Subject Guides: International Studies: Directories

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

This is a list of U.S. political directories, either current or historical.

Washington Information Directory
Format: Online database. Coverage: 2006 to present. Updated: Annually.
From CQ Press. Contact information for Congress, federal agencies, international, national, and local organizations and offices. Does not provide the depth of other directories listed on this page.
AU Library also has print editions from 1975 to present.
Congressional Directory (free resource)
Coverage: 104th (1995-96) Congress to present. Format: Online version of print publication. Updated: Every 2 years in the first session of each new Congress.
Official directory of the U.S. Congress. Presents short biographies of members of the Senate and House, their committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers...
more...less...
It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
AU Library has print editions from 1919 to present (call number: JK1011.)
Federal Regulatory Directory
AU Library has PRINT editions from 1979/1980 to present. Updated: Annually.
Call number: Ref KF5406.A15 F4.
From CQ Press. Provides profiles of more than 100 federal agencies and departments detail the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of directories, including the Encyclopedia of Associations, the Encyclopedia of Government Advisory Organizations, the Directory of Early Stage Investment, the Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, the Medical and Health Information Directory, and the National Faculty Directory.
Hudson's Washington News Media Contacts Directory This link opens in a new window
The most important directory for media contacts in the Washington area. Includes: news services and newspapers; news service syndicates; DC newspapers, foreign newspapers; radio and TV; magazines and newsletters; freelance writers and photographers.

Plum Book (free resource)
Format: Online version of print book. Coverage: 1996 to current. Updated: Every 4 years.
The United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions lists presidentially appointed positions within the Federal Government. It is published just after each presidential election alternately by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs and the House Committee on Government Reform.

NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
Links to think tanks around the world. Organized by countries and alphabetically by name of organization
FPRI Think Tank Directory
Lists think tanks devoted to Security and International Affairs research and education. From the Foreign Policy Research Institute.

The following think tanks are not included in NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks. This list will be expanded as I come across them.

Asia

Europe

These are tools for finding lawyers and legal practices.

Cornell LII Lawyer Directory
Directory of U.S. lawyers. From the Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Martindale-Hubbell Legal Professionals Listings
Coverage: Listings of lawyers and law firms in the U.S., Canada and internationally.
Latest edition of the Martindale-Hubbell Domestic and International Law Directories, the standard directory of lawyers. Note that one cannot browse this directory, only search it.
Directions for access: Once in the LexisNexis Academic, click "US Legal" on the left-hand side; click "Legal Reference"; select the box for "Martindale-Hubbell Legal Professional Listings"; and then perform a search.