Skip to main content

International Business

Business Librarian

American University  Librarians's picture
American University Librarians
Contact:
Reference Desk: (202) 885-3238
Website

Country Profile Databases

STATISTICS AND DATA

Websites

Background Notes - From the US State Department
CIA World Factbook - Includes information about foreign countries with reference maps; lso includes information about the United Nations and other Intergovernmental Organizations.
Country and Regional Data - Statistical sites for all countries.
Country Commercial Guides - Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
Country Information - from the University of Auckland.
Country Insights - From GlobalEDGE at the University of Michigan.
Country Internet Resources - from the Library of Congress
Country Profiles - from the BBC
Country Search Engines - Country search engines and regional search engines - currently a total of 2,609 search engines and 216 countries, territories and regions.
Country Studies/Area Handbook - Part of a series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. Describes and analyzes the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, of individual countries, and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Deloitte Country Guides - snapshots for 60 countries.
EarthTrends - Country Profiles
ELDIS Country Profiles - A focus on developing countries.
Executive Planet - A guide to international business culture, customs and etiquette.
Foreign Government Resources on the Web
Governments on the WWW - Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-national organisations etc. Also includes political parties.
Global Competitive Report - World Economic Forum Latest report is free of charge. Earlier reports going back to 2001 only has the executive summary or portions of the report.
IMF Country Information (1991 to present), Global Financial Stability Report (2002 to present), World Economic Outlook (1993, 1997 to present).
International Data Base - From the US Census Bureau.
International Country Reports
International Risk Analysis - a guide from Georgetown University Library
NationMaster - Statistics, including purchasing power, lifestyle, language, food and many other cultural measures.
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (NTE) from the Office of the United States Trade Representative Surveys significant foreign barriers to U.S. exports by country. Includes import tariffs and taxes, export subsidies, intellectual property rights protection, service and investment barriers, and other policies.
NATLEX Country Profiles from the International Labour Organization National labor laws, and countries' ratification and application of international law standards.
OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web. Stats are arranged by country and topic.
Penn World Tables - Financial and economic data covering 152 countries.
Portals to the World - From the Library of Congress
UN Pulse - Just released UN information.