Introduction
This guide is a list of country reports in subscription databases, free Web sites and print books that provide summaries of mulltiple aspects of individual countries, such as their economic, political, regulatory and social conditions.
Comments (0)
START HERE - Major Multi-Subjects country reports
This list is not alphabetical; it is in order of prominence.
- World Factbook (CIA) (current edition)
Updated throughout the year.
Information on a country's population and demographics, geography, economy, politics, military, and society.
(Call number: JF37 .N3). AU Library has a print copy of the most recent edition in Ready Reference. - World Factbook (CIA) (earlier editions) via HeinOnline
Editions: 1981 to 2009.
(Call number: JF37 .N3). AU Library has print copies of editions from 1979, 1984-1985, 1987-1991, 1993-1995, 2000 to present. - Europa World Plus
Editions: 2006 to present.
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations. Online version of the Europa World Yearbook. More detailed than the World Factbook and Statesman's Yearbook. - EIU Country Reports
Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated: Monthly or quarterly.
Country political and economic analyses and forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit. Includes countries' projected economic and political outlook. - Global Insight

Analysis of economic condition, and the business and investment climate and risks in over 200 countries. Particularly good for descriptions of a country's regulatory and legal environments. Consists of two main components: Country Intelligence reports; and Financial and Economic Data. Includes country risk forecasts. To get to the country reports, click on Country Intelligence. - Statesman's Yearbook Online
Coverage: 1864 to present. Updated: Monthly.
An annual summary of information on the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country of the world. Now updated more frequently. Similar to the CIA World Factbook. Includes brief biographies of government officials and chronology of events starting with 1999. - Strategic Survey
Coverage: 1966 to present. Updated: Annually.
Annual review of world affairs and international relations of countries of the world. From the International Institute for Strategic Studies.
AU Library has print volumes from 1966-2007. (Call number: U162 .S77). - Euromonitor Passport GMID

Industry, consumer and country statistics and reports for countries around the world, including emerging markets. Please note: Access limited to AU Authorized Users with a valid AU ID.
Other Multi-Subject country reports
- BBC News: Country Profiles
- Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook (1981- )
Countries of the World and Their Leaders
(Call number: G122 .C68.) AU Library has print editions: 1975, 1977-1978. - Country Data from Lloyd C. Russow, Philadelphia University
- Country Insights from GlobalEDGE at the University of Michigan
Brief statistics, history, economic and political information. - Country Profiles from the United Kingdom's Foreign and Commonwealth Office
- Country Studies/Area Handbook
This series is no longer being updated, but is still useful for historical information. It is an excellent source for a short history of a country. Describes and analyzes the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, of individual countries, and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. Part of a series of books from 1988-1998 that was prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army.
AU Library has print copies of this series. - The Economist: Country Briefings
News articles from The Economist, and brief country information from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU). - MSU Global Access from Michigan State University
- OECD: Country Web Sites
Reports and data on the member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, plus China, Brazil and Russia. - U.S. Department of State: Countries
Information from the U.S. Department of State on countries of the world including:- Background Notes - Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Country Specific Information - Travel information for U.S. citizens going abroad. Includes health conditions, crime, unusual currency or entry requirements, any areas of instability, and the location of the nearest U.S. embassy or consulate in the country.
- Current Travel Warnings
- International Religious Freedom Report
- World Almanac and Book of Facts
(Call number: AY67.N5 W7; most recent edition is located in Ready Reference.) AU Library has print editions of 1930, 1932-1946, 1948-1953, 1955-1968, 1970-1972, 1975-1977, 1979-1981, 1983 to present.
Chat with a Librarian
IM Reference Hours for Spring Semester are Monday-Thursday, 10am-9pm and Friday 10am-6pm. If we are offline, send us an email request!
Page Creator Profile
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
