Finding Data and Statistics

Altmetric tracks attention and engagement with scholarly outputs through a wide variety of online outlets, including social media, policy documents, news outlets, academic blogs, and more, which can be used to document non-scholarly research impact. Users can summarize attention at the university or school level, or create a custom group of researchers, sources, or keyword searches in Dimensions to track and even benchmark internally or externally using Altmetric.

Coverage: 2004 to present. Updated: Every two years.
Multi-country, regularly conducted survey of democratic values and behaviors in the Americas. From the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) at Vanderbilt University.

CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project) is a non-profit that maintains a global environmental reporting system for investors, companies, cities, states and regions to manage their environmental impacts.
AU library has access to CDP climate change data 2010 through 2023.
You will be directed to a form to request access to the data and your request will be processed within two business days. Access is restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
This resource may be used only for academic research purposes. It may not be used for commercial purposes -- doing so would violate the terms of our license agreement.

Official government, social, economic, and industry statistics of the People's Republic of China. Data is available on a national, provincial, county, and city level. Is the online equivalent of the "China Statistical Yearbook" and is comprised of the China Statistical Data Online and the China Census Data Online databases.

The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science platform provides access to the data sets and data studies connected to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. It links directly to data repositories across disciplines and around the world. Many types of data are available, including quantitative, qualitative, and survey.

Information on over 7,000 living languages. Includes profiles for every language and country on earth, maps of where each language is spoken, search and cross-referencing.

Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.

Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user. **

This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research.
Browse ICPSR's Datasets and Series by Subject
**Access to datasets requires a free user-specific login.
To create or log into your ICPSR account, click on the 'Log In' button found in the upper right corner of most ICPSR pages.**
Additional information, particularly about off-campus access, is available in the library's Accessing ICPSR datasets at AU Subject Guide.

Indiastat offers a comprehensive compilation of socio-economic statistical information about India and its states on various socio-economic parameters.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user.
Log in to the database by selecting the 'Through IP Login' option.
You will be logged out automatically after 20 minutes of inactivity.
Please click on 'LOGOUT' when exiting to release the session for another user. **

Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**

U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.

Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.

Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
 

A collection of books, journal articles, case studies, videos and reference materials published by SAGE Publications on research methods and design. Includes Sage Research Video; Market Research; Practical Research and Academic Skills; Data Science, Big Data Analytics and Digital Methods; Diversifying and Decolonizing Research; Medicine and Health; Data Visualization; and Doing Research Online.

An easy-to-use web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 50,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 20 million business points from Dun and Bradstreet with detailed profiles on each business, in addition to the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics providing 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status including estimates. Users also have access to the Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enabling users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
Users may create accounts to save their searches or proceed as guests.
**Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.**

Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **

A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.

Canadian statistical data, including population, agriculture, food, business, education, and construction. Updated once a year in the summer.

Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.

World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.

Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050.