Industry Research A to Z

Provides access to industry benchmarking data based on aggregated financial statements of public and private companies in 800 lines of business in Dun and Bradstreet’s (D&B) database. Features 14 key business ratios for the critical areas of business performance – solvency, efficiency and profitability. Ratios are arranged by the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.

Provides industry norms for over 600 industries. Reports are broken down by asset range and region. Provides five years worth of data.

A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.

eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
** Users may sign up to receive report notifications and custom alerts and may need to check their ProofPoint Digest emails or visit spam.american.edu to release messages.
See OIT's video for step-by-step instructions. **

Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **

Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.

Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.

Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.

Provides access to industry surveys, which explain how to analyze a company within the industry. Access restricted to current AU faculty, students and staff only. ** This database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). ** ** Users must register for an individual, sponsored account by clicking on the 'New User?' link at the top right of the landing page. ** ** If you receive a 'too many redirects' error message, please try accessing from a different browser or clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies? **

Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.

Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.

A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.

NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access.
Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.