Subject Guides: Personal Finance Resources: Home

Business Librarian

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business, Economics

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Personal Finance Resources Available at AU Library

Financial Adulting by Ashley Feinstein Gerstley
ISBN: 9781119817307

Publication Date: 2022-03-02

Demystifies and simplifies complex topics and makes understanding personal finance fun From budgeting and consumer activism to retirement investing and paying down debt, you'll learn everything you need to know and do to be a financially savvy adult.
Personal Finance for Dummies by Eric Tyson
ISBN: 9781119517801

Publication Date: 2018-11-06

From budgeting, saving, and reducing debt, to making timely investment choices and planning for the future, Personal Finance For Dummies provides fiscally conscious readers with the tools they need to take charge of their financial life. This new edition includes coverage of an extensive new tax bill that took effect in 2018 and the impact on individuals, families, small businesses, and on real estate and investing decisions. Plus, it covers emerging investing interests like technology and global investing, cryptocurrencies, pot stocks, the lifestyle changes occurring with millennials, and more.
Personal Finance in Your 20s and 30s for Dummies by Eric Tyson
ISBN: 9781119805434

Publication Date: 2021-06-02

Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies helps Millennials and Zoomers make smart financial moves. It's not as tough as it looks to reduce and file your taxes, pay off your student debt, buy a home, keep a budget to save and invest wisely, or start that side hustle, just to name a few.

Personal Finance Video from B.E. Publishing
The skills and examples in this video help students realize that using personal finance skills will impact their lives today and in the future. Real professionals explain how and why learning personal finance was a key to their current and future success. Topics Included: spending & budgeting, saving & investing, managing debt, financial planning and more.
Personal Finance by Lumen Learning
Personal finance is the financial management which an individual or a family unit performs to budget, save, and spend monetary resources over time, taking into account various financial risks and future life events.
LinkedIn Learning: Managing Your Personal Finances
In this course, financial expert Jane Barratt shows how opportunities arise when you change your attitude towards money. She walks you through the basics of personal finance—earning, spending, saving, and investing—with an eye for finding opportunities to enrich your life.

Business News Resources

Barron's
Business and financial weekly publication from Dow Jones.

Bloomberg.com
Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
** Our authentication method has changed. ** Users no longer need to create an account to set up a password. Once on the Bloomberg platform, click on the 'Sign In' link, enter your @american.edu email address, and you will be routed to your account through the AU Sign In page.
There is a known issue where users with pre-existing email/password accounts are receiving notifications that their trial access is ending. You may disregard these warnings.
Financial Times
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Our authentication has been updated to SSO. ** When visiting ft.com directly, click 'Sign In', and enter your @american.edu email address. Click 'Next' then 'SSO Sign In' and you will be routed through the AU Sign In page. **
New York Times (website access)
First time users: Follow the instructions in the library's account registration guide.

Access to the website of the New York Times - one of the world's leading newspapers.
Includes access to the New York Times inEducation curated reading lists.
Click the Log In button and sign in to access full news content 1981-present.

Can't log in to your account? Visit the account registration page again and click the link labeled 'Already have an account? Log in'
Wall Street Journal
NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access.
Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.

Free Online Resources

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis: Glossary of Economics and Personal Finance Terms
American Institute of CPAs: 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy
Includes resources on spending and saving, tax preparation, and retirement planning.
Federal Trade Commission: consumer.gov
Learn about your money, credit, debt, saving for education, making large purchases, and how to avoid scams
U.S. Department of Education: Federal Student Aid
Guide to student aid from the Department of Education
MyMoney.gov
From the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission.