Subject Guides: Finding Data and Statistics: Health

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Bender Library
B-37

202-885-3841

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Health Promotion Management, Health Studies, Mathematics / Statistics, Nutrition Education, Physics, Psychology, Public Health, Science

General Health Data

American Cancer Society Cancer Statistics Center
Statistics about cancer rates of death, new cases, and other relevant statistics.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
U.S. data related to substance abuse and mental health services.
Center for Disease and Control Data & Statistics
The CDC is a major contributor to information about health and medicine in the United States. This is the landing page for all data and statistics compiled and created by the CDC.
CDC FastStats
An index for quick and easy access to selected statistics on a variety of health topics. Helpful for browsing.
Advanced Cognitive Training for Independent and Vital Elderly (ACTIVE)
The ACTIVE Study is the largest study on cognitive training ever performed. Funded by the National Institutes of Health and led by researchers at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the National Institute on Aging, the Indiana University School of Medicine, Penn State University, and others, the ACTIVE study proves that health older adults can make significant cognitive improvements with appropriate cognitive training and practice.
Dryad
Explore a wide variety of data from scientific and medical publications. Data from Dryad are associated with peer-reviewed articles and non-peer reviewed publications from reputable academic sources.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Data.gov
Open Federal, State, and local data from the U.S. Government

OSF by Center for Open Science This link opens in a new window
OSF is a free and open source project management tool that supports researchers throughout their entire project lifecycle. Find papers, data, and materials; search public projects; start a project and add collaborators; store data, code, and other materials; share papers so others can find and cite your work.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research This link opens in a new window
This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research.
**Access to datasets requires a free user-specific login.
To create or log into your ICPSR account, click on the 'Log In' button found in the upper right corner of most ICPSR pages.**
Additional information, particularly about off-campus access, is available in the library's Accessing ICPSR datasets at AU Subject Guide.

AU Library Subscriptions

Data Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science platform provides access to the data sets and data studies connected to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. It links directly to data repositories across disciplines and around the world. Many types of data are available, including quantitative, qualitative, and survey.
SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.

U.S. Health

National Center for Health Statistics
Lots of statistical information about American health.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
A system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. The largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.
Alzheimer's Disease and Healthy Aging Data Portal
Access to national and state level CDC data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being for older adults.
America's Health Rankings
Longest-running state-by-state analysis of national health. Platform is produced by the United Health Foundation.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
A program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, CHR&R draws attention to why there are differences in health within and across communities.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
The HMCA primarily includes large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals , and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest.
Health Resources and Services Administration Data Explorer
Discover data from subjects such as demographics, health care facilities, organ donation and transplantation, and health professional shortage areas with the Health Resources and Services Administration Data Explorer
National Library of Medicine Dataset Catalog
A catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research.
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP)
The data housed at NAHDAP covers a wide range of legal and illicit drugs (alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, cocaine, synthetic drugs, and other) and the trajectories, patterns, and consequences of drug use as well as related predictors and outcomes.

Global Health

Global Health Observatory Data Repository
This repository is the World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics and provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)
IHME tracks diseases and measures disease burden for 187 countries, using systematic peer reviewed methodology to gather a comprehensive picture of global disease burden.
Global Health Data Exchange
The world's most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. Supported by the IHME.
UNdata
Official statistics produced by countries, as well as statistics, estimates, and other data from United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions and other UN agencies. Covers a lot more than just health.
Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE)
The Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) is a multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of micro data on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks of about 140,000 individuals aged 50 or older (around 380,000 interviews).
The Australian Data Archive
Holds over 6000 datasets from more than 1500 projects and studies from 1838 until the present day.
The Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing (TILDA)
The Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing (TILDA) is a large-scale, nationally representative, longitudinal study on ageing in Ireland, the overarching aim of which is to make Ireland the best place in the world to grow old
The Japanese Study of Aging and Retirement (JSTAR)
The Japanese Study of Aging and Retirement (JSTAR) consists of a panel survey of elderly people aged 50 or older conducted by the Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry, Hitotsubashi University, and the University of Tokyo. Detailed survey results as well as information regarding the use of the micro-data collected in the survey, which are made available to researches belonging to universities and/or research institutes, can be found here.
Mexican Health and Aging Study (MHAS)
The MHAS study will design, field, and disseminate the data to achieve research goals that include: examining the aging processes and its disease and disability burden in a large representative panel of older Mexicans; evaluating the effects of individual behaviors, early life circumstances, migration and economic history, community characteristics, and family transfer systems on multiple health outcomes; comparing the health dynamics of older Mexicans with comparably aged Mexican-born migrants in the U.S. and second generation Mexican-American using similar data from the U.S. population to assess the durability of the migrant health advantage; assess the health of all components of the population from which migrants are selectively recruited; and considering ways in which intergenerational transfer systems affect old-age health dynamics in a country where migration is commonplace and remittances may repay prior investments or ensure against uncertainty in old age.
Longitudinal Aging Study in India (LASI)
The Longitudinal Aging Study in India (LASI) is a groundbreaking nationally-representative, longitudinal survey to examine aging and retirement among India's 45+ population. It is a joint undertaking of the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, the International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS) in Mumbai, India, and the University of Southern California (USC).