Skip to Main Content

Statistical Information

This guide lists statistical sources of the United States and the world. It is a compilation of American University Library databases and print collections, and free Web sites.

Countries A to L

Each nation's official statistical agencies have the most amount of statistical data on their respective country, and they are more likely to have statistics on the provincial and municipal levels.  However, be aware that official statistics are not necessarily more accurate than other sources.

Afghanistan

Albania

Algeria

Andorra

Anguilla

Argentina

Armenia

Aruba

Australia

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Australian Social Science Data Archive (ASSDA)
    Social, political and economic affairs datasets from a consortium of leading national Australian universities, managed by the Australian National University. Requires a free registration.
  • Official Year Book of the Commonwealth of Australia, and Official Year Book of Australia.
    (Call number: HA3001 .B5, HA3001 .B5). AU Library has print volumes from v.45 (1959), v.54 (1968), v.56 (1970)-v.58 (1972), v.61 (1975/1976).
  • Year Book, Australia.
    (Call number: HA3001 .B5). AU Library has print volumes from no.62 (1977)-no.81 (1999).

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benin

Bermuda

Bhutan

Bolivia

Bosnia

Botswana

Brazil

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Cambodia

  • National Institute of Statistics
    Official government statistical agency. 
  • Vietnam in Military Statistics: A History of the Indochina wars, 1772-1991. Micheal Clodfelter. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., c1995.
    (Call number: DS556.54 .C57 1995). AU Library has print copy.

Cameroon

Canada

  • Statistics Canada - E-STAT AU-only icon
    Data: 1665 to most recent.
    Official Canadian statistics. Updated once a year in the summer.
  • Statistics Canada
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Research Data Centres (RDC) Network
    A consortium of Canadian universities and research centers.
    Must apply for access to the data sets.
  • Canada Year Book. Statistics Canada.
    (Call number: HA744 .S81). AU Library has print volumes from 1951-1952, 1966, 1969, 1972-1975, 1978/1979-1981, 1985, 1988-2001.
  • Historical Statistics of Canada. Cambridge, [Eng.]: Cambridge University Press, 1965.
    (Call number: HA746 .U7). AU Library has print copy.

Cape Verde

Cayman Islands

Central African Republic

Chad

China

  • China Data Online AU-only icon
    Official government, social, economic, and industry statistics of the People's Republic of China. Data is available on a national, provincial, county, and city level. Is the online equivalent of the China Statistical Yearbook and is comprised of the China Statistical Data Online and the China Census Data Online databases.
  • National Bureau Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Census and Statistics Department
    Hong Kong special administrative region.
  • Statistics and Census Service
    Macau special administrative region.
  • China Health and Nutrition Survey
    Examines the effects of the health, nutrition, and family planning policies and programs implemented by national and local governments and to see how the social and economic transformation of Chinese society is affecting the health and nutritional status of its population.
  • Chinese General Social Survey
    Annual or biannual questionnaire survey of China’s urban and rural households aiming to monitor systematically the changing relationship between social structure and quality of life in urban and rural China.

Colombia

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Congo

Cook Islands

Costa Rica

Cote d'Ivoire

Croatia

Cuba

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark

Djibouti

Dominican Republic

  • National Statistics Office (in Spanish only)
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Comercio exterior de la República Dominicana.
    Estadística dominicana. Sección 331, Comercio. Comercio exterior.
    (Call number: HF152 .A46, HF152 .A46). Held at WRLC Center. AU Library has print volumes from v.14 (1966)-v.20/21 (1972/1973), v.25 (1977); v.26 (1978)-v.28 (1980).

Ecuador

Egypt

El Salvador

Equatorial Guinea

Estonia

Ethiopia

Fiji Islands

Finland

  • Statistics Finland
    Official government statistical agency. 
  • Economic Survey ... Finland. Finland Ministry of Finance.
    (Call number: HC337.F5 F5). AU Library has print volumes from 1983-1989, 1991-2002, 2005-2007.

France

French Polynesia

Gabon

Gambia

Georgia

Germany (West and East)

  • Federal Statistical Office
    Official government statistical agency.  
  • Statistisches Jahrbuch der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik.
    (Call number: HA1248.D4 S8). AU Library has print volumes from 1955-1963, 1967, 1971-1990.
  • Statistisches Jahrbuch ... für das Ausland / Statistisches Bundesamt.
    (Call number: Ref HA1232 .A452; most recent edition in Reference). AU Library has print volumes from 1990-2006.
  • Statistisches Jahrbuch ... für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland
    (Call number: Ref HA1232 .A45; most recent edition in Reference). AU Library has print volumes fro 1963-1973, 1981 to present.

