find books and materials located in the CMC, conduct a search in the Library's catalog. Go to the "AU Library Location" section on the left hand navigation bar and choose "Curriculum Materials Center (American University)."

 

Location & About the CMC

The collections in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) are managed by the University Library and are curated by the Education Librarian for the School of Education's curriculum.

Since July 2016, the CMC has been housed in American University's (AU) Spring Valley Building, in Room 418, where it is co-located with AU's School of Education. From 1992 through mid-2016, the CMC was previously housed on AU's main campus in Bender Library. The CMC collections may be used on site by community users. Only AU-affiliated users may borrow collection items. AU's teacher education candidates have priority for borrowing, as the collection is primary for their curriculum and in-service teaching needs.

AU students, faculty, and staff may request CMC items for pick-up at the Main Library through the Library's online catalog.