Government Information Data Rescue

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse as of January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use. They are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau.

The Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection includes datasets from a number of US Federal agencies to enable research at the intersection of climate and human health.

This is a collection of resources archived from the Center for Disease Control. It continues to be updated to provide guidance about the data, and ways to access this information for both technical and non-technical users.

This is Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Although the tool remains unchanged, public access through the White House was discontinued on January 22, 2025. This is a recreation of Version 2 that has been made publicly accessible.

DataLumos is a crowdsourced archive for social science government data resources maintained by ICPSR. The archive accepts both deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to the collection.

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network, whose goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.

The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). They have been archiving US federal environmental data.

ERICA is a rescue catalog which preserves over 500,000 Open Access publications originally hosted by the US Department of Education in the ERIC research repository. ERIC was defunded on 23 April 2025 and the maintenance contract is set to expire soon, meaning that ERIC is likely to shut down. The PDFs were rescued using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine by a volunteer of the Data Rescue Project. When you click on one of the publication ID links, you will be redirected to the archived PDF in the the Wayback Machine.

GODORT is a government documents library group. They have complied a list of resources and toolkits related to the presidential transition.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free texts, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

MuckRock is a non-profit collaborative news site that provides tools to keep our government transparent and accountable. They file, track and share public records requests in the US.

A volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice, and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work.

A project of the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab, this is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov, the US federal government data finding and storage site.

This platform provides convenient access to spatial data from the National Parks Service and the US Census Bureau's TIGER database.

This website is intended to be an offloading point and information depot for a number of archiving projects, all related to saving websites or data that is in danger of being lost. Besides serving as a hub for team-based pulling down and mirroring of data, this site will provide advice on managing your own data and rescuing it from the brink of destruction.

This is a subreddit of data preservation activists that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people.