Subject Guides: Government Information Data Rescue: Data Rescue Activist Tools

Where Can I Archive Existing Information?

Websites

Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Using the "Save Page Now" tool users can capture a web page as it appears now for use as a trusted citation in the future.

Datasets and Reports

ICPSR - Suggest Data to Archive
Users can suggest government data in the social sciences for inclusion in ICPSR's archives.

Data Rescue Activist Tools

These data activist organizations focus on rescuing and preserving data:

ArchiveBox has archived datasets from data.gov, CIBP, USCIS, NOAA, NASA, NSIDC
The Archive Team at the Internet Archive has a project archiving datasets from the U.S. Government
GitHub: Awesome Datahoarding provides lists of tools for web harvesting
GovDiff shows side-by-side comparisons of government website changes
MIT Libraries: Data Management Checklist provides a checklist for curating data rescue efforts
r/Data Hoarder is a subreddit of data preservation activists
Safeguarding Research Discourse Group is a preservation group hosted outside of the US
Tracking Government Information is a preservation group of four academic librarians
WebRecorder has archived 8TB+ of government sites

ArchiveBox
ArchiveBox is an open source tool that lets organizations & individuals archive both public & private web content while retaining control over their data. It can be used to save copies of bookmarks, preserve evidence for legal cases, backup photos from FB/Insta/Flickr or media from YT/Soundcloud/etc., save research papers, and more…
Archive Team
A group of volunteers working with the Internet Archive to archive various collections of data. The group utilizes an automated archiving appliance called a Warrior to collect information and deposit it to the Internet Archive.
GitHub: Awesome DataHoarding
Open-source list of tools related to archiving.
GovDiff
Tool built by Ben Borgers and Jerome Paulos to compare government websites before and after inauguration.
MIT Libraries: Data Management Checklist
This checklist provides steps you can take to ensure the government data you use in your research remains accessible to you and others.
r/Data Hoarder
This is a subreddit of data preservation activists that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people.
Safeguarding Research Discourse Group
Organizing to safeguard as much publicly available research, including GLAM (Gallery, Library, Archive, and Museum)-collections, as possible. Led by Henrik Schoenemann and hosted in Germany.
Tracking Government Information
A project that tracks removed, modified, and impacted federal government information and resources. Managed by four academic librarians. Includes links to additional trackers.
WebRecorder
The Webrecorder team has been developing open source web archiving tools for over 10 years. We strive to make web archiving tools accessible to anyone who needs to collect and preserve content that is meaningful to them.