It can be helpful to start your search for economic statistics and data by asking who the stakeholders are--who is interested in this information? The government? An organization? A corporation? Once you've identified who wants to know the information, go to the stakeholders' websites. Note that while recording statistics is sometimes mandated, it is often voluntary. Sometimes the raw data isn't accessible and some data sets might charge a fee for access. In spite of this, there is a lot of information out there and it can be hard to wade through. We recommend starting your search for economic statistics by looking through the below-listed resources.
Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
Social and economic statistics of the United States from colonial times to 2000.
>** This resource has been discontinued by the publisher. **
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
