Subject Guides: Communication Studies: Core Databases

Core Databases

AP Stylebook
A guide to the style used by writers, editors and others in the media field.
ComAbstracts (CIOS)
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field, including 150+ journals. Affiliated with the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) non-profit.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, ComAbstracts will no longer be available after December 1, 2025.
We recommend Communication Source as an alternative.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
Communication Source
Developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Data Citation Index (Web of Science)
The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science platform provides access to the data sets and data studies connected to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. It links directly to data repositories across disciplines and around the world. Many types of data are available, including quantitative, qualitative, and survey.
World Cinema Collection
More than 380 classic and contemporary feature films, spanning the silent era through contemporary international cinema. This collection of films covers classic and contemporary cinema from Africa, Asia (primarily China, Japan, and India), Europe (including Soviet films), Latin America, and the Middle East.
Gallup Analytics
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user. **

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection. Unfortunately, Gallup Analytics will be reduced to being available to a single concurrent user starting November 11, 2025.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.

International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
In-depth reference work that explores print journalism, radio, film, TV, photography, computing, mobile phones, and digital media. Scholarship from over 200 contributors discusses history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.

Nexis Uni
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)

Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and full text of articles on the telecommunications industry.
World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database
Contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975 to 2017 for more than 180 telecommunication/ICT statistics covering fixed-telephone networks, mobile-cellular telephone subscriptions, quality of service, Internet (including fixed- and mobile-broadband subscription data), traffic, staff, prices, revenue, investment and statistics on ICT access and use by households and individuals. Selected demographic, macroeconomic and broadcasting statistics are also included.
** Items in this collection are labeled 'under embargo' and can be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **