This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Winmo contains all the data formerly contained in Advertising Redbooks and provides information about advertisers and ad agencies. This database lists over 19,000 advertisers that have at least $200,000 in advertising expenditures, the media they advertise by, as well as over 12,500 ad agencies that represent them.
**Access limited to a single concurrent user.**
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field, including 150+ journals. Affiliated with the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) non-profit.
Developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user. **
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll from 1935 to 2016.
Streaming video collection of over 150 famous speeches given by key contemporary and historical figures. Includes many speeches by U.S. politicians and former presidents.
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Coverage is from 1973 to the present and there are currently over 447,000 records in the database.
The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
Emphasis on 20th-century historic newspapers. Coverage includes major American newspapers and prominent publications from underrepresented voices such as African American news, Jewish news, and publications covering gender issues.
Indexing and abstracting of over 1800 journals in psychology, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations.
Note: To link out to ProQuest dissertations from search results, use the OpenURL link rather than 'Find It @ AU Library'.
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution and think tank. Founded after World War II with a focus on national security, their portfolio grew starting in the 1960s to include domestic issues such as health, education, sustainability, criminal and civil justice, and development. Full text thousands of reports, articles, and working papers. Covers 1946-present.
Browse Elsevier ScienceDirect journals. many with coverage: 1995-Present.
Note that we do not subscribe to all titles on this publisher platform.
** ScienceDirect is experiencing issues with its authentication service. You can access content while connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN) by visiting this direct link to ScienceDirect. **
Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.
Contains media information, including publication overviews, advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for print and broadcast media. Includes Claritas 360 for analysis of customer data and markets.
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
For best results, use the advanced search and limit by dates.
Complete run of Vogue from 1892 to the present, with high resolution page images.
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
