Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).
ArchiveGrid is a database of archival finding aids from libraries, museums, and archives. It helps identify archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories and where they are.
Historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Strengths include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, gender, sexuality, and women's studies, the Holocaust, and modern history of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
American University Library has special collections that are relevant to the time period and events covered by this class. Some are digitized and some are available by appointment at Archives and Special Collections, Suite 204 in the Spring Valley Building. Contact Leslie Nellis at archives@american.edu for more information.
The collection presented here consists of Pearson's syndicated Washington Merry-Go-Round column published between 1932 and 1969. American University Library Special Collections Unit holds the typescript copies for the column that the syndicate sent to Pearson's office at the same time the typescripts were distributed to newspapers around the country.
Vincent Tocci Research Files on Vietnam
Vincent Tocci, a former Adjunct Professor in AU's School of Communication, served as Chief of Combat News with the Air Force in Saigon and Pentagon media representative during the Vietnam War. Tocci compiled a collection of materials relating to the conflict including articles he wrote (1960s-1970s), Department of Defense photographs, newspaper and magazine articles about Vietnam (1960s-1980s), and other background materials such as a map of the Vietnam Conflict.
Alfred C. Williams
Alfred Charles Williams (1906-2006) was an architect and peace activist. His papers (1933 -2006) consist of brochures, correspondence, flyers, magazines, newsletters, notebooks, and pamphlets documenting Williams' role in the San Francisco Bay area peace movement including his membership in the Association of World Citizens and the World Federalists Association. The collection contains an extensive subject file covering a variety of topics such as disarmament, the United Nations, and the Vietnam War.