Current Events and Scholarship

The Atlantic is a news magazine with coverage that spans current affairs, politics, science, literature, technology, culture, and the economy.
Coverage: 1857-present.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
When visiting https://www.theatlantic.com/ from the open web or in the app, click the ‘Sign in’ button, select 'Sign in through your institution' (it's at the bottom of the box), then search for American University.

Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
** Our authentication method has changed. ** Users no longer need to create an account to set up a password. Once on the Bloomberg platform, click on the 'Sign In' link, enter your @american.edu email address, and you will be routed to your account through the AU Sign In page.
There is a known issue where users with pre-existing email/password accounts are receiving notifications that their trial access is ending. You may disregard these warnings.

Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
You can also log in in the app or at https://www.economist.com/. Select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.

** If you receive an error when logging in, please clear your browser then retry. **

Reporting and analysis on global affairs, foreign policy, and international relations.

First time users: Follow the instructions in the library's account registration guide.

Access to the website of the New York Times - one of the world's leading newspapers.
Includes access to the New York Times inEducation curated reading lists.
Click the Log In button and sign in to access full news content 1981-present.

Can't log in to your account? Visit the account registration page again and click the link labeled 'Already have an account? Log in'

NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access.
Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.

Full access to Washington DC's daily Pulitzer-Prize winning newspaper featuring local, national and international news.

A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

Political, economic, security and strategic news and analysis on countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes the Latin American Weekly Report (1967 to present), the Latin American Regional Reports, and other reports. Some of the publications are also available in Spanish.

Policy news, analysis, and intelligence. ** Due to technical limitations, some PoliticoPRO content cannot be accessed via the website, including articles from other geographic editions and biographical profiles of members of Congress.
Current AU students, faculty, and staff may request PDFs of such articles and reports by sending email to aulibrarysearch@american.edu.**
Platform also hosts E&E News and our subscription includes four titles: Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM.