Subject Guides: International Business: International Economic Data

Business Librarian

American University Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Desk: (202) 885-3238

International Economic Data

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade) This link opens in a new window
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
To download bulk data you must register for a new account. Click more for instructions.
** The legacy platform at https://comtrade.un.org/data will be discontinued at the end of Q1 2023. **
To create a new account:

1. Click the login link in the top right corner of the main page.
2. Select "Sign up now" to create an account.
3. Enter a valid AU email address and click on "Send Verification
Code".
4. Check your email inbox & Spam folder for the verification code
(account verification can take up to one business day) then
copy/paste the code into the verification code box.
5. Click on "Verify Code" to complete the email verification.
6. Once verified, you can continue with registration.
7. When you have successfully created your account, you will be
logged in and directed to the main landing page. You should
now see the link on the top right "My Comtrade Premium".
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) This link opens in a new window
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
World Bank This link opens in a new window
On June 30, 2024, the World Bank eLibrary subscription platform was discontinued. Content is available open access on the following platforms:
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank’s official open access repository from which anyone can access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.
Documents and Reports
Access all publicly disclosed project and institutional documents since 1946 made available in compliance with the World Bank’s Access to Information Policy.
World Bank Open Data portal
Access to global development data including World Development Indicators and hundreds of datasets, including embeddable data visualizations.
World Bank Group (WBG) Archives
The institutional memory of the WBG providing public access to its documentary heritage. Digitized materials and engaging discovery tools including Country Historical Profiles .

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Presents basic information about the economies of 198 countries and territories.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.
IMF eLibrary - Data This link opens in a new window
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.