The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration. Covers publications from 1975 to the present. In most cases the abstracts are in English, and in some cases (non-English articles) in French. When the original article is not in English, the title in the record is in its own language, English and French.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a major political science index providing citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites on subjects including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Dating from 1975 and updated monthly, the WPSA is built on two indices: Political Science Abstracts and ABC POLSCI. Roughly 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.
A collection of research and analysis in international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.Types of publications include working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.
Provides access to the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTOR’s interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
Boolean operators:
AND - use to narrow a search and get fewer and more relevant results.
elections and voters
OR - use to broaden a search and get more results. Good for synonyms and words with variant spellings. Add parentheses when using OR.
("latin america" or argentina or colombia)
(organization or organisation)
NOT - use to narrow a search to get more relevant results
mexico not "new mexico"
Truncation:
Use to find words with different word endings. Most databases use an asterisk (*)
e.g. immigrant* yields immigrant, immigrants
e.g. immigra* yields immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigration, immigrating, etc.
Proximity search:
Use to find words that are close to each other on a page.
It is one way to find more relevant results.
Each family of databases has its own command words.
EBSCO:
n# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
fundamental* n3 islam*
Factiva:
near# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
president* near3 speech
HeinOnline
~# = words near each other in any order, within a certain number
"watershed planning"~10
Nexis Uni:
w/#=words within a specified number of words, in any order
"human rights" w/2 violations
w/s = words within the same sentence
crime w/s (dc or "district of columbia")
w/p = words within the same paragraph
gays w/p military
Ovid:
adj# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
ProQuest:
near/# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
"renewable energy" near/5 viable
Scopus
w/# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
Web of Science:
near/# = words near another word in any order, within a certain number
government near/3 fund*
