Communication Studies

A national magazine that covers all aspects of print, television, radio and online media. Published six times a year, AJR examines how the media cover specific stories and broader coverage trends. Website includes useful links to media watchdog groups, other news sources, and more.

Affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania, APPC is one of the premier communication policy centers in the country. This website is designed to give scholars, the media, and the general public expanded access to the center's work since 1993.

Founded in 1961 as part of Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism, this magazine examines "day-to-day press performance as well as the forces that affect that performance." Published six times a year, CJR offers a deliberative mix of reporting, analysis, criticism, and commentary. Website includes news, blogs, and a useful "resources" page.

Subject-specific subsection of the DOAJ -- a site designed to increase the visibility, ease of use, and impact of open access scientific and scholarly journals. Contains listings for over 90 open access journals related to communication issues.

An independent United States government agency established by the Communications Act of 1934. The FCC is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable.

A nonpartisan foundation located in D.C., dedicated to three priority areas: the Newseum, First Amendment freedoms, and newsroom diversity.

An organization best known for its public opinion polls, the results of which are often referenced by the media. Polls are both national and international in scope, and are used to identify opinion trends over time.

A professional training and outreach program for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean, hosted by the University of Texas at Austin. Contains a variety of resources for journalists, including many useful links and a searchable archive of journalism news from the Americas, published since 2003.

One of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, this resource produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.

News highlights from the website of the Poynter Institute: a school dedicated to teaching and inspiring journalists and media leaders.

This site contains the complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 1917 to the present. It also lists nominated finalists since 1980, and the full text of winning entries in the Journalism categories from 1995 onward.

A nonprofit, nonpartisan resource on the use and abuse of science and statistics in the media. An affiliate of George Mason University since 2004, STATS' goals are to correct scientific misinformation in the media and in public policy resulting from bad science, politics, or a simple lack of information or knowledge; and to act as a resource for journalists and policy makers on major scientific issues and controversies.

The national documentary unit of American Public Media, ARW creates documentaries, series projects, podcasts and online content for the public radio system and the Internet. The website includes extensive online documentaries of all ARW projects.

The world’s largest online aggregator of stock footage databases, providing serious footage researchers with free access to a large roster of stock, archival and news footage indexes online. Returns results by relevance from 30 major footage providers.

Since 2004, Pew Research Center has issued an annual report on key audience and economic indicators for a variety of sectors within the U.S. news media industry. These data speak to the shifting ways in which Americans seek out news and information, how news organizations get their revenue, and the resources available to American journalists as they seek to inform the public about important events of the day.

A private club for journalists and communications professionals located in Washington D.C. Hosts more than 2,000 news-related events each year, including a popular "Luncheon Speakers" series.

With split locations in New York and Los Angeles, the Paley Center helps facilitate discussions of the "cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public." Website includes a "screening room" section with clips from live interviews of notable media figures.

Named after the first great American-born cartoonist, this Ohio State University hosted website offers an online collection of historic editorial cartoons and associated lesson plans.

A not-for-profit virtual professional association committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research, and criticism. Publishes American Communication Journal.

A professional organization that help connect the growing national network of copy editors, and offers prospects for improving editorial skills.

A professional association of independent nonfiction writers, devoted to helping freelance writers advance their careers.

Founded in 1981, AAJA is a non-profit professional and educational organization committed to diversity and the incorporation of different viewpoints into newsrooms across the country. An alliance partner in UNITY Journalists of Color, along with the Native American Journalists Association, National Association of Hispanic Journalists, and National Association of Black Journalists.

An association of editors at newspapers in the United States and Canada. APME works closely with The Associated Press to foster journalism excellence and to support a national network for the training and development of editors who will run multimedia newsrooms in the 21st Century.

An international organization committed to fostering excellence in business communication scholarship, research, education, and practice. Publishes the Journals of Business Communication and Business Communication Quarterly.

A well-known educational nonprofit association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals. Publishes Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly, among other periodicals.

An academic association dedicated to the advancement of the cross-disciplinary field of Internet studies. The host of an Internet Research conference, AoIR collaborates with Information, Communication and Society to publish a special issue annually of selected AoIR conference papers.

Established in 1955, BEA is a professional association for professors, industry professionals and graduate students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises. Publishes the Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media and the Journal of Radio & Audio Media.

Founded in 1910, the ECA is one of the oldest professional communication associations in the United States. Has a strong history of achievement in research, criticism, communication theory, and teaching excellence. Publishes Communication Quarterly, Communication Research Reports, and Qualitative Research Reports in Communication.

A non-profit, professional organization that promotes quality journalism worldwide. Works with over 65,000 journalists from 180 countries.

A key international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication. ICA has been officially associated with the United Nations as a nongovernmental association (NGO) since 2003. Publishes Human Communication Research, Communication Theory, the Journal of Communication, and Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication.

A grassroots nonprofit dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting. Formed in 1975, it is associated with the National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting Data Services (NICAR).

An organization of journalists, students, and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Headquartered at the University of Maryland-College Park, NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the world.

Formally incorporated in 1955, NASW fosters the "dissemination of accurate information regarding science through all media normally devoted to informing the public." Members include both freelancers and employees of most of the major newspapers, wire services, magazines, and broadcast outlets in the country.

The largest national organization dedicated to communication scholarship and education. Based in Washington D.C., the NCA publishes multiple journals, including Communication Education, Critical Studies in Media Communication, Text and Performance Quarterly, and the Journal of Applied Communication Research.

An organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. Headquartered in D.C.

D.C. based foundation dedicated to increasing journalists' knowledge of complex issues in order to improve overall public understanding. Founded in 1976, NPF provides professional development opportunities to more than 5,000 editors, producers and reporters.

An independent, nonpartisan group founded in 1990 by award-winning print and broadcast journalists on staff with The Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today, National Geographic, Turner Broadcasting/CNN, and others. The only North-American membership association of professional journalists dedicated to more and better coverage of environment-related issues.

A broad-based journalism organization dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ boasts nearly 10,000 members.