Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resource Description Procedures & Guidelines: Special Collections

Unit Statistics Links

Special Collections

HOLDINGS

Create two identical records – one should be suppressed

852 8 – ‡b aus ‡z Held on site. Request at AU Archives.

OR

852 8 – ‡b aus ‡z Held at WRLC. Request at AU Archives.

It is OK to have redundancy between the 650s and 655s. You aren’t always going to find suitable terms or entries for individuals listed in the scope note. As long as the information is in one of the 500 notes, it is still retrievable by researchers.

Regarding using the subheadings Archives or Manuscripts in 600 fields: The name is sufficient as the title states that this is an archival collection. If you think it would be helpful to include the subheading feel free to do so. Go with the more generic term – archives over manuscripts.

655 07 Résumés (personnel records). ǂ2 aat [THIS TOO MINOR TO INCLUDE? YES]

It’s okay to have NO 655s if there are none warranted.

Links for Genre terms in the 655

GSAFD Genre Terms

MARC Genre Term List

Art & Architecture Thesaurus® Online

Genre/Form Code and Term Source Codes

GIFT NOTES:

<UP ARROW>Rudolph von Abele and Belisario Contreras Collection

MANUSCRIPT COLLECTION CATALOG RECORD TEMPLATE

LEADER

06 - Type of record

p - Mixed materials

07 - Bibliographic level

c - Collection

08 - Type of control

a - Archival

17 - Encoding level

I - Full level

18 - Descriptive cataloging form

a - AACR 2

CONTROL FIELDS

06 - Type of date/Publication status

i - Inclusive dates of collection

07-10 - Date 1

1-9 - Date digit

11-14 - Date 2

1-9 - Date digit

Country

XXU

35-37 - Language

ENG

39 - Cataloging source

d – Other

BIBLIOGRAPHIC

040                $a EAU $c EAU $e appm

 

049                $a EAUE

 

100                Creator (USE APPROPRIATE INDICATORS)

 

245                  $a Title $f Dates

 

300                 $a XX $f linear feet

 

351         ##        $a Organized into xx series: I. xxx, 1846-1852. II. xxx,1853-1865. III.                                  xxx, 1866-1895. IV. xxx, 1896-1903.

 

362         0#        $a Date span. (USE DATES IN 245$F)

 

506        1#        $a Some restrictions apply.  Consult repository for details.

 

545                     Administrative History/Biographical Note (USE APPROPRIATE INDICATORS)

 

520        2-         $a Scope and Content Note

 

555        0#        $3Inventory $bavailable in archives; $cfolder level control. (DO NOT USE IN                           RECORD WITH AN 856)

 

600

 

610

 

650

 

655        07         $a form & genre term $2 aat (AAT PREFERRED VOCABULARY BUT CAN USE                           LC TGM AS WELL)

 

700

 

710

 

852                $a American University $b University Archives and Special Collections $3                                 Washington, D.C.

856     42        $3Finding aid $u

                       http://www.american.edu/library/archives/finding_aids/xxx_fa.cfm

                                          

HOLDINGS

Create two identical records – one should be suppressed

852 8 - $b aus $z Held on site.  Request at AU Archives.

OR

852 8 - ‡b aus ‡z Held at WRLC. Request at AU Archives.

ITEMS

Archives staff will enter barcode information for boxes going to WRLC.