Subject Guides: Marketing: Market Research

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Market Research Reports

These resources focus primarily on consumer markets, although IBISWorld and eMarketer provide B2B industry reports as well.

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Industry, consumer and country statistics and reports for countries around the world, including emerging markets.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides full text market research reports on services, consumer goods, demographics, food and beverage, heavy industry, life science, public sector and technology industries. Coverage varies depending on the type of report.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook tracks the private and public equity markets. It provides data on the venture capital, private equity and M&A landscape, including information about funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers.
* Problem logging in to PitchBook? Select Log in with SSO. *
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.

News and Scholarly Articles

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Bloomberg.com This link opens in a new window
First time users: Create an account by visiting the Bloomberg registration page. Enter your @american.edu email address, then enter the verification code.
Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Choose Industry Profiles or Market Research Reports.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
** The new Factiva interface became the default on August 30, 2024.
Switch to the advanced search page by clicking 'Switch Factiva' on the right in the menu bar. **
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Registration required. Only current AU students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com **
** Note: There is a known issue where some registered users are unable to log in with SSO. In that case, visit ft.com in a clean browser, click on 'Sign In', enter your email address, then click on the 'Having problems logging in?' link. **
New York Times (website access) This link opens in a new window
First time users: Follow the instructions in the library's account registration FAQ and complete registration using your AU email address. If you have an existing paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before linking it to the library's subscription.
Access to the website of the New York Times - one of the world's leading newspapers.
Includes access to the New York Times InEducation curated reading lists.
Click the Log In button and sign in to access full news content 1981-present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access.
Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.