Subject Guides: AU's Center for Innovation Hackathon: Home

Welcome!

This guide was created to assist teams of the AU Center for Innovation Hackathon. The left-hand navigation includes a tab for each of the three sectors: fintech, medtech, and edtech. These sub pages include various resources like open internet reports, AU Library subscription databases, and ebooks from the collection. Items chosen are meant to give groups a place to start - but are certainly not the only resources available or useful for this competition.

Good luck to all the teams!

(image above from the Noun Project)

General Search

These are some of the general resources to help you sift through the journalism and press coverage of fintech, edtech, and medtech.

Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full access to Washington DC's daily Pulitzer-Prize winning newspaper featuring local, national and international news.
Registration required! Follow these instructions to register for or troubleshoot your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is verified and subscription connected to AU's organization, sign in at https://www.washingtonpost.com to access.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Registration required. Only current AU students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com **
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, visit https://www.economist.com/, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
eMarketer Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
** Users may sign up to receive report notifications and custom alerts and may need to check their ProofPoint Digest emails or visit spam.american.edu to release messages.
See OIT's video for step-by-step instructions. **
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.