Subject Guides: MKTG 250: Fundamentals of Marketing and Business Communication: Industry Research

Business Librarian

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Introduction to Industry Research

The databases listed below are resources that we subscribe to that build and distribute industry reports. While these databases will be helpful, you can also use the websites of the industry trade organizations to help you better understand the industry as a whole. Trade organizations are helpful for research purposes because they often do their own research and distribute their own reports. You might find these websites by doing general internet searches combining words that describe your industry + words like association, organization, federation, and institution.

Main Industry Research Databases

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
IDC This link opens in a new window
IDC publishes market forecasts, industry analyses, case studies, vendor decision toolkits, and blog posts on the tech sector, including big data/analytics, cloud computing, consumer tech, infrastructure software, Internet of Things (IoT), mobility, networking, security, semiconductors, social business, storage, telecommunications and more.
Once on the platform, use the search at the top of the page to search our subscribed content and visit the MyIDC link to access your dashboard.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook tracks the private and public equity markets. It provides data on the venture capital, private equity and M&A landscape, including information about funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers.
* Problem logging in to PitchBook? Select Log in with SSO. *
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.

Scholarly Databases for Industry Research

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.

MKTG 250: Fundamentals of Marketing and Business Communication

Business Librarian

Introduction to Industry Research

Main Industry Research Databases

Scholarly Databases for Industry Research

Industries A to Z