Subject Guides: Curriculum Materials Center (CMC): Teaching Materials

About the Teaching Materials Collection in the CMC

Items from the Teaching Materials Collection may be checked out by American University-affiliated community members. Others are welcome to use print materials or electronic databases on site.

Textbooks: Sample K-12 textbooks for language arts, social studies, mathematics, sciences, foreign languages, and music are collected for teacher candidates to use for curricular lesson planning. Some teacher editions are placed on reserve, located in Bender Library on the main level at the Circulation Desk (per publisher requirements).
Practitioner Literature: Practitioner literature includes idea and activity books, items noted as containing reproducible activities (such as science laboratory experiments), books emphasizing practical teaching methods, and books on developing behavioral objectives and lesson plans. Additional books include insightful teaching anecdotes/tips as well as those that contain suggestions for parents and beginning school administrators.
Manipulatives: Math manipulatives are used to teach counting skills and geometric principles. The manipulatives are located in the CMC and can be checked out.

Find Teaching Materials Beyond the CMC

ERIC (Education) via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. The ERIC microfiche collection (MFiche 8) is stored offsite at the WRLC storage facility. Items can be requested for duplication in PDF form. It is possible, if an ED number is known, that it may be available digitally and can be accessed by searching the free ERIC database at http://eric.ed.gov.