History - U.S. (Clement Ho)

Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).

The world's largest library catalog. Includes records for archival collections.

Coverage: 1300 to present. Updated: Weekly, often daily.
A large collection of census records, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more from the U.S., Canada, U.K., Germany, Russia, eastern Europe, and China. From Ancestry.com.
The U.S. collections contain census records; birth, death, and marriage records including the Social Security Death Index; and U.S. border crossing and trans-ocean ship records.

The platform for a number of digitized primary source collections that previously was microfilmed. The collections are historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Each collection is also listed separately.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.

Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

Includes two collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL), that contain digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the middle of the 20th century.

Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.

This primary source collection contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Series I is based on a definitive work called the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and covers 1639-1800. Series II, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, covers 1801-1819.

This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth-century America.

Full images of over 36,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the U.S. in the early 19th century covering all aspects of American life. Based on the "American Bibliography 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund.

A collection of over 125,000 titles, from the first book published in English, through 1700. Disciplines covered include literature, history, philosophy, theology, music, and the sciences.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

The DDRS contains about 700,000 declassified documents from 1900 to 2008. These documents are from the U.S. presidential libraries and the National Archives, and deal with nearly every major foreign and domestic event.
This resource was purchased in part through the generous support of Ronald Hamowy and Clement Ho.

Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.

FBI files on radical U.S. figures and organizations. Documents cover 1956 to 1971.

Contains files of the FBI Counterintelligence Program (CONTELPRO) from 1956 to 1971 on prominent black Americans and their organizations.

Collection of Department of State and CIA documents concerning South and North Vietnam.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.

This collection includes Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees subject files on virtually every group of racial, religious and political refugees from 1938 to 1947.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.

Collection of U.S. diplomatic and consular documents concerning Japan during the 1930s and 1940s.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.

Documents of the Kennedy Administration (1961 to 1963) taken from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library related to international affairs. The documents span from 1958 to 1964.

The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Donald D. Dennis American History Fund.

Documents of Patricia Lindh's and Jeanne Holm's liaison activities with women's groups and their advocacy within the White House during the Ford Administration on issues of special interest to women. Includes material accumulated by presidential counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women's Programs Director Karen Keesling.