Text: (571) 248-7542
The following databases and websites are useful in finding the location of primary and archival collections. Often these collections are housed outside the originating countries. For example, important Spanish documents may be found in the United States.
Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).
Historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Strengths include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, gender, sexuality, and women's studies, the Holocaust, and modern history of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund. 
Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
A collection of over 125,000 titles, from the first book published in English, through 1700. Disciplines covered include literature, history, philosophy, theology, music, and the sciences.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
The DDRS contains about 700,000 declassified documents from 1900 to 2008. These documents are from the U.S. presidential libraries and the National Archives, and deal with nearly every major foreign and domestic event.
This resource was purchased in part through the generous support of Ronald Hamowy and Clement Ho.
Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.
Coverage: UK government documents from 1898 to 1950s. Updated: Regularly.
A collection of over 50,000 U.K. government documents from 1898 to 1950s relating to Britain's international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more. They have been selected by the official historians of Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office and many were formerly classified. The British equivalent to the U.S. Foreign Relations of the United States.
A collection of Cuban documents, most of which are in Spanish, of works by feminists about feminists and their causes, of works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women. Includes personal letters, journal essays, radio broadcasts, and memoirs from women's congresses.
U.S. Department of State records relating to the internal affairs of East Germany
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
This collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Collection of Department of State and CIA documents concerning South and North Vietnam.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
This collection includes Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees subject files on virtually every group of racial, religious and political refugees from 1938 to 1947.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Collection of U.S. diplomatic and consular documents concerning Japan during the 1930s and 1940s.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Documents of the Kennedy Administration (1961 to 1963) taken from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library related to international affairs. The documents span from 1958 to 1964.
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century.
This resource was made possible through Donald D. Dennis American History Fund.
Contains documents from The National Archives, Kew on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire, and Colonial Territories, dating from 1904 to 1962. Includes a finding aid to all sources related to women housed at the archive of the government of the UK.
This resource was made possible through the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund.