E-Resources Batch Loads

 

Introduction

Most e-resources are now handled outside of the Resource Description unit with CZ portfolios

Some electronic collections, mostly streaming media, have poor quality or missing CZ records, so we’re loading MARC records for these. Record load schedule and update tracking is based on a spreadsheet: \\fs9\shared\library\AU Technical Services Department\Cataloging Services Unit\Serials & E-Resources Cataloging\MARC batch files\E-Resource record loads and updates.xlsx

Importing MARC records for collections

The following are the collections we load MARC records for as of 6/19/2019 (check tracking spreadsheet for latest list):

• Alexander Street Press
• BBC Shakespeare Plays
• Bloomsbury Popular Music
• Docuseek2
• DRAM
• Film Platform
• Films on Demand
• Great Speeches Video Series
• HistoryMakers
• Kanopy
• Medici.tv
• Met Opera On Demand
• NAXOS
• Oxford Handbooks Online (see separate documentation)
• PsycTherapy
• RKMA

Download records

Download MARC records from the source listed in the tracking spreadsheet, and place on the I: drive here: \\fs9\shared\library\AU Technical Services Department\Cataloging Services Unit\Serials & E-Resources Cataloging\MARC batch files

MARCedit steps

Before starting, ensure that RDA helper settings are correct and that you have the necessary task list for the collection.

In MarcEditor, choose File>Open, change the file type from “MARC Text File (*.mrk)” to “MARC Files (*.mrc)”, and select the downloaded file

 

Run Tools>Linked Data Tools>Build Linked Records to add linked data URIs. (This may take a while for larger record sets.)

Run Tools>Assigned Tasks>Currently Available Tasks>[task list for the collection]. The task list completes several automated steps including running the RDA helper tool and changing 856 URLs for the resource from $u to $x so that only the proxy-included portfolio link is shown in Primo.

Save the file by choosing File>Compile File into MARC. Save as the original file name with “READY” appended to the end of the filename.

Alma import

Choose Resources>Import and run the import job for the collection being imported.

Click Select File, choose the “READY” MARC record file, click “Add,” then “Submit".

On the Monitor and View Imports page, click “Refresh” to check on the import progress.

Once the import is complete, select “Report” and review to ensure no records were skipped or merged incorrectly. If there are bibliographic record matches shown in the report, review these to delete any old duplicate records as needed.

 

Update tracking spreadsheet

Update the “Late update” and “Last checked” dates to reflect the most recent import.

Move the MARC files

Move the downloaded/imported MARC files into the Done subfolder for the collection.

Setting up MARCedit tasks

A task list needed for each collection type, and may have to include some or all of the following:

• RDA helper
• Add 506 “Remote access restricted to American University authorized users.”
• Remove 856 proxy string from URL
• Change 856 $u to $x
• Change 856 $3 to $z
• Edit/create 856 $z
• Delete 852

Task list files are saved at \\fs9\shared\library\AU Technical Services Department\Cataloging Services Unit\Serials & E-Resources Cataloging\MARC batch files\_MARCedit Tasks

Setting up electronic collections

Portfolios should be placed within electronic collections. CZ collections can be used, even if bibliographic records for the portfolios are being imported instead of using the CZ portfolios. Otherwise, a local electronic collection can be used. In either case, a local service needs to be created before importing records to the collection.

Creating a local service

Edit the electronic collection. Under the Additional tab, click Add Local Service. Service type is “Full Text,” Proxy enabled is “Yes,” and Proxy selected is “Default ( currently: Proxy )."

Setting up import profiles

Separate import profile needed for each collection. Most settings are the same across all collections, but the Electronic Collection in the Inventory Information section needs to be set for the specific collection.

 

Deletes

There are two methods to batch delete batch loaded e-resource records.

MARCedit export

• Download records
• In MARCedit, choose Tools>Export…>Export Tab Delimited Records
• Choose the downloaded MARC file as the source file, specify a destination file, and click Next

 

• Enter the field to match on (this might be 035 $a or 001 depending on the vendor), click Add Field, and then Export
• Edit the text file and change the first line to “035 Field,” which will be the match point regardless of whether the data was originally in the 001 or 035 field
• In Alma, go to Admin>Manage Sets
• Add Set>Itemized, set content type to Electronic Titles, and select the file to add contents from file to set, then click Save
• Go to Admin>Run a Job
• Select the Delete portfolios job, select the set of records to be deleted
• For delete policy, change “Handling bibliographic records without inventory” to “Delete bibliographic record(s)”, then click Submit to run the job.

Alma Import of deleted MARC records

This works only for MARC records with LDR position 5 (record status) set to “d” (deleted). Import profile must have “Allow bibliographic record deletion” option checked.

• Check MARC file for the correct LDR
• Run import
• Check report to ensure portfolios and bibliographic records were deleted