Subject Guides: MKTG 250: Fundamentals of Marketing and Business Communication: Home

Contact me!

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Business Librarian

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Welcome!

Welcome to the MKTG 250 class research guide. The resources linked here will be helpful as you assemble the research necessary to complete your marketing group project. Use the tabs to the left to find various resources based on the type of research you're doing.

General Information and News

Bloomberg.com This link opens in a new window
First time users: Create an account by visiting the Bloomberg registration page. Enter your @american.edu email address, then enter the verification code.
Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Our subscription provides access to a suite of products from EIU, including Country Data, Country Analysis Reports, and Market Indicators and Forecasts.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Registration required. Only current AU students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com **
** Note: There is a known issue where some registered users are unable to log in with SSO. In that case, visit ft.com in a clean browser, click on 'Sign In', enter your email address, then click on the 'Having problems logging in?' link. **
New York Times (website access) This link opens in a new window
First time users: Follow the instructions in the library's account registration FAQ and complete registration using your AU email address. If you have an existing paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before linking it to the library's subscription.
Access to the website of the New York Times - one of the world's leading newspapers.
Includes access to the New York Times InEducation curated reading lists.
Click the Log In button and sign in to access full news content 1981-present.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is verified and subscription connected to AU's organization, sign in on https://www.washingtonpost.com to access.
Full access to Washington DC's daily Pulitzer-Prize winning newspaper featuring local, national and international news.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access.
Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.