Subject Guides: International Studies: U.S. News Sources

Have a newspaper citation?

What do you do when you know which newspaper you need, but not which database has the full text?

The Find Journals link will tell you which AU database has the full text of the newspaper.

CURRENT U.S. - Multiple News Sources

Current news stories from U.S. newspapers, news magazines, news broadcasts, and other news sources.

Factiva
Format: Online database. Updated: Daily.
Contains more than 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, Factiva will no longer be available after November 30, 2025.
We recommend these resources as alternatives:
Financial Times
Wall Street Journal
Hoover's
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
Nexis Uni
Format: Online database. Updated: Daily.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s.
ProQuest Newsstream
Searches several Newsstream databases containing US, Canadian, and international newspapers from the 1980s to the present. Full-text articles from over 1,200 newspapers worldwide, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Also includes 85 newspapers from the company Gannett.
Updated daily.
Alternative Press Index and Archive
Format: Online database.
Access limited to 5 concurrent users.
An index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals.

Google News (free resource)
Links to news headlines and stories from around the world.

PressReader
Format: Online database. Updated: Daily.
Most recent 2 months of over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, many in foreign languages. All newspapers are in their entirety and are available on the day they are published.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, PressReader will no longer be available after October 31, 2025.
We recommend these resources as alternatives:
ProQuest Newsstream
Access World News Research Collection
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Format: Online database.
An extensive archive of television news broadcasts. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, access to Vanderbilt Television News Archive ended June 30, 2025.
We recommend this resource as an alternative:
Nexis Uni
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.

US Newspaper List (free resource)
Links to current U.S. newspaper Web sites.

HISTORICAL U.S. - Multiple News Sources

U.S. news sources that do not have the latest news.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Covers 270 newspapers from every region of the United States, including 7 from Washington DC.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full text access to thirteen 19th century African American newspapers.

Black Newspapers, Sample Issues, 1846-1966
Format: MICROFILM. 1846-1966.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) (free resource)
Digitized images of selective issues of U.S. newspapers from 1860 to 1922. Also provides holdings information about the Library of Congress' collections of U.S. newspapers.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.
John R. Hickman Collection
The John R. Hickman Collection consists of more than 10,000 broadcast quality audio recordings of vintage radio news and entertainment programs, from the 1920s through the 1970s.

Individual U.S. News Sources (ProQuest)

To save time one can search the following ProQuest databases simultaneously. Directions: Click on one of these databases; click on "News & Newspapers" on the right-hand column; and then select the appropriate databases.

Atlanta Constitution - Historical
Format: Online database. 1868-1942. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper. Every year three additional years of content will be added.
Baltimore Sun - Historical
Format: Online database. 1837-1985. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete Baltimore Sun newspaper.
More recent articles are available online from the database Factiva (9/1/1990 to present).
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
Format: Online database. 1910-1975. Updated: None.
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
Chicago Tribune - Historical
Format: Online database. 1849-1986. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper.
Los Angeles Times - Historical
Format: Online database. 1881 to 1986. Updated: Annually.
The digitized version of the complete L.A. Times newspaper. Full-text articles are available online from the database LexisNexis Academic (most recent 6 months).
AU Library also has it in MICROFILM and PRINT formats (1970 to present).
New York Times - Historical
Format: Online database. 1851 to 2006. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete New York Times newspaper. Full-text articles are available online from the databases Factiva (6/1/1980 to present) and LexisNexis Academic (6/1/1980 to present).
AU Library also has it in MICROFILM and PRINT formats (1851 to present).
Wall Street Journal - Historical
Format: Online database. 1889-1993. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal newspaper. Full-text articles are available online from the database Factiva (6/13/1979 to present).
AU Library also has it in MICROFILM and PRINT formats (1955 to present).
Washington Post - Historical
Format: Online database. 1877-1993. Updated: Annually.
A digitized version of the complete Washington Post newspaper. Full-text articles are available online from the databases Factiva (1984 to present) and LexisNexis Academic (1977 to present).
AU Library also has it in MICROFILM and PRINT formats (1930 to present).

Individual U.S. News Sources

Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902 (free resource)
Digitized images of the major Brooklyn, N.Y. newspaper, which was published from 1841 to 1955 and was revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Half the years of the newspaper has been digitized.
Christian Science Monitor
Format: MICROFILM and Print. 1960 to present.
Complete version of the newspaper. Full-text articles are available online from the database Factiva (1988 to present).
Chronicle of Higher Education
Format: MICROFILM and Print. 1966 to present.
The print weekly publication of news, opinions, statistics and job listing in higher education. Full-text articles are available online from 1988 to present

Chronicle of Higher Education
Format: Web site. 5/21/2010 to present. Updated: Daily.
News, opinions, statistics, and job listings in higher education. Online version of the print weekly publication. Full-text articles are available online from the database ProQuest Research Library (1986 to 30 days ago).
Climate Extra
News and analysis covering climate policy developments in U.S. federal and state governments.
Previously InsideEPA/climate, Clean Energy Report, and Carbon Control News.
Includes access to general news available on the InsideEPA.com homepage.
Eagle, The (American University)
Format: Online database. 1925-2004.
A complete digitized copy of American University's undergraduate student newspaper, The Eagle.
Harper's Weekly
An interactive database of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era through the Gilded Age.
Coverage: 1857-1912
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815
Format: Online database. 1728-1800.
Transcribed text of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a prominent early American newspaper.

Time Magazine - Archive (free resource)
1923 to present.
Times Educational Supplement
Format: MICROFILM and Print. 1970 to present.
Weekly publication covering primary, secondary and higher education in Britain. Full-text articles are available online from the database Factiva (1997 to present).
Virginia Gazette (free resource)
Formats: Online and Microfilm. 1736-1780. Updated: None.
Weekly newspaper published in Williamsburg, VA.
AU Library has a copy of this newspaper in microfilm.
Washington Star
Format: MICROFILM. 1970-Aug. 1981. Updated: None.
Main newspaper of Washington D.C. prior to the 1970s.