Ghana

  • Ghana Statistical Service
    Official government statistical agency. Includes the National Data Archive.
  • The Political Economy of Colonialism in Ghana; a Collection of Documents and Statistics, 1900-1960. Edited by G. B. Kay. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1972.
    (Call number: HC517.G6 K38). AU Library has print copy.

Gibraltar

Great Britain

See United Kingdom

Greece

  • Hellenic Statistical Authority
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Economic and social atlas of Greece. By Bernard Kayser. Athens [National Statistical Service] 1964.
    (Call number: LIB Ref. Atlas Folio Shelves G2001.G1 K3 1964). AU Library has print copy.

Greenland

Guatemala

Guernsey

Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Guyana

Haiti

Honduras

Hungary

Iceland

India

  • Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Registrar General
    Official census information.
  • Census of India, 1931 ... v.1-v.30.
  • Historical Data: Statistical Abstract Relating to British India (1840-1920) from Digital South Asia Library
  • Infant mortality in India, 1901-55. By Sripati Chandrasekhar. G. Allen & Unwin [1959].
    (Call number: HB1323.I4 C42). AU Library has print copy.
  • A Social and Economic Atlas of India. Delhi; New York: Oxford University Press, c1987.
    (Call number: Folio Stacks, Lower Level G2281.G1 T18). AU Library has print copy.
  • Statistical Abstract, India.
    (Call number: HA1712 .A732). AU Library has print volumes from 1972-2007.
  • Statistical Summary of the Social and Economic Trends in India, in the Period, 1918-1939. Prepared by S. Subramaniam. Washington, Govt. of India Information Services [1945].
    (Call number: HA1715 .A52). AU Library has print copy.

Indonesia

Iran

Iraq

Ireland

Isle of Man

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

Japan

  • Statistics Bureau
    Official government statistical agency.
  • The Deaths of Hibakusha. Tokyo, Japan: English Translation Group of "The Witness of Those Two Days,", 1991.
    (Call number: D767.25.H6 H481 1991). AU Library has print copy. 
  • Meiji ikō honpō shuyō keizai tōkei = Hundred-year Statistics of the Japanese Economy. Tōkyō: Nihon Ginkō Tōkeikyoku, 1966.
    (Call number: HC461 .J32, HC461 .J32 Suppl.1, HC461 .J32 Suppl.2). AU Library has print copy.
  • Monthly Report of Recent Economic and Financial Developments. Bank of Japan.
    Publications: 1988 to present. Updated: Monthly.
  • Nihon Teikoku Tōkei Nenkan and Dai Nihon Teikoku Tōkei Nenkan.
    (Call number: HA1832 .D32, HA1832 .D32).  AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1882)-v.55 (1936), v.56 (1937)-v.59 (1940).
  • Nihon Tōkei Nenkan [Japan Statistical Yearbook].
    (Call number: Ref HA1832 .J36; most recent editions in Reference). AU has print volumes from 1968-present.
  • One Hundred Years of Agricultural Statistics in Japan. Tokyo, Institute of Developing Economies, 1969.
    (Call number: HD312.J3 I5). AU Library has print copy.
  • Statistical Handbook of Japan. Tokyo, Bureau of Statistics, Office of the Prime Minister.
    (Call number: HA1841 .S7). AU Library has print volumes from  1964-1965, 1967, 1969???
  • Statistical Survey of Economy of Japan. [Tokyo?]: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan.
    (Call number: HC461 .A345). AU Library has print volumes from  1963, 1965, 1967-1969.
  • Statistical Survey of Economy of Japan and Statistical Survey of Japan’s Economy. Japan Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
    (Call number: HC461 .A345, HC461 .A345).  AU Library has print volumes from 1963, 1965, 1967-1969, 1969-1972, 1974-1982, 1984-. ????

Jersey

Jordan

Kazakhstan

Kenya

Kiribati

Korea, South

Kosovo

Kuwait

Kyrgystan

Laos

Latvia

Lebanon

Lesotho

Liberia

Liechtenstein

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Countries M to Z

Macedonia

Madagascar

Malawi

Malaysia

Maldives

Mali

Malta

Marshall Islands

Mauritania

Mauritius

Mexico

Micronesia

Moldova

Monaco

Mongolia

Montenegro

Morocco

Mozambique

Myanmar

Namibia

  • Central Bureau of Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Fertility, Mortality and Migration in Subsaharan Africa: the Case of Ovamboland in North Namibia, 1925-90. Houndmills [England]: Macmillan Press, 2000.
    (Call number: HB3664.2 .O83 2000). AU Library has print copy.

