Skip to main content

International Studies

This guide lists American University Library databases and print resources, and free Web sites that are of use to the study and research of International Studies.

U.S. Court Cases and Trials

Analysis of U.S. Court Cases

See Law Journals tab for extensive critiques of legal cases.

International Courts and Tribunal Cases

Non-U.S. Court Cases and Trials

This box is under construction.

World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) Databases
Links to databases and websites of legislation and court decisions arranged by region and country.

 

Germany

Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection
Consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). Selected documents are available online. From the Cornell Law Library.

Great Britain

Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
A digital collection of more than 10,000 titles and around two million pages of printed material on U.S., British and her colonies' trials from 1600 to 1925. Includes unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs and arguments, and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitration. It is comprised primarily of holdings of the Harvard and Yale law libraries, as well as the Library of the Bar of the City of New York.
 

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
Contains 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

India

Judgment Information System (JUDIS)
Judgments of the Supreme court of India (1950 to present) and several High Courts.

Search Tips

Boolean operators:

AND - use to narrow a search and get fewer and more relevant results.
elections and voters

OR - use to broaden a search and get more results. Good for synonyms and words with variant spellings. Add parentheses when using OR.
(latin america or argentina or colombia)
(organization or organisation)

NOT - use to narrow a search to get more relevant results
mexico not new mexico


Truncation:

Use to find words with different word endings.
e.g. immigrant* yields immigrant, immigrants
e.g. immigra* yields immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigration, immigrating, etc.

Truncation (or wildcard) symbols:

• Most databases use an asterisk (*).
• LexisNexis uses an exclamation mark (!).
• AU Library catalog and World News Connection use a question mark (?).
• iPolls & RoperExpress use a percentage sign (%).
• Ovid databases use dollar sign ($).


    Proximity search:

    Use to find words that are close to each other on a page.
    It is one way to find more relevant results.

    Each family of databases has its own command words.

    EBSCO:
    nnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    fundamental* n3 islam*

    Factiva:
    same=words in same paragraph
    sex trafficking same ngo*

    nearnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    president* near3 speech

    HeinOnline
    ~number
    =words near each other in any order, within a certain number
    "watershed planning"~10

    LexisNexis:
    w/number=words within a specified number of words, in any order
    human rights w/2 violations

    w/s=words within the same sentence
    crime w/s (dc or district of columbia)

    w/p=words within the same paragraph
    gays w/p military

    ProQuest:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    renewable energy near/5 viable

    Scopus
    w/number
    =words near another word in any order, within a certain number

    Web of Science:
    Web of Knowledge:
    Social Science Citation Index:
    MEDLINE:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    government near/3 fund*