Nauru

Nepal

Netherlands

Netherlands Antilles

New Caledonia

New Zealand

  • Statistics New Zealand
    Official government statistical agency.  
  • New Zealand Official Year-book.
    (Call number: DU400 .A3). AU Library has print volumes from : 1978, 1980-1981, 1983-1988/89.

Nicaragua

Niger

Nigeria

Niue

Norfolk Island

  • Homepage
    Official government statistical agency.

Norway

Oman

Pakistan

  • Statistics Division
    Official government statistical agency.
  • 10 years of Pakistan in statistics, 1972-82. Federal Bureau of Statistics, Statistics Division, Government of Pakistan. Karachi : Manager of Publications, [1983].
    (Call number: Ref HA1730.5 .P343). AU Library has print copy.
  • 25 years of Pakistan in statistics, 1947-72. Karachi, Manager of Publications, 1972.
    (Call number: HA1730.5 .P342). AU Library has print copy.
  • Pakistan Statistical Yearbook. Karachi, Manager of Publications.
    (Call number: Ref HA1730.5 .P33; earlier eds in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print volumes from 1955, 1965/1966-1968, 1974-1980, 1982, 1984 to present.

Palau

Palestinian Authority

  • Central Bureau of Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.
  • The Population of Palestine: Population History and Statistics of the Late Ottoman Period and the Mandate. New York: Columbia University Press, c1990.
    (Call number: HA4560 .M35). AU Library has print copy.

Panama

  • Census and Statistics Directorate (In Spanish Only)
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Estadística panameña / República de Panama, Contraloría General de la República, Sección de Estadística.
    (Call number: HA852 .A57). AU Library has print editions from v.6 (1947)-v.17 (1950).
  • Panamá en cifras / Dirección de Estadística y Censo.
    (Call number: HA851 .A16). AU Library has print editions from 1967/1971, 1969/1973-1970/1974, 1981/1985-???.

Papua New Guinea

Paraguay

Peru

  • National Institute of Statistics and Informatics (in Spanish Only)
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Boletín de Estadística Peruana.
    (Call number: HA1051 .A3). AU Library has print editions from v.7:no.3(1946)-v.8:no.3, v.9:no.1-2, v.9:no.4, v.10:no.2, v.11-v.14, v.15:no.2 (1954).

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Qatar

Romania

Russia and Soviet Union

  • Russian State Committee for Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.  
  • The East European and Soviet Data Handbook: Political, Social, and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975. New York, N.Y.: Columbia University Press; Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution Press, 1981.
    (Call number: HA1446 .S53). AU Library has print copy.
  • Narodnoe khozi︠a︡ĭstvo SSSR v ... godu.(Call number: HA1432 .N3).
    AU Library has print copies from 1959-1961, 1963-????
  • Russian Economic Trends. Government of the Russian Federation.
    (Available via Consortium Loan Service). AU Library has print copies from v.3:no.4 (1994)-v.11 (2002).
  • Soviet Armed Forces Review Annual, Russia and Eurasia Armed Forces Review Annual, and Russia and Eurasia Military Review Annual. Gulf Breeze, Fla.: Academic International Press.
    (Call number: UA770 .S657, UA770 .S657, UA770 .S657). AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1977)-v.13 (1989), v.14 (1990)-v.15 (1991), v. 16 (1992/1993).
  • Soviet Casualties and Combat Losses in the Ttwentieth Century.  Edited by G.F. Krivosheev. London: Greenhill Books; Pennsylvania: Stackpole Books, 1997.
    (On order)
  • Soviet Economic Facts, 1917-1981. 2nd ed.  London: Macmillan, c1983.
    (Call number: HC335 .C518 1983). AU Library has print copy.
  • Soviet Military Power. [U.S. Dept. of Defense.]
    (Call number: UA770 .S665). AU Library has print copies from 1981, 1984-1988.
  • Statisticheskiĭ ezhegodnik stran-chlenov Soveta ėkonomicheskoĭ vzaimopomoshchi.
    (Call number: HA1107 .C68). AU Library has print volumes from 1971-1972, 1974-1975.
  • USSR Facts and Figures Annual and Russia and Eurasia Facts and Figures Annual . Gulf Breeze, Fla.: Academic International Press.
    (Call number: DK274 .U18). AU Library has print copies from v.1 (1977)-v.28 (2002).

Rwanda

Saint Lucia

Samoa

San Marino

Sao Tome and Principe

Saudi Arabia

  • Central Department of Statistics and Information
    Official government statistical agency.
  • al-Kitāb al-iḥṣāī al-sanawī - Maṣlaḥat al-Iḥṣāāt al - Ammah.
    (Call number: DS204 .S2). AU Library has print volumes from 1967-?????.
  • The Statistical Indicator. [Riyadh] Ministry of Finance and National Economy, Central Dept. of Statistics.
    (Call number: HA1950.S2 S25). AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1976)-v.2 (1977), v.4 (1979)-v.7 (1982), v.9/10 (1985)-???
  • Statistical Summary. Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency Research and Statistics Departments.
    (Call number: HC497.A6 A5). AU Library has print volumes from 1975/76-1990,1993-????

Senegal

Serbia

Seychelles

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovakia

Slovenia

Solomon Islands

South Africa

  • Statistics South Africa
    Official government statistical agency.  
  • State of South Africa.
    (Call number: HC517.S7 S82). AU Library has print volumes from 1957-1959/1960, 1961, 1963, 1965-1967, 1969, 1972, 1975-1978.

Soviet Union

See Russia

Spain

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Suriname

Swaziland

Sweden

Switzerland

Syria

Taiwan

  • Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics
    Official government statistical agency. 
  • Chung-hua min kuo Tʻai-wan kung yeh sheng chʻan tʻung chi yüeh pao = The Republic of China Taiwan Industrial Production Statistics Monthly.
    (No call number. Located at WRLC Center). AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1969)-v.176 (1984).
  • Chung-hua min kuo Tʻai-wan ti chʻü kung yeh sheng chʻan tʻung chi yüeh pao = Industrial Production Statistics Monthly Taiwan Area, the Republic of China.
    (No call number. Located at WRLC Center). AU Library has print volumes from v.177 (1984)-v.310 (1995).
  • Statistical Yearbook of the Republic of China.
    (Call number: HA1710.5 .A183). AU Library has print volumes from 1976-1977, 1979-1980.

Tajikistan

Tanzania

Thailand

Timor-Leste

Togo

Tokelau

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisa

Turkey

  • State Institute of Statistics
    Official government statistical agency.
  • The Arab World, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914): A Handbook of Historical Statistics. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, c1982.
    (Call number: HA4556 .M35). AU Library has print copy.

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

Turkmenistan

Turks and Caicos Islands

Tuvalu

Uganda

Ukraine

United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom

  • National Statistics
    Official government statistics agency. 
  • National Digital Archive of Datasets (NDAD)
    Datasets and documents (1963 to present) from UK central government departments.
  • Annual Abstract of Statistics. Earlier title: Statistical Abstract for the United Kingdom. U.K. Central Statistical Office.
    (Call number: HA1122 .A33). AU Library has print volumes from no.66 (1937), no.104 (1967)-no.114 (1977), no.116 (1980)-no.119 (1983), no.122 (1986)-no.125 (1989), no.127 (1991)-no.143 (2007). 
  • UK Data Service
    Major archive of datasets in the U.K. Similar to ICPSR.
    "Access to the Data Catalogue, including online documentation such as questionnaires, does not require registration. However, to download any data you must register, agree to an End User Licence (EUL) and provide details of your intended use. Access restrictions may apply to some users/usages and details can be found in the relevant catalogue record....[O]nly users at UK institutions of higher and further education (UK HE/FE) can access ESDS International macrodata or data from the ESRC Census Programme."
  • Social Trends: A Publication of the Government Statistical Service. U.K. Central Statistical Office.
    (Call number: HA1134 .S6). AU Library has print volumes from no.3 (1972) -no.39 (2009).
  • CAIN: Sutton Index of Deaths
    Deaths that have resulted from the conflict in Ireland between 14 July 1969 and 31 December 2001. Updated and revised version of the material in Malcolm Sutton's book.

United States

See page on U.S. Statistics.

Uruguay

Uzbekistan

Vanatu

Venezuela

Vietnam

  • General Statistics Office
    Official government statistical agency.
  • Vietnam in Military Statistics: A History of the Indochina wars, 1772-1991. Micheal Clodfelter. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., c1995.
    (Call number: DS556.54 .C57 1995). AU Library has print copy.

Virgin Islands

Wallis and Futuna

Yemen

Zambia

Zimbabwe